I just folded my first protein - Page 51


Page 51 of 65 FirstFirst ... 4147484950515253545561 ... LastLast
Results 751 to 765 of 973

Thread: I just folded my first protein

  1. #751
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    547
    Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo...
    $whatis microsoft
    microsoft: nothing appropriate

  2. #752
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,594
    Quote Originally Posted by techwise View Post
    Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo...

    So... What's up?
    Your Mr. Fusion experience a meltdown??
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    Hey, for those who haven't been there, I just discovered:

    http://en.fah-addict.net/news/news.php

    One of the news items in there talks about abuse by some of the stats gathering sites. But, ExtremeOverClocking plays by the rules and is recommended for stats viewing.

    "Folding@Home certainly has a competitive side, but running invasive scripts in order to be constantly on top of the competition and pull in points data of competitors with improperly coded scripts is an abuse of the Pande Group's hospitality. Extreme Overclocking and Kakaostats provide all the statistics one could ask for, and offer remarkable performance in so doing, so these are practical alternatives. Follow their example, or abstain!"

    So, here's where I watch the stats updates:

    http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...php?s=&t=36480

    Notice the graph in the middle has 4 options, Hourly, Daily, Weekly, and Monthly. It defaults to Daily, which shows a steep declining trend line for justlinux_regulars, Team 36480. But, if you look at the Weekly and Monthly it looks a lot better.
    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

  3. #753
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,594
    Hey, I'm moving again.

    I'll be offline for a few days. Everybody better step it up!!

    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

  4. #754
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    5,892
    /me fires up his old opteron rig
    Need help in realtime? Visit us at #linuxn00b on irc.freenode.net <-yes, those are zeros. http://www.linux.com/article.pl?sid=07/04/14/0631220
    Please follow the JL posting guidelines. || Put those spare cycles to use! Join the Justlinux folding@home team! Team #36480 Join Now! || Link to some of my config files and a few howto's.

    Few of us will do as much for our fellow man as he has done.
    --Andrew Morton on RMS

  5. #755
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,594
    -
    Well, actual move date is next Tuesday. In the meantime I've be hangin' in there with this one Windows 7 laptop, but for the last 2 days or so, this is all I'm seeing:

    Code:
    Waiting before retry.
    [04:57:03] + Attempting to get work packet
    [04:57:03] - Connecting to assignment server
    [04:57:08] + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
    [04:57:08] + Couldn't get work instructions.
    [04:57:08] - Attempt #6  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
    Waiting before retry.
    [04:59:59] + Attempting to get work packet
    [04:59:59] - Connecting to assignment server
    [05:00:02] + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
    [05:00:02] + Couldn't get work instructions.
    [05:00:02] - Attempt #7  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
    Waiting before retry.
    [05:05:35] + Attempting to get work packet
    [05:05:35] - Connecting to assignment server
    [05:05:39] + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
    [05:05:39] + Couldn't get work instructions.
    [05:05:39] - Attempt #8  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
    Waiting before retry.
    [05:16:33] + Attempting to get work packet
    [05:16:33] - Connecting to assignment server
    [05:16:41] + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
    [05:16:41] + Couldn't get work instructions.
    [05:16:41] - Attempt #9  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
    Waiting before retry.
    It says "Attempt #9", but it restarts that count when you kill it and start over, which I've done a few times.
    -
    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

  6. #756
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    3,607
    I seem to have been getting the same thing for the past few days. I've tried all of the fixes I found for the message (changing from big to normal work units, tweaking my memory size, etc.) but nothing has helped. Think it might be time for a post on their forums.

    Edit: Scratch that. Apparently right now there are only advmethods work units available. That might explain why I kept getting crappy A1 work units that used <50&#37; of my CPU for a couple of weeks there too.
    Last edited by cybertron; 04-18-2010 at 09:35 PM.

  7. #757
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    5,892
    Yeah, I haven't checked the logs but it seems the machines didn't get work units there for a few days. Everything's humming along now though
    Need help in realtime? Visit us at #linuxn00b on irc.freenode.net <-yes, those are zeros. http://www.linux.com/article.pl?sid=07/04/14/0631220
    Please follow the JL posting guidelines. || Put those spare cycles to use! Join the Justlinux folding@home team! Team #36480 Join Now! || Link to some of my config files and a few howto's.

    Few of us will do as much for our fellow man as he has done.
    --Andrew Morton on RMS

  8. #758
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,594
    Well, I got moved, but all my stuff isn't here yet. I moved from a large BQ room with a separate bedroom, to a small, one room BQ room. I may have to cut way back on my production due to heat issues that will come up.

    The -smp is telling me there's nothing to do. The -advmethods is downloading and processing, but the .dat files are less than 200K and won't upload.

    Maybe I'm done with this altogether! Well, this is my Windows 7 laptop, maybe my Smoothwall system with the linux machines will fair better. It'll probably be a week to 2 weeks before I get that stuff.
    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

  9. #759
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    3,607
    Wow, the A3 bonus is pretty sweet. I was getting ~1000 ppd on my initial A3 units, and all of a sudden I hit the 10 unit bonus threshold and now I'm getting something like 5000 ppd. Which seems to be similar to what I was getting last year. 3 million points here I come!

  10. #760
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,594
    I just discovered yesterday that I have to use both -smp and -advmethods to get anything going. Worked through a whole work unit yesterday, but only got 484 points.

    I'm at about 13% on the next one and it has this:

    [21:22:14] Core required: FahCore_a3.exe

    So, cybertron, I assume that's the A3 you are talking about. ?

    Maybe this one will generate more points. This laptop is a Core 2 Duo T8300 2.40 Ghz
    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

  11. #761
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    3,607
    Yeah, that's about what I was getting for my first ten. For whatever reason, they decided that you only start getting the bonus for these after you've completed ten. Also, you may need to set up a passkey - I guess they're trying to stop basing points solely on username since they aren't required to be unique.

  12. #762
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,594
    Let's fold.

    Attached Images Attached Images
    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

  13. #763
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,594
    My room is gettin' a might warmish...

    Points Last 24 Hours: 30,067 .

    Just over 3.5 million points; closing in on 7,000 Work Units
    .
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by bs_texas; 05-25-2010 at 02:24 AM.
    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

  14. #764
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    3,607
    Damn, 30000. How many machines do you have folding?

  15. #765
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,594
    Only 11. Five of them are little Shuttle X27 64bit Atom computers. (1x270 and 4x330) And let's see, I have a Core I7 920, a quad Q9650, a quad Q9400, a Core 2 Xtreme X7900, a quad Q9300, and a Core 2 something or other. I think I'm using "-advmethods -smp" on all of them.

    Edit: Oh, I got a Passkey too. And, I just realized only 3 of the X27's are folding. One of them needs a new chipset fan, so it's powered down, and the other I just started up this morning, so ok, I now have 4 of them folding.

    Seems like a lot of points, but there are people out there who get that many points, or more, on single machines.

    And I'm still doing this on a 56K dial-up connection. The US Robotics Courier V.Everything 56K modem was a good $250+ upgrade to my system.
    Last edited by bs_texas; 05-25-2010 at 03:25 PM.
    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •