My Asus eeePC 1015PN review - Page 2


Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26

Thread: My Asus eeePC 1015PN review

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    boston, mass USA
    Posts
    1,877
    I did install Ubuntu on the internal drive, and no there is no re-install media for Windows 7.

    However http://downloadsquad.switched.com/20...udent-upgrade/ plus http://code.kliu.org/misc/winisoutils/ should let you create 1 master Windows 7 install disk.

    During install it will ask you which version of Windows 7 to install and if you pick the version that matches your OEM key, it should work.

    10.10 is as far as I'll go with Ubuntu. I've tried the Unity interface and hated it. While it was a beta version when I tried, it sucked terribly both in performance and layout.

    The next install for me is a version of Mint, hopefully with gnome 3/shell. From what I've seen, gnome 3/shell by default is setup exactly like my netbook currently is after my personal "additions" (small toolbar, gnome-do, etc etc).
    m1ke_l
    Lenovo x120e (gave my wife the Asus 1015N)http://justlinux.com/forum/showthrea...hreadid=153955
    Fedora 16 (but I haven't settled yet)
    8gigs of RAM (in a NETBOOK!!)
    Boston, MA USA/Wondering

    My dad's website (he'll love the traffic) http://www.cafephotos.net/

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks for these information.
    I do not like Unity either ...
    Perhaps a good opportunity to try Mint ...

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1
    My asus eeepc1015pn will not turn on. When the charger is plugged in, there is no light.
    What can I do?

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    boston, mass USA
    Posts
    1,877
    Try removing the battery and powering up
    m1ke_l
    Lenovo x120e (gave my wife the Asus 1015N)http://justlinux.com/forum/showthrea...hreadid=153955
    Fedora 16 (but I haven't settled yet)
    8gigs of RAM (in a NETBOOK!!)
    Boston, MA USA/Wondering

    My dad's website (he'll love the traffic) http://www.cafephotos.net/

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3
    I have gotten myself a 1015PN and it is awesome, BUT im just missing ONE thing, i cannot play 1080p video (locally not youtube) and i can just play 720p, the problem seems to be that the ION2 will not go to full speed, i can see that it only uses performance mode 0,1 but never 2, and this would make a difference cause of the MUCH higher speeds, now i have not tested win7 cause that would be a very limited OS for me (using ubuntu 10.10, 32Bit), i have tried 10.10 32/64Bit and i just can't seem to get to the 1080p level...

    Anybody got any ideas, i really just need this last step.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    boston, mass USA
    Posts
    1,877
    Yup.

    The issue (I think) is video decoding is going on in software on linux, NOT via the fancy GPU.

    You can try the new VLC, which has the option to do decoding in the GPU, but this is something I struggled with as well....even on my new Lenovo x120e...I have just given up on playing full screen HD video on a Linux netbook.
    m1ke_l
    Lenovo x120e (gave my wife the Asus 1015N)http://justlinux.com/forum/showthrea...hreadid=153955
    Fedora 16 (but I haven't settled yet)
    8gigs of RAM (in a NETBOOK!!)
    Boston, MA USA/Wondering

    My dad's website (he'll love the traffic) http://www.cafephotos.net/

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    boston, mass USA
    Posts
    1,877
    Oh...my other comment is the 1015PN screen isn't 1080p size, so you will NEVER get true 1080p quality.

    The 1015PN screen is only 1024x600, which ISN'T 1080x??? 720? which is what 1080p is.
    m1ke_l
    Lenovo x120e (gave my wife the Asus 1015N)http://justlinux.com/forum/showthrea...hreadid=153955
    Fedora 16 (but I haven't settled yet)
    8gigs of RAM (in a NETBOOK!!)
    Boston, MA USA/Wondering

    My dad's website (he'll love the traffic) http://www.cafephotos.net/

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3
    Well got 1080p working, pretty simple fix, i ONLY use mplayer, i have it set up more AWESOMELY then any other player and i have tried pretty much all of them.

    The FIX:
    Added ppa of dayly builds, since i found out that newer supported multi-thread, then i added the 4x threads to my config and 1080p is just running and running VERY good i might add.

    To those that think that it is irrelevant to could play 1080p, remember that the 1015 has HDMI out and i tested this just now, i used desperate X, giving me a full Desktop on my 27" FullHD screen, and it just works, set the RES to 1920x1080 and it just blasts 1080p Video's, i have unfortunately not tested HDMI audio out since my 27 is a PC screen and does not have speakers... But first chance i get i will test it on a screen at a freinds house, and post results here

    My "config" under "/home/*user*/.mplayer"
    Code:
    lavdopts=threads=4 #4 threads instead of only 1
    ao=sdl #sdl audio output, nice and fast
    vo=gl #OpenGL video output, runs fastest on the 1015PN
    fs=0 #set to 1 for open in fullscreen
    brightness=0 #reset brightness
    hue=0 #reset hue
    contrast=0 #reset contrast
    geometry=100%:100% #opens mplayer windows in the right bottom corner
    xy=300 #sets the windows size to 300 in width
    ontop=1 #window always on top
    NOW, the last thing i need from my 1015PN is to be able to use Performance Level 2 (third level) so the ION2 is running top speed, this should give some extra performance in games, games are running pretty ok, minecraft gets 20-35fps.
    And this is the absolutely last thing i need, this is seriously one sweet netbook.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1

    Circumstance

    Been using XBMC on the 1015PN with an HDMI cable to tv for better part of a year now.
    It does 1080p fine that way.

    Quote Originally Posted by happybunny View Post
    Oh...my other comment is the 1015PN screen isn't 1080p size, so you will NEVER get true 1080p quality.

    The 1015PN screen is only 1024x600, which ISN'T 1080x??? 720? which is what 1080p is.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    boston, mass USA
    Posts
    1,877
    good point about an external monitor.

    I could never get the sound to route out the hdmi port so that didn't come up much for me.

    I still have that issue on my new Lenovo and Fedora.

    I'll check my .mplayer config and see if HD videos play better on my Lenovo (I have since given up my 1015PN to my wife).
    m1ke_l
    Lenovo x120e (gave my wife the Asus 1015N)http://justlinux.com/forum/showthrea...hreadid=153955
    Fedora 16 (but I haven't settled yet)
    8gigs of RAM (in a NETBOOK!!)
    Boston, MA USA/Wondering

    My dad's website (he'll love the traffic) http://www.cafephotos.net/

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3
    just remember to adjust the "threads=" to the number of threads on the CPU, the 1015PN have 4, many others generally have 2, and then there are my 701 & 900 they have 1 so no gain there

    But on the 1015PN it makes the difference of barely running 720p (1280x720) to running 1080p (1920x1080), thou on some HIGH encoded 1080p there can be chops...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •