Grub loading stage1.5 reading error


Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Grub loading stage1.5 reading error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    876

    Grub loading stage1.5 reading error

    I have searched google/linux and this forum and even dogpile, but have found nothing relevent to this error.

    I installed Ubuntu 5.04 on my Dell poweredge server raid5, for whatever reason that was the only Linux I could get to install. I did a server install base system everything installed with no errors, but when I boot to the os I get this Grug error. Grub loading stage1.5 reading error I can boot to a floppy with grub stage2 on it and get the os to start. But for some reason Grub will not start on a normal boot.

    I've compared my grub menu.lst against my other pc's and everything looks right.

    From the floppy I can give the geometry (hd0) command and it returns the proper info.

    I then tried to install grub to the MBR.
    root (hd0,0)
    setup (hd0)

    It says it installed no errors but still I get the same error at boot.
    I've edited the system.map and that look good.

    I have 4 scsi drives in the raid5 array sda-d from within the OS I've given the command as root (well Ubuntu's idea of root) sudo fdisk -l and it sees all the drives.

    So my question is, Does anyone have any idea what I can try next?

    I'm at work now but when I get home I'll post the menu.lst and the system.map

    Thanks for any help
    Dan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    3,203
    You loading the driver as a module or is it built into the kernel? I get the same problem/error with my IDE controller card (PCI, not built in)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    876
    ph34r

    I checked to see what modules are being loaded at boot here's the list.

    ide-cd
    ide-disk
    ide-generic
    lp
    mousedev
    psmouse


    The raid and scsi drivers are built into the kernel.

    And this is my menu.lst

    Code:
    title  Ubuntu, kernel 2.6.10-6-686-smp
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel   /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.10-6-686-smp  root=/dev/sda1  ro quiet  splash
    initrd   /boot/initrd.img-2.6.10-6-6786-smp
    savedefault
    boot

    Here's may device.map

    Code:
    (hd0)    /dev/sda
    Is there a way I can wipe the MBR in linux or do I need to use a DOS boot disk? If thats the case I don't think dos can see the scsi drives.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Somewhere, Texas
    Posts
    9,628
    I'm running SLES9 on a (few) PowerEdges without any problems. Check the boot devices in the BIOS and make sure it's booting from the raid.

    For compairison, here's my menu.lst and device.map
    Code:
    cat /boot/grub/menu.lst
    # Modified by YaST2. Last modification on Mon Jun 12 18:06:14 2006
    
    
    color white/blue black/light-gray
    default 0
    timeout 8
    gfxmenu (hd0,1)/boot/message
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: linux###
    title Linux
        kernel (hd0,1)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda2 vga=0x317 selinux=0 splash=silent console=tty0 resume=/dev/sda1 elevator=cfq showopts
        initrd (hd0,1)/boot/initrd
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: floppy###
    title Floppy
        root (fd0)
        chainloader +1
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: failsafe###
    title Failsafe
        kernel (hd0,1)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda2 showopts ide=nodma apm=off acpi=off vga=normal noresume selinux=0 barrier=off iommu=noforce maxcpus=0  3
        initrd (hd0,1)/boot/initrd
    Code:
    cat /boot/grub/device.map
    (hd0)   /dev/sda
    (fd0)   /dev/fd0
    This was a very straight forward install and not much was changed for installing, just booted from the install DVD and was done.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    876
    Icarus

    Thanks for the reply I've made sure that I set the bios to boot to scsi, makes no change at all. I'm tring a full install of Ubuntu 5.10 to see if it will work, but already I have my doubts.

    If I boot to the floppy all I have to do is give the command root (hd0,0) enter and then hit Esc it will put me at the boot menu, and from there its a normal boot. Guess I'll just keep lookin for the answer.

    Thanks again
    Dan

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Posts
    2,983
    I don't use RAID and couldn't comment how Grub would see your RAID5 disks.

    You have confirmed that the /boot/grub/device.map looks OK to you. How about verifying it with another check? While in a Grub prompt after booting by a Grub floppy type
    Code:
    geometry (hd0)
    geometry (hd1)
    geometry (hd2)
    geometry (hd3)
    to see if Grub sees the 4 disks as the way you expected.

    In your case I would boot into Ubuntu using the method that works, then do a
    Code:
    sudo grub-install /dev/sda
    The above is just another way of putting Grub into the MBR except you are inside Ubuntu and so no need to tell Grub where is the root partition.

    Can you confirm if you could boot Ubuntu manually in a Grub prompt by ?
    Code:
    root (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1
    boot

    or ?
    Code:
    root (hd0,0)
    configfile /boot/grub/menu.lst
    Lastly if nothing works then you can always delete the stage1, stage1.5 and stage2 files in /boot/grub directory. You then locate the virgin files by Bash command
    Code:
    find / -name stage1
    you can copy from this new found directory the Grub's stage files into /boot/grub directory and do a "grub-install" or "root"+setup" again.
    Last edited by saikee; 09-20-2006 at 02:59 PM.
    Linux user started Jun 2004 - No. 361921
    Using a Linux live CD to clone XP
    To install Linux and keep Windows MBR untouched
    Adding extra Linux & Doing it in a lazy way
    A Grub menu booting 100+ systems & A "Howto" to install and boot 145 systems
    Just cloning tips Just booting tips A collection of booting tips

    Judge asked Linux "You are being charged murdering Windoze by stabbing its heart with a weapon, what was it?" Replied Linux "A Live CD"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •