I just folded my first protein - Page 7


Page 7 of 67 FirstFirst ... 345678910111757 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 105 of 1003

Thread: I just folded my first protein

  1. #91
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Burlington, ON (near Toronto)
    Posts
    630
    Originally posted by retsaw
    Not yet! I've started leaving my machines on through the night though.
    Ahhh that's what happened. Only 3 of my 5 are on all the time. And only 1 of those is decent.

    My Athlon XP 3200 does not run hot at all. Nice breezy aluminum case with 3 quiet case fans and a Thermaltake Volcano make a big difference I guess. 44C is the highest I've seen it and that was when I had a space heater on in my room.

  2. #92
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    COLORADO
    Posts
    439
    i have a couple of windows machines doing some folding and on one of them i was wondering if there is any way to raise the priority from using idle cpu time, to using like 30-40% all the time then use the rest when the machine is idle. This way when lets say MSNmesenger decides to leave a messge pope up it won't kill my folding power (which it does just to make tht task bar item blink). I have tried goin into Task Manager and changeing priority, but it kills the system causing it to slow way down, untill i finally get a moment to click the right buttons in the right order to set it back to low. (XP pro SP1), I'm also getting a new AMD Athalon 2800+ 64 bit setup coming soon, for my server so i should have one more system folding (after i lost my laptop due to overheating had to stop folding) Thanks for any help.
    Be AWARE: gramaticle/spelling errors will happen
    ReX Productions
    Current Web Project
    Join Project Honey Pot

  3. #93
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Binghamton NY
    Posts
    2,435

  4. #94
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Kitchener, Canada
    Posts
    710
    Originally posted by blackbelt_jones
    Okay i'm in, too.
    If I'm not mistaken, that makes 50!
    :wq

  5. #95
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    COLORADO
    Posts
    439
    more like 51+
    Be AWARE: gramaticle/spelling errors will happen
    ReX Productions
    Current Web Project
    Join Project Honey Pot

  6. #96
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    2,658
    I finished my first work unit. Yay!

    (it took me 3.5 days on a PIII/500 running nothing but a Gentoo stage3 installation, though... I definitely need to get my boxes back)

    "What can be said at all can be said clearly, and what we cannot talk about we must pass over in silence."

    Tractatus Logico-Philosophicus by Ludwig Wittgenstein (1889-1951)

  7. #97
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Kitchener, Canada
    Posts
    710
    Originally posted by Parcival
    I finished my first work unit. Yay!

    (it took me 3.5 days on a PIII/500 running nothing but a Gentoo stage3 installation, though... I definitely need to get my boxes back)
    Congratulations

    Please don't over take me in the ranks, I'm begging you - I don't want to fall any lower, it will make me feel like less of a geek if I do.
    :wq

  8. #98
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    2,658
    Originally posted by Cerf
    Please don't over take me in the ranks, I'm begging you - I don't want to fall any lower, it will make me feel like less of a geek if I do.
    In this case, I guess it's time for a little chat with the admins of the Linux cluster of the University of Bern. Say, where did that devil smiley just go?

    "What can be said at all can be said clearly, and what we cannot talk about we must pass over in silence."

    Tractatus Logico-Philosophicus by Ludwig Wittgenstein (1889-1951)

  9. #99
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Burlington, ON (near Toronto)
    Posts
    630

  10. #100
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    West Texas
    Posts
    586
    Originally posted by ions
    My Athlon XP 3200 does not run hot at all. Nice breezy aluminum case with 3 quiet case fans and a Thermaltake Volcano make a big difference I guess. 44C is the highest I've seen it and that was when I had a space heater on in my room.
    breezy case, check
    lots of fans (intake and exhaust), check
    godo airflow around the case to get the hot air away... oops.

    i really need to move my case to a better spot :\
    JustLinux IRC Channel: irc.freenode.net #justlinux

  11. #101
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, ON, CA
    Posts
    224

    Good news, bad news.

    Well, we're closing in on AV123, but Sviesta Ciba (Team Latvia) is poised to kick our flabby butts on the way past.

    Any more CPUs, gentlemen (and ladies)?

    - T.

    EDIT: At present speed, M$ is now only 55 days away.
    Last edited by tlyons; 03-23-2005 at 01:09 PM.

  12. #102
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    5,901

    heh...

    As long as we catch these guys I'll be happy:

    http://vspx27.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/m...ge&teamnum=999
    Need help in realtime? Visit us at #linuxn00b on irc.freenode.net <-yes, those are zeros. http://www.linux.com/article.pl?sid=07/04/14/0631220
    Please follow the JL posting guidelines. || Put those spare cycles to use! Join the Justlinux folding@home team! Team #36480 Join Now! || Link to some of my config files and a few howto's.

    Few of us will do as much for our fellow man as he has done.
    --Andrew Morton on RMS

  13. #103
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, ON, CA
    Posts
    224

    Re: heh...

    Originally posted by je_fro
    As long as we catch these guys I'll be happy
    Their CPU:User ratio is pretty sad, given that our team is about the same size as theirs.

    They must be pretty short on stable computers over there.

    - T.

    (Can't say I'm surprised.)

    EDIT: I can't spell.
    Last edited by tlyons; 03-23-2005 at 01:19 PM.

  14. #104
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Binghamton NY
    Posts
    2,435
    Okay , help me out a little here. I logged off for a while to visit my windows partition, and now that I'm back I'm not clear on if I'm folding again, even though I told the setup not to ask before uploading or downloading. The FAH log hasn't been updated. Do I have to do something to reconnect it? Is there a way I can check the progress? Scuse me for being so green...

  15. #105
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, ON, CA
    Posts
    224
    You'll have to re-run the console executable every bootup, unless you set it to run from .xinitrc.

    - T.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •