finding a "tab" with grep

Thread: finding a "tab" with grep

finding a "tab" with grep

Hey folks, another linux/unix newbie here trying to get some basics down. I cant seem to find out how to search for a "tab" using the grep command. Here are some things ive tried so far:
    grep '<tab>' filename
    grep '(actually hitting tab here)' filename
    grep '/t' filename
    grep '\t' filename
    grep '[[:space:]]' filename
    etc etc.
    Does anyone know what the proper way to search for a tab is? The actual reason i need it is of course much more complicated than this example but just knowing how to find tab would be enough. Thanks a ton!

--Morphman, Linux Newbie

You may be able to just use the ASCII code for tab somehow. Just a thought. There probably is a cleaner way. Heh, I'm actually kinda surprised the '(actually hitting tab here)' didn't work.

I don't know how to do it with grep but you can use perl to make a really simple grep like program that will allow tabs. \t is the perl regex for tab.
    Code:
    #!/usr/bin/perl -w
    #
    use strict;

my($pattern, $filename) = @ARGV;

open (FIND, $filename) ||
            die "Can't open filename: $!";

while (<FIND> ) {
            $pattern =~ s/\"//g;

if(/$pattern/) {
                    print $_;
            }
    }

exit 0;
    just save and chmod it and use it like grep.

./program pattern filename

[ 18 April 2002: Message edited by: debiandude ]
    Get my public gpg key

I posted a reply to your thread in General... If you have awk you can use

awk '/\t/' file_name

to "grep" for tab

[ 18 April 2002: Message edited by: marvin ]

I also replied back in the general forum. It does in fact work for awk but i need to make substitutions with sed actually so it complicates things. Is there a way to pipeline the output from awk into sed and change it that way? It would be easiest to see my other post