Dialing ISP?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dialing ISP?

Question Dialing ISP?

ok, Im a Real newbie. I Have Only been Messing with Linux about 2 Weeks now. I Just Installed RH 9 on my PC and after ALOT of Work got it to see my Darn Speedtouch USB Modem... Now Im down to a Stupid Question....

My ISP requires me to Dial A # to connect to them... Where do I Put that # for my modem (USB DSL) to dial?

I Might Just be Overlooking it. I Have a Headache from Fighting with this Darn Modem.

thanks in advance.

P.S. the Forums here have been a GREAT help on setting up the modem=)

I Looked there, It only Offers you to Put in a # for a Dial Up Modem. Not a DSL modem. I Cant find any Info On ADSL #'s.

My Modem isnot like a cable Modem (Allways On) it Has to "Dial" out like a Reg 56K Modem Does. But it Connects at 1.4... bla, bla, bla....

I Need to find a Spot to Install a Phone # for the DSL #

=)

thanks Again

i use dial up and dont have any experience DSL modems, unfortunatley but i found you some info here

http://en.tldp.org/HOWTO/DSL-HOWTO/

http://www.tldp.org - another good bookmark

Unhappy

Everywhere I look it Doesnt Offer Any Info For a Phone # for DSL modem=( I Thought that the Modem Install was the Only Headache... I Looked at both Of those links. Still No info =(

Im going to Look around the Net Some More Maybe Ill Get lucky and Stumble Across something

thanks

In network configuration, youve added your DSL modem into the hardware tab. Then to add you connection youve clicked the devices tab, clicked new and selected a DSL connection? all the information youd need to enter about your ISP is in that entry
    <wecell> new apples look fairly interesting, but i'd hate to buy into something that is going to CRASH all the time.
    <DigDug> wecell : What are you using right now?
    <wecell> i've always used windows machines.

bash.org