Installing mint


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Installing mint

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    196

    Installing mint

    On my PC I had vista. I then made it dual boot with Mandriva.
    I then replaced Mandriva with Oracle Linux (long story) and then dual boot stopped working.
    I tried to install Mint and everything stopped working.
    I rescued vista (the PC works again!!!).
    However I would like to use Linux and windows.
    When I use Mint live drive and do sudo fdisk -l
    I get
    Code:
    sudo  fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders, total 976773168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x70000000
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1              63      128519       64228+   6  FAT16
    /dev/sda2          129024    21100543    10485760    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda3   *    21100544   497452724   238176090+   7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda4       497452786   976768064   239657639+   5  Extended
    /dev/sda5       497452788   497661569      104391   83  Linux
    /dev/sda6       497661633   976768064   239553216   8e  Linux LVM
    
    Disk /dev/sdb: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders, total 1953525168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x75e28ca9
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdb1              63      128519       64228+   6  FAT16
    /dev/sdb2          128520    21109409    10490445    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sdb3   *    21109410   497468789   238179690    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sdb4       497468851  1953523711   728027430+   5  Extended
    /dev/sdb5       497468853  1235662257   369096702+  8e  Linux LVM
    /dev/sdb6      1235662848  1953523711   358930432   83  Linux
    I am standing as a candidate in the UK general election for UKIP find out why www.ukip.org and also http://www.theregister.co.uk/2005/03/01/ec_rebuffs_parliament/.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Posts
    2,956
    Your hard disk information tells us that you have two physical drives; one 500Gb and another 1Tb. Unless you intervene the smaller drive would boot first according its position in the bios as it has been assigned as sda meaning it is the first in the booting queue.

    Both sda abd sdb have 3 Windows partitions but the first is Fat16 and is so small that it can only be vendor's partition for drivers and not much use for other things. The 2nd and 3rd would have the Vista inside. Since both hard disks have about the same size MS Windows partitions the second drive could be a back up drive.

    You have a Linux in each of sda and sdb but the one in sdb is much larger. Only you would know which has Mandriva and which has Mint.

    I would put my money on Mandriva in sda since this is your first Linux according to your first post.

    Unless you have damaged Mandriva and Mint, which will take some doing, you should be able to triple boot Vista, Mandriva and Mint.

    Assuming you have installed Mint properly and it has a Grub2 configuration inside /boot/grub directory called grub.cfg which you could check with a terminal in Mint while running it as a Live CD as follow
    Code:
    sudo su
    mkdir /mnt/sdb6
    mount /dev/sdb6 /mnt/sdb6
    ls /mnt/sdb6
    cat /mnt/sdb6/boot/grub/grub.cfg
    If you do have the grub.cfg as indicated above you can restore Mint's Grub immediately as follow
    Code:
    mount --bind /dev /mnt/sdb6/dev
    grub-install --root-directory=/mnt/sdb6 /dev/sda
    The above will restore Grub2 of Mint to the MBR of sda thereby booting up Mint's menu if you reboot.

    If you run into any problem of the above commands report back the error message.

    Every operating system's boot loader can be restored by its installation CD/DVD.

    My Mandriva is a 2010 version and I specified Lilo. Its last 2011 version still used Grub1 which could be your choice of the boot loader in sda5. Therefore if you have difficulty post the output of /boot/grub/menu.lst in sda5 and /boot/grub/grub.cfg in sdb6.

    You have used LVM for Mandriva and Mint. None of the Linux boot loaders can read a LVM so your Mandriva boot loader has to be in sda5 and for Mint it is in sdb6.

    If you lose the Vista bootmge boot loader don't panic as it can be restored just as easy. For minimum work use Linux to triple boot. Using bootmgr is between 3 to 5 times more work.
    Last edited by saikee; 12-20-2012 at 06:11 PM.
    Linux user started Jun 2004 - No. 361921
    Using a Linux live CD to clone XP
    To install Linux and keep Windows MBR untouched
    Adding extra Linux & Doing it in a lazy way
    A Grub menu booting 100+ systems & A "Howto" to install and boot 145 systems
    Just cloning tips Just booting tips A collection of booting tips

    Judge asked Linux "You are being charged murdering Windoze by stabbing its heart with a weapon, what was it?" Replied Linux "A Live CD"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    196
    Thanks for that. I would like to get rid of Mandriva (and the space it has) so that I can use the space for vista and mint. How do I do that?
    I am standing as a candidate in the UK general election for UKIP find out why www.ukip.org and also http://www.theregister.co.uk/2005/03/01/ec_rebuffs_parliament/.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Posts
    2,956
    just use fdisk.

    Code:
    sudo fdisk /dev/sda
    use d to delete, specify the partition number and confirm with w (to write the new partition table).

    You can either delete partition 4 and the logical partition 5 & 6 will be gone automatically or delete 6, 5 & 4. I assume your Mandriva is in sda as only you would know where. If you are not sure post here the content of /boot of sda5.

    One the partitions gone the space is unallocated. Use Vista's disk management to expand the partition to take up the space. Vista can do this in seconds. The other method is to use gparted in Linux but Vista's version is the fastest.
    Last edited by saikee; 12-21-2012 at 03:32 PM.
    Linux user started Jun 2004 - No. 361921
    Using a Linux live CD to clone XP
    To install Linux and keep Windows MBR untouched
    Adding extra Linux & Doing it in a lazy way
    A Grub menu booting 100+ systems & A "Howto" to install and boot 145 systems
    Just cloning tips Just booting tips A collection of booting tips

    Judge asked Linux "You are being charged murdering Windoze by stabbing its heart with a weapon, what was it?" Replied Linux "A Live CD"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    196

    oops

    Thanks for the quick response.
    I would tried it earlier but
    a) I had to get presents for Christmas
    b) I am always very nervous with operating system stuff on my PC.

    That didn't quite work.
    I did from the live cd
    Code:
    sudo su
    mint mint # /mnt/sdb6
    bash: /mnt/sdb6: No such file or directory
    mint mint # mkdir /mnt/sdb6
    mint mint # mount /dev/sdb6 /mnt/sdb6/
    mint mint # ls /mnt/sdb6/
    bin   etc         initrd.img.old  media  proc  sbin     sys  var
    boot  home        lib             mnt    root  selinux  tmp  vmlinuz
    dev   initrd.img  lost+found      opt    run   srv      usr
    As grub wasn't there I then did
    Code:
     find . -name grub.cfg
    mint mint # find /mnt/sdb6/ . -name grub
    /mnt/sdb6/etc/bash_completion.d/grub
    /mnt/sdb6/etc/default/grub
    /mnt/sdb6/boot/grub
    /mnt/sdb6/lib/recovery-mode/options/grub
    /mnt/sdb6/usr/lib/grub
    ^C
    mint mint # ^C
    mint mint # grub-install --root-directory=/mnt/sdb6/boot/grub /dev/sda
    error: unknown LVM metadata header.
    grub-probe: error: cannot find a device for /boot (is /dev mounted?).
    error: unknown LVM metadata header.
    error: unknown LVM metadata header.
    error: unknown LVM metadata header.
    error: unknown LVM metadata header.
    error: unknown LVM metadata header.
    error: unknown LVM metadata header.
    error: unknown LVM metadata header.
    Installation finished. No error reported.
    Now I turned on my PC and I just got a grub prompt nothing else.
    Can anyone help?
    I am standing as a candidate in the UK general election for UKIP find out why www.ukip.org and also http://www.theregister.co.uk/2005/03/01/ec_rebuffs_parliament/.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Posts
    2,956
    A grub prompt is one of the best sign in Linux to me because you now in a position to talk to Grub directly yourself. Since I went into Linux there has not been an installed operating system that cannot be fired up by a Grub prompt!

    What can be established now are

    (1) The device /dev/sdb6 has grub.cfg inside /boot/grub directory.
    (2) grub.cfg means sdb6 must has a Linux that uses Grub2 as Mandriva according to Distrowatch.com stopped at leagacy Grub (or Grub1) that has the corresponding confihuration file "menu.lst". grub.cfg is exclusively used by Grub2 which is the current boot loader used by Mint.

    My suggestion to you is to fire up your MS Windows with the Grub prompt first. This you can do in a Grub2 prompt (indicated as version 1.x or 2.x at the top of the screen as Grub1 is 0.x) with these command
    Code:
    set root=(hd0,x)
    chainloader +1
    boot
    AT this moment of time not knowing the content of sda1, sda2 & sda3 I suggest you try x=3 and then x=1 or 2.

    Normally A MS Windows boots to an active partition that is always marked with a * as indicated in sda3 of your post #1. My guess is "set root=(hd0,3)" should fire it up and sda1 and sda2 could be hidden once the MS Windows is booted up as it like to operate in the C drive and does not tolerate mounted partition in front to grab the c: drive status.

    Once you get MS Windows working you can try to boot up Linux Mint as follow
    Code:
    set root=(hd1,6)
    linux /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda6 ro
    initrd /initrd.img
    boot
    Let us know the results. If you manage to fire up Mint post here the content of /boot/grub/grub.cfg.

    As I indicated before no boot loader can read a LVM so the kernel vmlinuz and its ram disk file initrs.img has to be place in a separate partition which is not a LVM. IN your case it is sda6. You should therefore able to fire it up manually in a Grub prompt.

    In the booting process Grub is respossible to place the kernel and ram disk files in the memory only and it is up to the kerel, which has the driver, to sort out the LVM.
    Last edited by saikee; 12-27-2012 at 07:35 AM.
    Linux user started Jun 2004 - No. 361921
    Using a Linux live CD to clone XP
    To install Linux and keep Windows MBR untouched
    Adding extra Linux & Doing it in a lazy way
    A Grub menu booting 100+ systems & A "Howto" to install and boot 145 systems
    Just cloning tips Just booting tips A collection of booting tips

    Judge asked Linux "You are being charged murdering Windoze by stabbing its heart with a weapon, what was it?" Replied Linux "A Live CD"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    196
    I have probably done something wrong.
    When I turned on the PC I got the grub prompt (btw it is version 1.99).
    On the first line I type
    Code:
    set root=(hd0,x)
    No problem.

    Then I did
    Code:
    chainloader +1
    It said no partition.

    Any ideas?

    I was going to try earlier but I had a migraine for a day.
    Any ideas?
    I am standing as a candidate in the UK general election for UKIP find out why www.ukip.org and also http://www.theregister.co.uk/2005/03/01/ec_rebuffs_parliament/.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Posts
    2,956
    Code:
    try x=3 and then x=1 or 2
    You can see every partition if you issue this command to Grub
    Code:
    ls -l
    or just
    Code:
    ls
    Linux user started Jun 2004 - No. 361921
    Using a Linux live CD to clone XP
    To install Linux and keep Windows MBR untouched
    Adding extra Linux & Doing it in a lazy way
    A Grub menu booting 100+ systems & A "Howto" to install and boot 145 systems
    Just cloning tips Just booting tips A collection of booting tips

    Judge asked Linux "You are being charged murdering Windoze by stabbing its heart with a weapon, what was it?" Replied Linux "A Live CD"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    196
    well x=3 got into windows.
    Although I still don't have Linux.
    However thanks so much for your help.
    I am standing as a candidate in the UK general election for UKIP find out why www.ukip.org and also http://www.theregister.co.uk/2005/03/01/ec_rebuffs_parliament/.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Posts
    2,956
    I have already provided you with the instructions in Grub prompt on how to boot up Mint! I now amend the instruction to take account of the latest information marked in red.
    Code:
    set root=(hd1,6)
    linux /vmlinuz root=/dev/sdb6 ro
    initrd /initrd.img
    boot
    Once you can fire either system up "manually" let's us know what you wish as a permanent solution.

    Remember once you can tell Grub to boot up several operating systems "manually" you should never have a problem in booting. The above are techniques of booting a MS Windows indirectly (or chainloading) and a Linux directly (by specifying a kernel with the "linux" command) with Grub.
    Last edited by saikee; 01-02-2013 at 10:13 AM.
    Linux user started Jun 2004 - No. 361921
    Using a Linux live CD to clone XP
    To install Linux and keep Windows MBR untouched
    Adding extra Linux & Doing it in a lazy way
    A Grub menu booting 100+ systems & A "Howto" to install and boot 145 systems
    Just cloning tips Just booting tips A collection of booting tips

    Judge asked Linux "You are being charged murdering Windoze by stabbing its heart with a weapon, what was it?" Replied Linux "A Live CD"

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    196
    Quote Originally Posted by saikee View Post
    I have already provided you with the instructions in Grub prompt on how to boot up Mint!

    Once you can fire either system up let's us know what you wish as a permanent solution.
    Sorry I was being dopey. I will try that tonight.
    What I hope to do is get both windows and mint working as dual boot and then I will follow your advice about resizing.
    Thanks for all your help.
    I am standing as a candidate in the UK general election for UKIP find out why www.ukip.org and also http://www.theregister.co.uk/2005/03/01/ec_rebuffs_parliament/.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    196
    I tried
    Code:
    set root=(hd1,6)
    linux /vmlinuz root=/dev/sdb6 ro
    And I got file not found.
    When I did ls from the grub prompt. I got :-
    (hd0) (hd0, msdos6), (hd0, msdos6) (hd0,msdos3) etc.
    None are linux which seems strange to me as when I did fdisk earlier it was all there.
    Any ideas?

    Thanks so much for the help if you ever have any oracle ebs questions please pm me.
    I am standing as a candidate in the UK general election for UKIP find out why www.ukip.org and also http://www.theregister.co.uk/2005/03/01/ec_rebuffs_parliament/.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Posts
    2,956
    It is quite easy to solve your problem because ls is to list the content of the directory. Therefore according to the information provided by you your Linux Mint is in the 2nd hard disk and that is (hd1). The only partition that has the kernel (should be vmlinuz) is the sdb6 so to Grub2 this is (hd1,6) as Grub2 counts disk from zero but for partition it is from one.

    Therefore if you want to see the content of partition sdb6 the command in Grub prompt is
    Code:
    ls -l (hd1,6)
    or
    Code:
    ls -l (hd1,msdos6)
    from the above you can see if vmlinuz and initrd.img are there or not.

    You should be able to see from command "ls -l" all the partitions and the one for sdb6 should be (hd1,msdos6)

    You can also try to boot up Mint by these commands if it has /boot/grub/grub.cfg in sdb6
    Code:
    set root=(hd1,msdos6)
    configfile  /boot/grub/grub.cfg
    When I booted up my Mint13 and list the contents of root directory / I got
    Code:
    Mint13-sda7 saikee # ls /
    bin  boot  dev  etc  home  initrd.img  initrd.img.old  lib  lib64  lost+found  media  mnt  opt  proc  root  run  sbin  selinux  srv  sys  tmp  usr  var  vmlinuz
    It is a Linux standard to make available the latest kernel and called it vmlinuz and the latest ram disk file initrd.img (if used) in the root directory "/" for booting purpose.
    Last edited by saikee; 01-03-2013 at 09:55 PM.
    Linux user started Jun 2004 - No. 361921
    Using a Linux live CD to clone XP
    To install Linux and keep Windows MBR untouched
    Adding extra Linux & Doing it in a lazy way
    A Grub menu booting 100+ systems & A "Howto" to install and boot 145 systems
    Just cloning tips Just booting tips A collection of booting tips

    Judge asked Linux "You are being charged murdering Windoze by stabbing its heart with a weapon, what was it?" Replied Linux "A Live CD"

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    196

    Thank you

    Thank you I can now get into Mint. I am amazed that you managed to fix this
    Although I would rather have grub working properly but this is a big progress.
    Here is my grub file. Do you know how to change it so I can login properly?
    Code:
    #
    # DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
    #
    # It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
    # from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
    #
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
    if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
      set have_grubenv=true
      load_env
    fi
    set default="0"
    if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
      set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
      save_env saved_entry
      set prev_saved_entry=
      save_env prev_saved_entry
      set boot_once=true
    fi
    
    function savedefault {
      if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
        saved_entry="${chosen}"
        save_env saved_entry
      fi
    }
    
    function recordfail {
      set recordfail=1
      if [ -n "${have_grubenv}" ]; then if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then save_env recordfail; fi; fi
    }
    
    function load_video {
      insmod vbe
      insmod vga
      insmod video_bochs
      insmod video_cirrus
    }
    
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd1,msdos6)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 6b60bd14-4d1c-4044-bcc2-152bf5a80ac5
    if loadfont /usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2 ; then
      set gfxmode=auto
      load_video
      insmod gfxterm
      insmod part_msdos
      insmod ext2
      set root='(hd1,msdos6)'
      search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 6b60bd14-4d1c-4044-bcc2-152bf5a80ac5
      set locale_dir=($root)/boot/grub/locale
      set lang=en_GB
      insmod gettext
    fi
    terminal_output gfxterm
    if [ "${recordfail}" = 1 ]; then
      set timeout=-1
    else
      set timeout=10
    fi
    ### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
    set menu_color_normal=white/black
    set menu_color_highlight=black/light-gray
    ### END /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/06_mint_theme ###
    set menu_color_normal=white/black
    set menu_color_highlight=white/light-gray
    ### END /etc/grub.d/06_mint_theme ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
    function gfxmode {
    	set gfxpayload="$1"
    	if [ "$1" = "keep" ]; then
    		set vt_handoff=vt.handoff=7
    	else
    		set vt_handoff=
    	fi
    }
    if [ ${recordfail} != 1 ]; then
      if [ -e ${prefix}/gfxblacklist.txt ]; then
        if hwmatch ${prefix}/gfxblacklist.txt 3; then
          if [ ${match} = 0 ]; then
            set linux_gfx_mode=keep
          else
            set linux_gfx_mode=text
          fi
        else
          set linux_gfx_mode=text
        fi
      else
        set linux_gfx_mode=keep
      fi
    else
      set linux_gfx_mode=text
    fi
    export linux_gfx_mode
    if [ "$linux_gfx_mode" != "text" ]; then load_video; fi
    menuentry 'LinuxMint, with Linux 3.2.0-23-generic' --class linuxmint --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    	recordfail
    	gfxmode $linux_gfx_mode
    	insmod gzio
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd1,msdos6)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 6b60bd14-4d1c-4044-bcc2-152bf5a80ac5
    	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-23-generic root=UUID=6b60bd14-4d1c-4044-bcc2-152bf5a80ac5 ro   quiet splash $vt_handoff
    	initrd	/boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-23-generic
    }
    menuentry 'LinuxMint, with Linux 3.2.0-23-generic (recovery mode)' --class linuxmint --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    	recordfail
    	insmod gzio
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd1,msdos6)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 6b60bd14-4d1c-4044-bcc2-152bf5a80ac5
    	echo	'Loading Linux 3.2.0-23-generic ...'
    	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-23-generic root=UUID=6b60bd14-4d1c-4044-bcc2-152bf5a80ac5 ro recovery nomodeset 
    	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
    	initrd	/boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-23-generic
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_lupin ###
    ### END /etc/grub.d/10_lupin ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
    ### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
    menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+)" {
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd1,msdos6)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 6b60bd14-4d1c-4044-bcc2-152bf5a80ac5
    	linux16	/boot/memtest86+.bin
    }
    menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200)" {
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd1,msdos6)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 6b60bd14-4d1c-4044-bcc2-152bf5a80ac5
    	linux16	/boot/memtest86+.bin console=ttyS0,115200n8
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
    menuentry "Windows Vista (loader) (on /dev/sda3)" --class windows --class os {
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ntfs
    	set root='(hd0,msdos3)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 5E9A9E1E9A9DF32F
    	chainloader +1
    }
    menuentry "LinuxMint, with Linux 3.2.0-23-generic (on /dev/sda6)" --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd0,msdos6)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 4e596377-d3f4-4ef9-b690-940fdb69eb76
    	linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-23-generic root=/dev/sda6 ro quiet splash $vt_handoff
    	initrd /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-23-generic
    }
    menuentry "LinuxMint, with Linux 3.2.0-23-generic (recovery mode) (on /dev/sda6)" --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd0,msdos6)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 4e596377-d3f4-4ef9-b690-940fdb69eb76
    	linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-23-generic root=/dev/sda6 ro recovery nomodeset
    	initrd /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-23-generic
    }
    menuentry "Windows Vista (loader) (on /dev/sdb3)" --class windows --class os {
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ntfs
    	set root='(hd1,msdos3)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 5E9A9E1E9A9DF32F
    	chainloader +1
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
    # This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
    # menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
    # the 'exec tail' line above.
    ### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
    if [ -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
      source $prefix/custom.cfg;
    fi
    ### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
    I am standing as a candidate in the UK general election for UKIP find out why www.ukip.org and also http://www.theregister.co.uk/2005/03/01/ec_rebuffs_parliament/.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Posts
    2,956
    Your grub.cfg confirms Mint is in the sdb6 and your Windows is in sda3 but probably not all booting choices are bootable.

    You can restore Mint's Grub in the MBR of the first disk sda after booting up Grub with the Live CD. The commands are
    Code:
    sudo su
    mkdir /mnt/dude_said_mount_here
    mount /dev/sdb6 /mnt/dude_said_mount_here
    mount --bind /dev  /mnt/dude_said_mount_here/dev
    grub-install /dev/sda
    What I did was to ask you make a subdirectory /mnt/dud_said_mount_here and mount the device /dev/sdb6 there. You then bind the /dev of the boot-up Linux with the mounted /dev of Linux Mint (so that Grub can find the required devices, not always needed by good practice to include) and then ask Grub to restore itself in device /devsda which has no partition number and so for the whole disk which means its MBR.

    if Grub doesn't complains then you shall see the Grub booting menu after a reboot which you can trigger at the terminal by
    Code:
    reboot
    My guess is your Mint should fire up by choice No. 1 and Windows by Choice No. 5 (one immediately after the memory test choices of No. 3 & 4)

    Lest us know if this is how you want in the end. You could edit grub.cfg to remove the unwanted choices in future.
    Last edited by saikee; 01-05-2013 at 08:41 PM.
    Linux user started Jun 2004 - No. 361921
    Using a Linux live CD to clone XP
    To install Linux and keep Windows MBR untouched
    Adding extra Linux & Doing it in a lazy way
    A Grub menu booting 100+ systems & A "Howto" to install and boot 145 systems
    Just cloning tips Just booting tips A collection of booting tips

    Judge asked Linux "You are being charged murdering Windoze by stabbing its heart with a weapon, what was it?" Replied Linux "A Live CD"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •