Serious Bootup Problem


Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 39

Thread: Serious Bootup Problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    720

    Question Serious Bootup Problem

    Hi,

    I really need help this time because I can't bootup my laptop (fails even in rescue mode!). When I boot up to my old kernel 2.2.14 and my new kernel 2.4.9, I get:

    ==
    INIT: cannot execute "/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit"
    INIT: cannot execute "/sbin/mingetty" (About 10 more lines of this)
    INIT: Id "1" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
    INIT: Id "2" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
    /* again getting the same mingetty errors about 10 times more */

    INIT: Id "3" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
    .
    .
    .
    INIT: Id "6" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
    ==

    When I do a CTRL-ALT-DEL, I get "INIT: cannot execute /etc/rc.d/rc". From my experience, I only know something went wrong with the initscript but I cannot even go to rescue mode ...

    HELP!!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    4,031
    What's your distro?

    Check the rescue section of the howtos and search your distro's site for rescue recovery as their rescue is designed for their setup.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    720
    Sorry, I think I can rescue because I forgot to put in my floppy
    just now

    Distro: RedHat 6.2

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    4,031

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    720
    Originally posted by fancypiper
    From under the red brim
    Thanks ...
    But I do know how to rescue RedHat 6.2.
    By the way, that link is broken

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    4,031

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    720
    My findings:

    /etc/rc.d/sysinit is there and is executable.
    /etc/rc is a symlink to /etc/rc.d/ and is executable.
    But /etc/mingetty isn't there!

    Where can I find this mingetty back?

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    4,031
    I think that mingetty is the programs that make the virtual terminals. Did you hack rc.sysinit? I use Redhat 7.2 and mine is a script. Back up /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit by naming it to something else and copy my script and see if it will work for you.

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    #
    # /etc/rc.sysinit - run once at boot time
    #
    # Taken in part from Miquel van Smoorenburg's bcheckrc.
    #
    
    # Rerun ourselves through initlog
    if [ -z "$IN_INITLOG" ]; then
     [ -f /sbin/initlog ] && exec /sbin/initlog $INITLOG_ARGS -r /etc/rc.sysinit
    fi
    
    # If we're using devfs, start devfsd now - we need the old device names
    [ -e /dev/.devfsd -a -x /sbin/devfsd ] && /sbin/devfsd /dev
    
    # Set the path
    PATH=/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin
    export PATH
    
    HOSTNAME=`/bin/hostname`
    
    # Read in config data.
    if [ -f /etc/sysconfig/network ]; then
        . /etc/sysconfig/network
    else
        NETWORKING=no
    fi
    
    if [ -z "$HOSTNAME" -o "$HOSTNAME" = "(none)" ]; then
        HOSTNAME=localhost
    fi
    
    # Source functions
    . /etc/init.d/functions
    
    # Print a banner. ;)
    echo -en $"\t\t\tWelcome to "
    [ "$BOOTUP" != "serial" ] && echo -en $"\\033[1;31m"
    echo -en $"Red Hat"
    [ "$BOOTUP" != "serial" ] && echo -en $"\\033[0;39m"
    echo $" Linux"
    if [ "$PROMPT" != "no" ]; then
     echo -en $"\t\tPress 'I' to enter interactive startup."
     echo
     sleep 1
    fi
    
    # Fix console loglevel
    /bin/dmesg -n $LOGLEVEL
    
    # Mount /proc (done here so volume labels can work with fsck)
    
    action $"Mounting proc filesystem: " mount -n -t proc /proc /proc
    
    # Unmount the initrd, if necessary
    if grep -q /initrd /proc/mounts && ! grep -q /initrd/loopfs /proc/mounts ; then
       action $"Unmounting initrd: " umount /initrd
       /sbin/blockdev --flushbufs /dev/ram0 >/dev/null 2>&1
    fi
    
    # Configure kernel parameters
    
    action $"Configuring kernel parameters: " sysctl -e -p /etc/sysctl.conf
    
    # Set the system clock.
    ARC=0
    SRM=0
    UTC=0
    
    if [ -f /etc/sysconfig/clock ]; then
       . /etc/sysconfig/clock
    
       # convert old style clock config to new values
       if [ "${CLOCKMODE}" = "GMT" ]; then
          UTC=true
       elif [ "${CLOCKMODE}" = "ARC" ]; then
          ARC=true
       fi
    fi
    
    CLOCKDEF=""
    CLOCKFLAGS="$CLOCKFLAGS --hctosys"
    
    case "$UTC" in
       yes|true)
        CLOCKFLAGS="$CLOCKFLAGS --utc";
        CLOCKDEF="$CLOCKDEF (utc)";
       ;;
       no|false)
        CLOCKFLAGS="$CLOCKFLAGS --localtime";
        CLOCKDEF="$CLOCKDEF (localtime
    There is a bug in the bbs code and the wink emoticon is actually a semicolon and right parentheses. I'll attach a txt file in next post
    Last edited by fancypiper; 07-27-2002 at 06:25 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    4,031
    Check that all directories in the path and the rc.sysinit all are chmod 755 and owned by root.root

    /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit file attached
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by fancypiper; 07-27-2002 at 06:32 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    720
    Originally posted by fancypiper
    Did you hack rc.sysinit?
    No
    I have save your attachment in floppy but I don't know why I
    cannot mount it in rescue mode. (I have mounted it but when
    I went to the folder, nothing is there!)

    Thanks anyway.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    4,031
    I finally traced down the page you need at redhat and it is also on your install CD in the docs directory, I think.

    I installed 6.1 and it had the docs directory and I think when I upgraded, it was on the 6.2 cd.

    Floppy page.

    If you have access to a printer, maybe printing the rescue proceedure out will help.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    720
    Originally posted by fancypiper
    I finally traced down the page you need at redhat and it is also on your install CD in the docs directory, I think.
    I saw this before a year ago and I think I did it the right way.
    This is how I rescue it.

    /* After inserting floppy, CD and type "linux rescue" */

    ==
    # mkdir /mnt/linux

    # mount /dev/hda2 /mnt/linux
    /* /dev/hda2 is my ext2 partition */

    # chroot /mnt/linux
    chroot: cannot execute /bin/bash: Not a directory

    # ls -l /mnt
    /* reports /mnt/linux is indeed a directory so I just ignore chroot and continue to cd to etc/rc.sysinit */

    ==


    Floppy page.

    If you have access to a printer, maybe printing the rescue proceedure out will help.
    This is how I tried to mount the floppy:

    ==
    /*cd to /mnt/linux/mnt where /mnt/linux is ext2 partition*/

    # mount floppy ../dev/fd0

    # ls -l floppy
    total 0

    # whoami
    /* command not found so I assume I'm the root now*/

    # gpasswd -a root floppy
    sh: gpasswd: command not found

    ==

    Yes, I can only access printer through Windows and my ink cartridge is empty

    (Wow, you got just promoted to morons. Congratulations )
    Last edited by mingshun; 07-28-2002 at 02:03 AM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    4,031
    After you chroot /mnt/linux, try ls -a, can you see your root directory like this?
    Code:
    [root@fancypiper /]# ls -a
    .   .autofsck  boot  etc   initrd  lost+found  mnt  proc  sbin  usr
    ..  bin        dev   home  lib     misc        opt  root  tmp   var
    Last edited by fancypiper; 07-28-2002 at 02:17 AM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    720
    Originally posted by fancypiper
    After you chroot /mnt/linux, try cd /mnt/linux and ls -a, can you see your root directory?
    No, I can't chroot (see my posting above).
    But yes, I can see etc, proc, mnt and all those stuff.
    When I mount the same way for floppy, I can't see any files.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    4,031
    You won't let me finish editing!

    Ok, assuming you are chroot /mnt/linux

    Lets see if something works. try
    Code:
    mc
    If it launches, we have sucessfully gotten into the system so that we can work on it.

    I think you have to
    Code:
    mount /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy
    to mount the floppy, then you can use mc or the bash cd to navigate.

    From the
    Linux Newbie Administrator Guide:

    Floppy. I can mount my floppy (as root) with:
    mount -t auto /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy
    Again, make sure that the directory /mnt/floppy exists and is empty. Also, /mnt/floppy/ cannot be your current directory.
    After a successful mount, the files from the floppy appear in the directory /mnt/floppy/ . All the users will be able to read the files, but only root will be able to modify/delete the files. Please read further if you wanted the users to be able to write to the floppy.
    To unmount a floppy (you *must* do this before ejecting the disk!) use:
    umount /mnt/floppy
    If you cannot unmount because "the device is busy", perhaps the /mnt/floppy/ directory is your current directory. Exit it by typing (for example):
    cd

    I am crossing my fingers, now let me proof read..
    Last edited by fancypiper; 07-28-2002 at 02:45 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •