Trouble installing Gentoo :(


Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Trouble installing Gentoo :(

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Middle of no where (Lyons kansas)
    Posts
    469

    Trouble installing Gentoo :(

    I'm installing gentoo on my box, (Erasing debian) but when I try to :
    emerge -k sys-kernel/gentoo-sources

    I get this:

    Calculating dependenices. please correct.
    emerge, there are no mask's or unmasked ebuilds to satisfy "sis-kernel/gentoo-sources".

    What does this mean?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    407
    there are no mask's or unmasked ebuilds to satisfy "sis-kernel/gentoo-sources".

    it means you mis-spelled sys-kernel

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Somewhere, Texas
    Posts
    9,632
    You can also just "emerge -k gentoo-sources" since there are no other packages called that

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2
    Hi

    I am trying to install gentoo too but I encoutered this problem.
    I typed

    # emerge gentoo-sources

    but i get the same error :

    emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "gentoo-sources"

    I also tried specifying sys-kernel/gentoo-sources but nothing changes.
    I tried doing :

    # emerge --search gentoo
    # emerge --search sources

    But gentoo-sources is never liste :S

    I cannot really understand what to do, do you have some kind of tip ?

    Thanks in advance

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    5,892
    I guess you got it fixed by now -- had you downloaded and unpacked portage yet?
    Need help in realtime? Visit us at #linuxn00b on irc.freenode.net <-yes, those are zeros. http://www.linux.com/article.pl?sid=07/04/14/0631220
    Please follow the JL posting guidelines. || Put those spare cycles to use! Join the Justlinux folding@home team! Team #36480 Join Now! || Link to some of my config files and a few howto's.

    Few of us will do as much for our fellow man as he has done.
    --Andrew Morton on RMS

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2
    I forgot to sync portage using

    # emerge --sync

    Done that everything worked fine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •