Software:Floppy Formatting Error:Mandrake


Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Software:Floppy Formatting Error:Mandrake

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Way down yonder in the land of cotton...
    Posts
    274

    can't create boot disk

    I'm having trouble making a Mandrake Boot floppy. But when I run 'mkbootdisk' I get the folowing error:

    [root@jrb2 jrbishop]# mkbootdisk -v --device /dev/fd0 2.4.21-0.13mdk
    Insert a disk in /dev/fd0. Any information on the disk will be lost.
    Press to continue or ^C to abort:
    Formatting /dev/fd0... mkdosfs: /dev/fd0 contains a mounted file system.
    Failed to format /dev/fd0

    what am I doing wrong and how can I fix it? I'm using Mandrake 9.1
    one by one, the penguins steal my sanity...

    Registered Linux User#: 340703
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    /dev/3.14Pie/HowRandom
    Posts
    6,700
    If the floppy had a valid filesystem on it already, Mandrake might be auto-mounting the disk (via Supermount, perhaps?) when you insert it.

    Did you insert the disk prior to running the mkbootdisk program? If so, try waiting until you get the "Insert a disk in /dev/fd0..." message; that might catch it before the system has a chance to automount it. If that doesn't work, try unmounting the floppy before running mkbootdisk.
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Fife, Scotland
    Posts
    1,794
    Following on from DMR, you could try trashing the disk with the dd command and a certain /dev/urandom device...

    See - Destructive Fun with Linux can be useful on times...

    You could also try a Live CD... Loads more room and tools...

    James
    -----------------------------
    UseLinux.net
    -----------------------------

    perl -e 'use Math::Complex;$|=1;for$r(0..24){for$c (0..79){$C=cplx(($c/20.0)-3.0,-($r/12.0)+1.0);$Z= cplx(0,0);for($i=0;($i<80)&&(abs($Z)<2.0);$i++){$Z =$Z*$Z+$C;}print$i>=80?"*":" ";}print"\n";}'
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Colorado USA
    Posts
    3,070
    if I remeber correctly mandy should allow you to create a boot disk via a gui tool on the first CD. I could be mistaken though
    Some of my favorite links

    search engine's
    G4L & JL forum search
    one of the best Debian based distro's for new hardware
    registered Linux user # 288225
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vladivostok, Russia
    Posts
    9,054
    There used to be a gui in the control panel.....that was in 6.XX
    "I was pulled over for speeding today. The officer said, "Don't you know
    the speed limit is 55 miles an hour?" And I said, "Yes, but I wasn't going
    to be out that long."

    How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
    COME VISIT ME IN RUSSIA NOW!!
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Way down yonder in the land of cotton...
    Posts
    274
    it turns out that al I had to do was unmout the floppy drive, then run the command...

    thanks for all your help.
    one by one, the penguins steal my sanity...

    Registered Linux User#: 340703
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Colorado USA
    Posts
    3,070

    Thumbs up

    Originally posted by JohnT
    There used to be a gui in the control panel.....that was in 6.XX
    Thanks for the clarafication JohnT, it has been awhile since I have used mandrake rbishop79 I am glad you were able to make the disk
    Some of my favorite links

    search engine's
    G4L & JL forum search
    one of the best Debian based distro's for new hardware
    registered Linux user # 288225
    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    /dev/3.14Pie/HowRandom
    Posts
    6,700
    Originally posted by jrbishop79
    it turns out that al I had to do was unmout the floppy drive, then run the command...
    Um, yeah- I believe someone mentioned that...



    [SOLVED]

    [searching keywords]
    mkbootdisk floppy format mount unmount
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •