Ubuntu ... french to english

Thread: Ubuntu ... french to english

Question Ubuntu ... french to english

as a complete newbie to linux, how do I change the language from French to English.
    I know I have to go to Applications/Terminal & type in one of these >

dpkg-reconfigure locales (got this far with a list of languages)
    and edit /etc/environment (just get an error in a language I cant understand)

now thats easy to say but what "exactly" do I need to type

"ubuntu 6.6 / gnome"

once helped with this problem I will be back for more

ps...I thought Linux was seen as a rival to Windows? but having to install/uninstall & do virtually anything else using effectively a version of "dos" I wont hold my breath to see it go anywhere near Windows in my lifetime
    Last edited by shacker; 07-25-2007 at 11:40 AM.

apt-get install locales
    Open a terminal window and type that command prefixed with sudo, like so sudo apt-get install locales you will be prompt for a passwd.

dpkg-reconfigure locales
    Same thing here, although Ubuntu I think gives you a grace time after the first sudo is used. So if dpkg-reconfigure locales doesn't work prefix it with sudo.

edit /etc/environment
    When you use dpkg-reconfigure it should edit /etc/environment, if it doesn't use Ubuntu's default editor nano and do it manualy.
    sudo nano /etc/environment

Hope that helps.

I have managed all of that so far but how do I change the language from "french to English"

now thats easy to say but what "exactly" do I need to type to change to English

tried & tried various ways but still cant do it, I assume you have to learn "dos" all over again to use Linux..seems to be a backward step using Linux & certainly not the way forward...

its back to windows for me...
    thanks for your help Rangerman
    Last edited by shacker; 07-25-2007 at 09:35 AM.

I assume you have to learn "dos" all over again to use Linux
    its back to windows for me...
    Isn't dos windows?