FTP SuSE 8.2 installation - failure

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: FTP SuSE 8.2 installation - failure

Unhappy FTP SuSE 8.2 installation - failure

Hello,

I'm a newbie trying to do an FTP SuSE 8.2 installation (rather than buying the boxed personal edition). I haven't tried any other distros, I read a good review of SuSE 8.2 on www.register.co.uk so I thought I'd give it a go. My PC currently has Win98 on it and the desired end result is a dual boot system. I am using a 150Kb cable connection (NTL in England is the service provider) connected via a USB port rather than an Ethernet network card (this setup works fine in Win98).

I've outlined what I've done so far below. The problem I'm having is that I'm getting to the YaST2 screen and it's hanging on me. If anyone can offer some suggestions they'd be most appreciated !

Graza

1 Two physical harddisks (c: and d: drives)
    2 c: fully backed up onto d
    3 c: defragged
    4 FIPS (from a bootdisk) used to split c into two partitions (c: drive 4.5 GB, d: drive 4.5 GB)
    5 Boot.iso image downloaded by FTP from a SuSE mirror and burned onto CD using NERO software
    6 PC rebooted, BIOS set to boot from CD ROM
    7 PC rebooted, boots successfully using the Boot.iso into SuSE installation screen
    8 Various options presented, e.g. Installation, Safe Installation, Installation without ACPI
    9 I chose Manual installation, it then loads Linux kernel successfully
    10 Now in the Linuxrc (?) screen
    11 Chose Load kernal modules, Load USB modules
    12 I then load up OHCI and Pegasus II USB modules (unless I do this my USB cable connection doesn't work)
    13 I then unload SCSI CD ROM module as not needed, ATAPI CD ROM module is left loaded as I need it, there's also 2 file system modules loaded (can't remember their names)
    14 I then go back to the first menu, start network installation