I just folded my first protein - Page 8


Page 8 of 67 FirstFirst ... 4567891011121858 ... LastLast
Results 106 to 120 of 1002

Thread: I just folded my first protein

  1. #106
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Binghamton NY
    Posts
    2,435

  2. #107
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Kitchener, Canada
    Posts
    710

    Re: heh...

    Originally posted by je_fro
    As long as we catch these guys I'll be happy:

    http://vspx27.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/m...ge&teamnum=999
    55 days and counting

    http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...s=&t=36480&p=2
    :wq

  3. #108
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Kitchener, Canada
    Posts
    710
    Originally posted by Parcival
    In this case, I guess it's time for a little chat with the admins of the Linux cluster of the University of Bern. Say, where did that devil smiley just go?
    Noooooooooooooooooooooooo, O wait if your going to play dirty, I might be able to talk to the high preformance computing guys at the University of Waterloo (http://www.hpc.uwaterloo.ca/) I will buy time if I have to
    :wq

  4. #109
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Burlington, ON (near Toronto)
    Posts
    630
    Within the last year and a half I have seen my own mother through breast cancer. Then my aunt on my father's side was diagnosed with breast cancer early this year and just this week an aunt on my mother's side has been diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer. Granted the protein I'm currently folding isn't very likely to cure cancer but hopefully, in the very least, it's a baby step in a positive direction. It's for those reasons that I make the effort to make sure any machine I have legal access to is folding and why I whore the project out every chance I get.

    It's great to see so many new people joining F@H!

    Bump!

  5. #110
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    COLORADO
    Posts
    439
    Waatch out another group is about to overtake us in 10 days, we need about 5,000 more points a day to be safe, i'll add some more cpus in a day, just got a new amd athalon 2800 64 bit, hopefully she's as awsome as my sempron, hoepfully better, given it cost a whole lot more. Try leaving machines on at night for those that don't to keep production up.
    Be AWARE: gramaticle/spelling errors will happen
    ReX Productions
    Current Web Project
    Join Project Honey Pot

  6. #111
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Burlington, ON (near Toronto)
    Posts
    630
    We're gonna need a lot of new procs to keep that group behind up. They're averaging over 12000points a day. We're around 8000.

  7. #112
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Kitchener, Canada
    Posts
    710
    Originally posted by ions
    We're gonna need a lot of new procs to keep that group behind up. They're averaging over 12000points a day. We're around 8000.
    I just changed my setup so that I can keep all of my computers on 24h a day, hopefully my 24 ave will again be > 100
    :wq

  8. #113
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    boston, mass USA
    Posts
    1,880
    i have about 8 cpu's crunching 24/7.

    I cant seem to get any higher in the rankings though.

    hayldric keeps over taking me!

  9. #114
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Kitchener, Canada
    Posts
    710
    Originally posted by happybunny
    i have about 8 cpu's crunching 24/7.

    I cant seem to get any higher in the rankings though.

    hayldric keeps over taking me!
    How fast are they?
    :wq

  10. #115
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    2,658
    Gee, I've got one CPU running 24/7 and you're talking about 8 and more. Well, constant dripping wears away the stone, as we say in German.

    "What can be said at all can be said clearly, and what we cannot talk about we must pass over in silence."

    Tractatus Logico-Philosophicus by Ludwig Wittgenstein (1889-1951)

  11. #116
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    boston, mass USA
    Posts
    1,880
    4 CPU's in one box=500mhz each
    1 latop 2.4Ghz
    2nd laptop 800mhz
    Desktop 800-1ghz?
    desktop 2ghz
    2 Virtual servers crunching too, i think they rate around 2ghz each.

    You'd think i'd have a higher score by now, but I've only folder 7 proteins, although i did only start last week, so i guess 1 a day isn't bad.
    Last edited by happybunny; 03-25-2005 at 05:02 PM.

  12. #117
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Kitchener, Canada
    Posts
    710
    Originally posted by happybunny
    4 CPU's in one box=500mhz each

    2 Virtual servers crunching too, i think they rate around 2ghz each.
    How did you pull that off?
    :wq

  13. #118
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    boston, mass USA
    Posts
    1,880
    i have a 4 cpu box (each are 500mhz) and followed instructions about using smp.

    created a folder for each cpu, ran FAH502-Linux.exe and set each folder instance to a different machine number.

    Each instance runs its own cpu to 100%, so if I look at top, each FAH502-Linux.exe shows it is using 25% of the total CPU power, but each CPU is maxed out.

    We use VMWare here so i created 2 new servers to do nothing but fold. Wont last long before someone notices tho.

  14. #119
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    5,901

    scoring...

    Not all Work Units are created equally. Sometimes you'll get a big project that takes a long time, but it'll score a lot. If during the setup program you select the advanced options, you can configure it to do "large memory" projects that will score a lot.
    Or something like that.

  15. #120
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    BFE Ill.
    Posts
    21
    be warned though, those larger memory units should only be used on higher end boxes, anything less than 2ghz will definatly feel the effects

    if yall want i can give up files to make yourself a floppy for going around and installing on XP lab machines

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •