Dual Booting Linux - Windows

Thread: Dual Booting Linux - Windows

Dual Booting Linux - Windows

Hello everyone! Im fairly new to Linux and I have purchased a load of new Distros. I will be installing quite a few on friends and families laptops and I just wondered which of the following Distros I have will and will not allow you to install the Linux OS alongside windows automatically (i.e when installing it gives you the option to boot alongside windows)...

I don't want to risk wiping the Windows OS so Im a bit anxious to just go ahead and install them and also I dont want to have to set up partitions and install GRUB etc manually?

Arch Linux Core Dual 19.08.11
    Qimo 2.0
    Centos 6.2
    Debian 6.0
    Ubuntu 12.1
    Fedora 17
    Mint 13 Mate
    OpenSuse 12.2 KDE
    PCLinuxOS Full Monty KDE
    Knoppix 6.7.1
    Ultimate Edition

Many thanks

Kelvin

My advice is "be careful!"
    I know that some of those distros listed gives an option to install Linux side-by-side, but do you dare trust that it always works?
    I strongly recommend you to try it out on a test-computer before risking friends and families laptops!
    If something goes wrong you'll need knowledge to fix it - or you'll find yourself out of friends...
    You don't need a fancy 'puter for testing, a 10 year old is good enough to start with.

Well, that's my advice. But to also answer your question, these are distros I believe have an option to install side-by-side:
    Centos
    Debian 6 (... hmm maybe you need to do the partitioning manually, can't remember.)
    Ubuntu
    Mint
    OpenSuse
    Probably PCLinux but never used it.

The rest I don't know.
    Last edited by x; 11-28-2012 at 02:11 PM. Reason: Spelling
    In pingvino veritas!