alsamixer - missing 'mix', 'bass', 'trebble' devices


Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: alsamixer - missing 'mix', 'bass', 'trebble' devices

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    in the Bash shell.
    Posts
    193

    alsamixer - missing 'mix', 'bass', 'trebble' devices

    sound works just fine, as far as I know it's configured properly, I just don't have all the devices I should have in alsamixer.

    system info: http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=a5...3ca7185d7bf63d

    my system: http://www.obsessable.com/laptop/asus-g50vt-x1/specs/
    Registered Linux User #383705 - http://counter.li.org/
    laptop pentium16 1400ghz Gentoo 2012.1 e23/kde6.0
    desktop pentium16 1500ghz Debian 5.01

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vladivostok, Russia
    Posts
    9,052
    List the devices you think should be there?
    "I was pulled over for speeding today. The officer said, "Don't you know
    the speed limit is 55 miles an hour?" And I said, "Yes, but I wasn't going
    to be out that long."

    How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
    COME VISIT ME IN RUSSIA NOW!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    in the Bash shell.
    Posts
    193
    they're in the title.


    mix input, bass and trebble output.
    Registered Linux User #383705 - http://counter.li.org/
    laptop pentium16 1400ghz Gentoo 2012.1 e23/kde6.0
    desktop pentium16 1500ghz Debian 5.01

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vladivostok, Russia
    Posts
    9,052
    "I was pulled over for speeding today. The officer said, "Don't you know
    the speed limit is 55 miles an hour?" And I said, "Yes, but I wasn't going
    to be out that long."

    How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
    COME VISIT ME IN RUSSIA NOW!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    in the Bash shell.
    Posts
    193
    Ok I found the problem, the "tone" switch wasn't selected, as soon as I selected it the bass and treble kicked into gear.
    thanks. though I'm not sure what a "tone switch" is or where to find it. I see nothing like that in alsamixer.
    Registered Linux User #383705 - http://counter.li.org/
    laptop pentium16 1400ghz Gentoo 2012.1 e23/kde6.0
    desktop pentium16 1500ghz Debian 5.01

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vladivostok, Russia
    Posts
    9,052
    "I was pulled over for speeding today. The officer said, "Don't you know
    the speed limit is 55 miles an hour?" And I said, "Yes, but I wasn't going
    to be out that long."

    How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
    COME VISIT ME IN RUSSIA NOW!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    in the Bash shell.
    Posts
    193
    I think the guy in your first link had the meters available but just didn't work. mine aren't there at all.

    the second link describes "tone" as being another meter next to Master, and I don't have that either.
    Registered Linux User #383705 - http://counter.li.org/
    laptop pentium16 1400ghz Gentoo 2012.1 e23/kde6.0
    desktop pentium16 1500ghz Debian 5.01

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vladivostok, Russia
    Posts
    9,052
    Maybe a screen shot of your reference and your disto and version.
    "I was pulled over for speeding today. The officer said, "Don't you know
    the speed limit is 55 miles an hour?" And I said, "Yes, but I wasn't going
    to be out that long."

    How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
    COME VISIT ME IN RUSSIA NOW!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    in the Bash shell.
    Posts
    193
    Registered Linux User #383705 - http://counter.li.org/
    laptop pentium16 1400ghz Gentoo 2012.1 e23/kde6.0
    desktop pentium16 1500ghz Debian 5.01

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    in the Bash shell.
    Posts
    193
    it would just be really nice to be able to control bass and trebble output.

    and to be able to record from "mix" (primarily what plays over speakers)

    basic features.. missing. they must be enable-able somehow.
    Registered Linux User #383705 - http://counter.li.org/
    laptop pentium16 1400ghz Gentoo 2012.1 e23/kde6.0
    desktop pentium16 1500ghz Debian 5.01

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vladivostok, Russia
    Posts
    9,052
    Run through this thread and maybe you will hopefully find your solution.
    The problem is usually not with ALSA or Linux but with the chip mfg's not supporting Linux in a timely manner....usually 6 months behind.

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=6589810
    "I was pulled over for speeding today. The officer said, "Don't you know
    the speed limit is 55 miles an hour?" And I said, "Yes, but I wasn't going
    to be out that long."

    How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
    COME VISIT ME IN RUSSIA NOW!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •