Hardware:Configuration:Floppy:SuSE


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: Hardware:Configuration:Floppy:SuSE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Stroud Gloucertershire England
    Posts
    17

    Unhappy Mounting Floppy Drive

    Dell Latitude Cpx
    500Mh prosessor
    128 Mb RAM
    20Gb hard drives
    Duel boot Windows 2000pro and SuSE 8.1 pro

    Hi
    I am having trouble mounting the floppy drive on my laptop.
    I have a inter changeable media bay that allows me to swap the CD drive for a floppy drive the problem is although I can save to floppy if I use Kwrite, I can not mount an icon on the desktop, or use the floppy to save Open Office documents.

    Here what I have tried so far, I first swap the CD bay for the Floppy drive and then boot up, I then log on as root, then enter this command in Konsole,
    /dev/fd0 /floppy auto user,noauto 00

    The reply I receive is this,
    linux:~ # /dev/fd0 /floppy auto user,noauto 0 0
    bash: /dev/fd0: Permission denied

    And if I just try, mount /floppy I receive this,
    linux:~ # mount /floppy
    mount: can't find /floppy in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab

    I have also tried using these commands in user, with same result.
    Any suggestions would be very welcome .
    Boldjim
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    4,221
    It's probably /mnt/floppy.

    mount /mnt/floppy

    Post the contents of your /etc/fstab file.
    djserz.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won't save you from yourself..."
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    /dev/3.14Pie/HowRandom
    Posts
    6,700

    Re: Mounting Floppy Drive

    Originally posted by Bold Jim
    then enter this command in Konsole,
    /dev/fd0 /floppy auto user,noauto 00
    That line isn't a command that can be executed at the prompt; that's the entry that you would have in /etc/fstab for your floppy. You're getting the error because the shell thinks you want to run the command /dev/fd0, which, of course, isn't a command at all.

    Originally posted by Bold Jim
    And if I just try, mount /floppy I receive this,
    linux:~ # mount /floppy
    mount: can't find /floppy in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
    Serz is probably right about this one- you don't have a /floppy directory. Check to see if a /mnt/floppy directory exists. If so, use that in your mount command instead. Also look in your /etc/fstab file, an entry for the floppy should have been automagically created when you installed the OS.
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Stroud Gloucertershire England
    Posts
    17

    Unhappy

    Ok here are the contents of the fstab file
    /dev/hda3 / reiserfs defaults 1 1
    /dev/hda1 /windows/C vfat users,gid=users,umask=0002,iocharset=iso8859-1,code=437 0 0
    /dev/hda2 swap swap pri=42 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts mode=0620,gid=5 0 0
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    usbdevfs /proc/bus/usb usbdevfs noauto 0 0
    /dev/cdrom /media/cdrom auto ro,noauto,user,exec 0 0
    /dev/sr0 /media/sr0 auto ro,noauto,user,exec 0 0 #HOTPLUG B3Fu.Ps_7t2s11wC


    I can see my CD ROM drive the USB CDR drive but I can no mention of a floppy drive, as I used the CD drive to install SuSE, I think the OS does not reconise it.
    Boldjim
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    39,320
    Add

    /dev/fd0 /media/floppy auto user,noauto 0 0

    to /etc/fstab.

    Ensure that /media/floppy exists as that is the default mountpoint that SuSE uses though it may not if your floppy drive was not detected during the installation.

    See if

    dmesg | grep fd0

    gives you a response such as

    Floppy drive(s): fd0 is 1.44M
    SEARCH FIRST... ASK SECOND Read the JL 'Community Help Posting Guidelines' before posting in the forums.

    Precompiled Redhat NTFS Modules

    Linuxplanet Tutorials

    If Linux doesn't have the solution, you have the wrong problem. ... Please do not send me a PM asking for help...

    Please read the search suggestion thread in JL Ideas
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Stroud Gloucertershire England
    Posts
    17

    Unhappy

    Hi
    I do get Floppy drive(s): fd0 is 1.44M, but I can not seem to enter command into the fstab file even in root, the cursor just blinks at me.

    Boldjim
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    4,221
    Hmm, how are you doing this?
    djserz.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won't save you from yourself..."
    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Colorado USA
    Posts
    3,070
    Originally posted by serz
    Hmm, how are you doing this?
    to add to that what text editor are you using? eg vi, kate
    Some of my favorite links

    search engine's
    G4L & JL forum search
    one of the best Debian based distro's for new hardware
    registered Linux user # 288225
    Share on Google+

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    /dev/3.14Pie/HowRandom
    Posts
    6,700
    /etc/fstab is just a plain-text file; it can be opened and edited in any text editing program. If you're working from the command line, use vi/emacs/pico/etc.; if you're in the GUI use any of the graphical text editing programs that SuSE provides.
    Share on Google+

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Fife, Scotland
    Posts
    1,794
    Ensure that /media/floppy exists
    Shouldn't that be /mnt/floppy?

    Try:

    > pico /etc/fstab

    You must be root to do this.

    James
    -----------------------------
    UseLinux.net
    -----------------------------

    perl -e 'use Math::Complex;$|=1;for$r(0..24){for$c (0..79){$C=cplx(($c/20.0)-3.0,-($r/12.0)+1.0);$Z= cplx(0,0);for($i=0;($i<80)&&(abs($Z)<2.0);$i++){$Z =$Z*$Z+$C;}print$i>=80?"*":" ";}print"\n";}'
    Share on Google+

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    1,249
    Shouldn't that be /mnt/floppy?
    SUSE uses /media instead of /mnt for its removable media directory.


    Bold Jim
    You have to be root to edit anything in /etc. All of the methods described opening a console window. Logging in as root via su and using a console text editor to modify the file.

    I bet your just clicking on the file in Konqueror or other browser which doesn't open the file for writing. To open a file for writing in Konqueror right click on the file and select open with. Then select a text editor.
    Share on Google+

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Stroud Gloucertershire England
    Posts
    17
    Hi Guys

    Sorry to take so long to answer, yesterday was not a good day.

    Michaelk, you were right I was just clicking on the file, I have not tried you advice yet but I will, and post the result as soon as I have.

    Thank you for all for the trouble you have taken.
    Boldjim
    Share on Google+

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Stroud Gloucertershire England
    Posts
    17
    Tis me again
    All I can say is ARRRRRRG I enterd the command in the fstab using kwrite, saved then tried to mount the floppy using the command, mount -t auto /dev/fd0 /floppy as recomended in the posts, all I get mount point not found, but as soon as I open kwrite the floppy drive mounts, boy am I confused.
    Sujestions please, ones that dont incuded throwing my laptop out the window.
    Boldjim
    Share on Google+

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    39,320
    Since you are using SuSE and as posted above, /media/floppy is the correct mountpoint.

    ls -al /media

    (look for floppy)
    SEARCH FIRST... ASK SECOND Read the JL 'Community Help Posting Guidelines' before posting in the forums.

    Precompiled Redhat NTFS Modules

    Linuxplanet Tutorials

    If Linux doesn't have the solution, you have the wrong problem. ... Please do not send me a PM asking for help...

    Please read the search suggestion thread in JL Ideas
    Share on Google+

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Stroud Gloucertershire England
    Posts
    17
    Hi
    I enterd the find command and recived this.


    jima@linux:~> ls -al /media
    total 0
    drwxr-xr-x 5 root root 120 2003-08-26 17:06 .
    drwxr-xr-x 20 root root 456 2003-09-13 14:07 ..
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 48 2002-09-13 00:14 cdrom
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 48 2002-09-13 00:14 floppy
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 48 2003-08-26 17:06 sr0
    jima@linux:~>

    As I understand it I have a floppy drive, so why can't I mount it,fedup and confused
    Boldjim
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •