XFree problems


Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: XFree problems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    541

    XFree problems

    I just got a console version of Gentoo going, now im going for a desktop with KDE. I emerge -k xfree and KDE.

    I coulnt get the config file working myself and ones I found online wouldnt work either so i took some advice from some one on IRC and booted a Knoppix cd. It booted into the KDE and I copied the config file over to my hard drive.

    But heres what i get:
    laptop root # startx
    hostname: Host name lookup failure
    Using authority file /root/.Xauthority
    Writing authority file /root/.Xauthority

    execve failed for /etc/X11/X (errno 2)
    giving up.
    xinit: No such file or directory (errno 2): unable to connect to X server
    xinit: No such process (errno 3): Server error.
    laptop root # startkde
    xsetroot: unable to open display ''
    xset: unable to open display ""
    startkde: Starting up...
    startkde: Running kpersonalizer...
    kwin: cannot connect to X server
    kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server
    kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server
    kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server
    kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server
    kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server
    kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server
    kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server
    kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server
    xkpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server //these just keep repeating.
    Ill attach my config file.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    4,310
    Please read section 25 of the gentoo install...

    http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-...xml#doc_chap25

    and this will probably come in handy later : http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/desktop.xml
    irc.freenode.net #justlinux The Not So Official JL IRC Channel.
    Debian Apt-Get

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    541
    did that

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    541
    I ran XFree86 -configure andf heres the (working) file it gave me.

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "XFree86 Configured"
    Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    EndSection

    Section "Files"
    RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
    ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID/"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "record"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "dri"
    Load "xtrap"
    Load "glx"
    Load "type1"
    Load "speedo"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver "keyboard"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mouse0"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "auto"
    Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName "Monitor Model"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    ### Available Driver options are:-
    ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
    ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
    ### [arg]: arg optional
    #Option "accel" # [<bool>]
    #Option "crt_display" # [<bool>]
    #Option "composite_sync" # [<bool>]
    #Option "hw_cursor" # [<bool>]
    #Option "linear" # [<bool>]
    #Option "mmio_cache" # [<bool>]
    #Option "panel_display" # [<bool>]
    #Option "probe_clocks" # [<bool>]
    #Option "reference_clock" # <freq>
    #Option "shadow_fb" # [<bool>]
    #Option "sw_cursor" # [<bool>]
    Identifier "Card0"
    Driver "ati"
    VendorName "ATI"
    BoardName "Rage Mobility P/M AGP 2x"
    ChipSet "ati"
    ChipId 0x4c4d
    ChipRev 0x64
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Card0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 1
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 4
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 8
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 15
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 16
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    43400
    Posts
    824
    If you start a login manager like gdm or kdm first and then login into kde, will that work?
    Isn't it strange the onset of overheating will result in freezing?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    541
    Yeah it does.

    I had to get some help with hacking teh config file. The on X gave me had very bad graphics(low res, like 8bit), so i needed "DefaultDepth" added and my Res.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •