I just folded my first protein - Page 6


Page 6 of 67 FirstFirst ... 23456789101656 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 90 of 1002

Thread: I just folded my first protein

  1. #76
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,181
    If it's using up all your CPU then it's working. There normally is a file created by FAH call "FAHlog.txt" do a search for that to check on how it's doing, the file should be in the folder FAH is run from. I wouldn't expect your name to show up before you have finished a WU as you can't get any points for something you haven't done yet.

  2. #77
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, ON, CA
    Posts
    224
    Originally posted by Parcival
    However, how can I see what it's doing now?
    How do I know it has successfully downloaded a WU? How can I see how much of the WU has been processed?
    The console window scrolls all this information including core downloads, WU downloads, steps completed, success/failure, and whether the completed work is uploaded and received sucessfully. You can also read this same scroll in the file FAHlog.txt.

    Here's one unit ending and another beginning:

    Code:
    [16:07:17] Completed 1000000 out of 1000000 steps  (100%)
    [16:07:17] Writing final coordinates.
    [16:07:18] Past main M.D. loop
    [16:08:17] 
    [16:08:17] Finished Work Unit:
    [16:08:17] - Reading up to 282264 from "work/wudata_03.arc": Read 282264
    [16:08:17] - Reading up to 881064 from "work/wudata_03.xtc": Read 881064
    [16:08:18] goefile size: 0
    [16:08:18] Leaving Run
    [16:08:18] - Writing 1178208 bytes of core data to disk...
    [16:08:18]   ... Done.
    [16:08:19] - Shutting down core
    [16:08:19] 
    [16:08:19] Folding@home Core Shutdown: FINISHED_UNIT
    [16:08:20] CoreStatus = 64 (100)
    [16:08:20] Sending work to server
    [16:08:20] + Attempting to send results
    [16:08:47] + Results successfully sent
    [16:08:47] Thank you for your contribution to Folding@Home.
    [16:08:47] + Number of Units Completed: 3
    
    [16:08:48] - Preparing to get new work unit...
    [16:08:48] + Attempting to get work packet
    [16:08:48] - Connecting to assignment server
    [16:08:48] - Successful: assigned to (171.65.103.158).
    [16:08:48] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
    [16:08:48] Loaded queue successfully.
    [16:08:50] + Closed connections
    [16:08:50] 
    [16:08:50] + Processing work unit
    [16:08:50] Core required: FahCore_82.exe
    [16:08:50] Core found.
    [16:08:50] Working on Unit 04 [March 7 16:08:50]
    [16:08:50] + Working ...
    [16:08:50] 
    [16:08:50] *------------------------------*
    [16:08:50] Folding@Home PMD Core
    [16:08:50] Version 1.01 (Oct 15, 2004)
    [16:08:50] 
    [16:08:50] Preparing to commence simulation
    [16:08:50] - Looking at optimizations...
    [16:08:50] - Created dyn
    [16:08:50] - Files status OK
    [16:08:50] - Expanded 81692 -> 558730 (decompressed 683.9 percent)
    [16:08:50] 
    [16:08:50] Project: 1803 (Run 14, Clone 89, Gen 7)
    [16:08:50] 
    [16:08:50] Assembly optimizations on if available.
    [16:08:50] Entering M.D.
    [16:08:57] Protein: p1803_Collagen_POG10_refolding
    [16:08:57] 
    [16:08:57] Completed 0 out of 250000 steps  (0%)
    [16:23:55] Writing checkpoint files
    [16:37:22] Writing local files
    [16:37:22] Completed 2500 out of 250000 steps  (1%)
    (etc...)
    Another file, unitinfo.txt also gives basic information.

    Code:
    -----------------
    Name: p1274_proj1274_A21nat_d1
    Download time: March 17 08:10:05
    Due time: April 11 08:10:05
    Progress: 44%  [||||______]

  3. #78
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    West Texas
    Posts
    586
    tail -f /opt/foldi..ome/<log_file>
    JustLinux IRC Channel: irc.freenode.net #justlinux

  4. #79
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Kitchener, Canada
    Posts
    710
    Originally posted by Parcival
    Well, I finally managed to get my old Dell laptop running with Gentoo, too. I emerged f@h, did the initscript and added it to my default runlevel using rc-update and finally rebootet to get it started. However, how can I see what it's doing now?

    ps- ax gives:

    Code:
     6066 ?        S      0:00 /opt/foldingathome/client1/foldingathome
     6067 ?        SN     0:00 ./FahCore_82.exe -dir work/ -suffix 01 -checkpoint 15 -lifeline 6027 -version 502
     6068 ?        SN     0:00 ./FahCore_82.exe -dir work/ -suffix 01 -checkpoint 15 -lifeline 6027 -version 502
     6069 ?        RN   434:48 ./FahCore_82.exe -dir work/ -suffix 01 -checkpoint 15 -lifeline 6027 -version 502
     6070 ?        SN     0:00 ./FahCore_82.exe -dir work/ -suffix 01 -checkpoint 15 -lifeline 6027 -version 502
    How do I know it has successfully downloaded a WU? How can I see how much of the WU has been processed? Is there anywhere a good documentation? (no manpages and the FAQ on their website isn't what I consider to be a fulll documentation) Oh, and my username doesn't show up in the justlinux_regulars' list either. Will it get there once I have finished my first WU?
    The file that you are probably intrusted in is FAHlog.txt, it is in the same directory as FAH502-Linux.exe. Everything that FAH would output to the screen is written to that file.

    Here is an excerpt from my log file
    Launch directory: /home/folding
    Executable: ./FAH502-Linux.exe
    Arguments: -verbosity 9

    [00:58:20] - Ask before connecting: No
    [00:58:20] - User name: Cerf (Team 36480)
    [00:58:20] - User ID: 1AAA16C5B8E0FC7
    [00:58:20] - Machine ID: 1
    [00:58:20]
    [00:58:20] Loaded queue successfully.
    [00:58:20] + Benchmarking ...
    [00:58:24] The benchmark result is 56
    [00:58:24]
    [00:58:24] + Processing work unit
    [00:58:24] Core required: FahCore_82.exe
    [00:58:24] Core found.
    [00:58:24] - Autosending finished units...
    [00:58:24] Trying to send all finished work units
    [00:58:24] + No unsent completed units
    [00:58:24] - Autosend completed
    [00:58:24] Working on Unit 01 [February 20 00:58:24]
    [00:58:24] + Working ...
    [00:58:24] - Calling './FahCore_82.exe -dir work/ -suffix 01 -checkpoint 15 -verbose -lifeline 29519 -version 502'

    [00:58:24]
    [00:58:24] *------------------------------*
    [00:58:24] Folding@Home PMD Core
    [00:58:24] Version 1.01 (Oct 15, 2004)
    [00:58:24]
    [00:58:24] Preparing to commence simulation
    [00:58:24] - Looking at optimizations...
    [00:58:24] - Files status OK
    [00:58:25] - Expanded 85854 -> 581642 (decompressed 677.4 percent)
    [00:58:25]
    [00:58:25] Project: 1801 (Run 13, Clone 190, Gen 9)
    [00:58:25]
    [00:58:25] Assembly optimizations on if available.
    [00:58:25] Entering M.D.
    [00:58:34] Protein: p1801_Collagen_PPG10_refolding
    [00:58:34]
    [00:58:34] Completed 0 out of 250000 steps (0%)

    ...

    [22:29:59] Writing checkpoint files
    [22:38:59] Writing local files
    [22:38:59] Completed 247500 out of 250000 steps (99%)
    [22:45:58] Writing checkpoint files
    [23:01:04] Writing checkpoint files
    [23:16:07] Writing checkpoint files
    [23:32:07] Writing checkpoint files
    [23:48:00] Writing checkpoint files
    [00:04:00] Writing checkpoint files
    [00:18:57] Writing local files
    [00:18:57] Completed 250000 out of 250000 steps (100%)
    [00:18:57] Writing checkpoint files
    [00:19:57]
    [00:19:57] Finished Work Unit:
    [00:19:57] Leaving Run
    [00:20:00] - Writing 1482892 bytes of core data to disk...
    [00:20:00] ... Done.
    [00:20:01] - Shutting down core
    [00:20:01]
    [00:20:01] Folding@home Core Shutdown: FINISHED_UNIT
    [00:20:01] CoreStatus = 64 (100)
    [00:20:01] Sending work to server


    [00:20:01] + Attempting to send results
    [00:20:17] + Results successfully sent
    [00:20:17] Thank you for your contribution to Folding@Home.
    [00:20:17] + Starting local stats count at 1
    [00:20:18] - Preparing to get new work unit...
    [00:20:18] + Attempting to get work packet
    [00:20:18] - Connecting to assignment server
    [00:20:19] - Successful: assigned to (171.65.103.158).
    [00:20:19] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
    [00:20:19] Loaded queue successfully.
    [00:20:20] + Closed connections
    [00:20:20]
    [00:20:20] + Processing work unit
    [00:20:20] Core required: FahCore_82.exe
    [00:20:20] Core found.
    [00:20:20] Working on Unit 02 [February 27 00:20:20]

    ...
    :wq

  5. #80
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Kitchener, Canada
    Posts
    710
    As you can see, the log will tell you what protein your computer is folding, the amount of work completed, when it download the work unit, the core it is using, if it successfully sent the unit back to the server, and much more important information.
    :wq

  6. #81
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    421
    Just joined the team the other day. I've got 3 machines folding right now, and will have 2, maybe 3 more added very soon.

    Machines Currently Folding:
    AMD Athlon XP 1900+
    Intel PentiumIII 1GHz
    PowerPC G4 1.25GHz

    Going to be adding:
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+ (Parent's House)
    Intel Celeron 733mhz (Parent's House)
    AMD K6-2 500mhz (Needs new cpu fan)
    "The only thing that interferes with my learning is my education." -Albert Einstein

    diminishing.org - Screenshots and other random stuff.

  7. #82
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Burlington, ON (near Toronto)
    Posts
    630

  8. #83
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    2,658
    Originally posted by MorphiusFaydal
    tail -f /opt/foldi..ome/<log_file>
    Thank you very much. Now I can't wait until I get my other box back to have a second up and folding.

    "What can be said at all can be said clearly, and what we cannot talk about we must pass over in silence."

    Tractatus Logico-Philosophicus by Ludwig Wittgenstein (1889-1951)

  9. #84
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Athens, Greece
    Posts
    606
    what is your current CPU temp when you are folding?

    mine idles at 49.5 C
    Mobo at 38C

    Pentium 4 2.8GHz
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    Linux user #355624 Debian Linux
    Latitude D810 --Pentium M 1.86Ghz , 1GB DDR II PC-4300. X600 ,15.4". SATA 60GB
    Home ssh / ftp server P 4 @ 2.8Ghz , 225gb 3 x maxtors
    =====www.kanotix.com=====

  10. #85
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Burlington, ON (near Toronto)
    Posts
    630

  11. #86
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,181
    Not yet! I've started leaving my machines on through the night though.

  12. #87
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    West Texas
    Posts
    586
    Originally posted by DimGR
    what is your current CPU temp when you are folding?
    something way to hot

    Athlon XP 3200+
    JustLinux IRC Channel: irc.freenode.net #justlinux

  13. #88
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    5,901
    Originally posted by DimGR
    what is your current CPU temp when you are folding?
    I have an SMP system that runs pretty cool,
    one proc usually runs around 39C and the other runs about 43C. I'm guessing the dT is due to differences in location.
    I fry eggs on my other boxes, so I like them hot.

  14. #89
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    505
    Originally posted by MorphiusFaydal
    something way to hot

    Athlon XP 3200+
    Yeah, the 3200+ is nothing short of a beast...I need to get a new hs/f for mine to keep it cool, because its running so damn hot
    Join the JustLinux irc chat | irc.freenode.net | #linuxn00b
    San Diego Web Development | Used Computers for Sale

    Slackware Linux | Gentoo Linux | Debian GNU/Linux
    Registerd Linux User #313504

  15. #90
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    West Texas
    Posts
    586
    Originally posted by Darkbolt
    Yeah, the 3200+ is nothing short of a beast...I need to get a new hs/f for mine to keep it cool, because its running so damn hot
    i have a ThermalTake Volcano 12+ and Arctic Silver 5 on mine, but its in one of those big computer desks that puts huge chunks of wood around it.. so hot air doesnt really move away from my system :-\
    JustLinux IRC Channel: irc.freenode.net #justlinux

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •