tightVNC: VNC server closed connection


Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: tightVNC: VNC server closed connection

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Way down yonder in the land of cotton...
    Posts
    274

    tightVNC: VNC server closed connection

    I'm trying to remotely control my Win2k Server form my Mandrake 10 Machine I installed TightVNC on both sides(linux and Windows) and when I try to connect to my Windows Machine I get the following:

    [jrbishop:~]$ vncviewer 192.168.0.3
    VNC server supports protocol version 3.3 (viewer 3.3)
    Password:
    VNC authentication succeeded
    vncviewer: VNC server closed connection

    What am I doing wrong?
    one by one, the penguins steal my sanity...

    Registered Linux User#: 340703

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    2,610
    I have a memory of something similar, but it was about a year ago, and it hasn't come back to me. I *think* you need a :0 after the IP. Anyway, try that, and I will keep trying to remember, then when I stop trying, I will remember.

    hlrguy
    Were you a Windows expert the VERY first time you looked at a computer with Windows, or did it take a little time.....
    My Linux Blog
    Linux Native Replacements for Windows Programs
    Mandriva One on a "Vista Home Barely" T3640 E-Machine runs great.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Way down yonder in the land of cotton...
    Posts
    274
    I tried using 192.168.0.3:0 and I got the same error... keep trying to remember
    one by one, the penguins steal my sanity...

    Registered Linux User#: 340703

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    2,610
    Does the server log show anything about the problem? I haven't been able to remember. I am fairly sure that my problem was not specifying the :0.

    Wait, now I remember. The VNC server was started in user mode, and the screensaver was set to lock the desktop when it kicked in. Once that happened, my VNC connection would die and I couldn't reconnect until the desktop was unlocked.

    Check for running it is System mode instead of user mode.
    http://www.realvnc.com/v4/winvnc.html#3

    hlrguy
    Were you a Windows expert the VERY first time you looked at a computer with Windows, or did it take a little time.....
    My Linux Blog
    Linux Native Replacements for Windows Programs
    Mandriva One on a "Vista Home Barely" T3640 E-Machine runs great.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Way down yonder in the land of cotton...
    Posts
    274
    I didn't see System mode or user mode.. I'm using TightVNC rather than real VNC... And I don't even have the screensaver turned on over on the server side...
    one by one, the penguins steal my sanity...

    Registered Linux User#: 340703

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    65
    Make sure you have the server running on the Win2K box. When it starts up it should tell you which display it is running on. You were close with :0, it actually starts at :1, which is the default. You can have multiple vnc servers running which would result in multiple displays, :1, :2, :3 etc.

    Edit:
    Actually, it does say that 0 is the default display, but whenever I start the server it always starts as 1. Make sure that you aren't running some sort of firewall on the Win2k box. Each display coresponds to a port.

    0 = 5900
    1 = 5901
    2 = 5902
    etc.

    So make sure you can access those ports.
    Last edited by skubiszm; 06-28-2004 at 07:07 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Way down yonder in the land of cotton...
    Posts
    274
    The server doesn't have a firewall, and the service is running....

    Code:
    [jrbishop:~]$ vncviewer 192.168.0.3:1
    vncviewer: ConnectToTcpAddr: connect: Connection refused
    Unable to connect to VNC server
    [jrbishop:~]$ vncviewer 192.168.0.3:5900
    vncviewer: ConnectToTcpAddr: connect: Connection refused
    Unable to connect to VNC server
    [jrbishop:~]$ vncviewer 192.168.0.3:5901
    vncviewer: ConnectToTcpAddr: connect: Connection refused
    Unable to connect to VNC server
    [jrbishop:~]$ vncviewer 192.168.0.3:5902
    vncviewer: ConnectToTcpAddr: connect: Connection refused
    Unable to connect to VNC server
    one by one, the penguins steal my sanity...

    Registered Linux User#: 340703

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    2,610
    What does the server log have to say? Also, the last log is different from the first in that you aren't getting 'authentication succeeded' anymore. Maybe start with running vnc server on the linux box, then connect to the server locally with vncviewer.

    hlrguy
    Were you a Windows expert the VERY first time you looked at a computer with Windows, or did it take a little time.....
    My Linux Blog
    Linux Native Replacements for Windows Programs
    Mandriva One on a "Vista Home Barely" T3640 E-Machine runs great.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Way down yonder in the land of cotton...
    Posts
    274
    here is a sample of one (maybe a couple?) of failed attempts from my winvnc.log:

    Code:
    Mon Jun 28 22:39:26 2004
    vncSockConnect.cpp : accepted connection from 192.168.0.253
    vncClient.cpp : client connected : 192.168.0.253 (id 4)
    Mon Jun 28 22:39:29 2004
    vncService.cpp : SelectHDESK failed to close old desktop 38, error=170
    vncDesktop.cpp : GetSystemPaletteEntries() failed.
    vncServer.cpp : failed to initialize desktop object
    vncDesktop.cpp : failed to ReleaseDC
    [edit] I just set up a vnc server on the linux box and logged in locally. Got some interesting things happening on the screen, but it did work..[/edit]
    Last edited by jrbishop79; 06-29-2004 at 12:06 AM.
    one by one, the penguins steal my sanity...

    Registered Linux User#: 340703

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    2,610
    Well, at least now you know it is a server problem. Let me guess, the interesting things on the Linux vnc server was a grey background and a simple xterm, very plain looking. Normal till you tell it which desktop to start. Anyway, no idea about the server problem. Failed to close old desktop? Maybe two trying to run at the same time?

    I tried some google searches and found a few who have your problem, but no replies to the threads. About the only thing I can suggest is uninstall, then install RealVNC. They seem to be almost identical, but RealVNC is more mature.

    hlrguy
    Were you a Windows expert the VERY first time you looked at a computer with Windows, or did it take a little time.....
    My Linux Blog
    Linux Native Replacements for Windows Programs
    Mandriva One on a "Vista Home Barely" T3640 E-Machine runs great.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Way down yonder in the land of cotton...
    Posts
    274
    Originally posted by hlrguy
    Let me guess, the interesting things on the Linux vnc server was a grey background and a simple xterm, very plain looking. Normal till you tell it which desktop to start. Anyway, no idea about the server problem. Failed to close old desktop? Maybe two trying to run at the same time?

    I basically got some interesting cascading terminal windows....windows spawning inside windows.... looked like a screensaver gone awry...
    one by one, the penguins steal my sanity...

    Registered Linux User#: 340703

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    2,610
    Oh, well, I guessed wrong. Give RealVNC a try, and post back if you get it going. Love your flashing 12 PM. Ahhh, memories of my parents first VCR.

    hlrguy
    Were you a Windows expert the VERY first time you looked at a computer with Windows, or did it take a little time.....
    My Linux Blog
    Linux Native Replacements for Windows Programs
    Mandriva One on a "Vista Home Barely" T3640 E-Machine runs great.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Way down yonder in the land of cotton...
    Posts
    274
    I installed RealVNC on the server and it works!!

    and as for the flashin 12:00, that's my experience with linux... I can do all these cool things with it, but damned if I can't get the clock set...
    one by one, the penguins steal my sanity...

    Registered Linux User#: 340703

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •