Getting Apache2 to work with Debian Sid, anyone?


Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Getting Apache2 to work with Debian Sid, anyone?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    90

    Getting Apache2 to work with Debian Sid, anyone?

    I am unable to get apache2 to work properly in Debian Sid and searches on google come up empty. All i did was 'apt-get install apache2xx' which went fine. Afterwards, i am just lost. They seem to have changed a lot of things around. Also, seems to me that its very poorly documented in Sid. So, anyone know how to get it going? I don't need SSL, just a basic webserver. Currently i am in apache 1.3.x and can get that to work.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by sk545; 12-12-2003 at 06:28 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    4,285
    try this...

    apt-get install apache2-mpm-prefork

    I use apache2-mpm-threadpool (no problems yet )
    irc.freenode.net #justlinux The Not So Official JL IRC Channel.
    ¤ Debian ¤ Apt-Get ¤

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    90
    yeah, thats the one i had installed with apt. The question is, what do i do afterwards? Is there a newbie guide anywhere for it?

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    90
    Ok, i kinda got it to work. It starts and stops fine without a error. However, when try to access it through a browser with http://localhost or http://ip-address, i get this:

    Not Found

    The requested URL / was not found on this server.


    In /var/log/apache2/error.log, i get:

    Sat Dec 13 14:12:02 2003] [error] [client 209.6.184.172] File does not exist: /htdocs
    [Sat Dec 13 14:12:02 2003] [error] [client 209.6.184.172] File does not exist: /htdocs
    [Sat Dec 13 14:12:03 2003] [error] [client 209.6.184.172] File does not exist: /htdocs
    [Sat Dec 13 14:12:40 2003] [notice] caught SIGTERM, shutting down
    [Sat Dec 13 14:14:50 2003] [notice] Apache/2.0.48 (Debian GNU/Linux) configured -- resuming normal operations
    [Sat Dec 13 14:15:01 2003] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: /htdocs
    [Sat Dec 13 14:15:01 2003] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: /htdocs, referer: http://localhost:81/
    [Sat Dec 13 14:15:11 2003] [error] [client 209.6.184.172] File does not exist: /htdocs
    [Sat Dec 13 14:15:11 2003] [error] [client 209.6.184.172] File does not exist: /htdocs, referer: http://209.6.184.172:81/
    [Sat Dec 13 14:15:53 2003] [notice] caught SIGTERM, shutting down
    [Sat Dec 13 14:24:27 2003] [notice] Apache/2.0.48 (Debian GNU/Linux) configured -- resuming normal operations
    [Sat Dec 13 14:24:34 2003] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: /htdocs
    [Sat Dec 13 14:24:34 2003] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: /htdocs, referer: http://localhost:81/
    [Sat Dec 13 14:25:12 2003] [notice] caught SIGTERM, shutting down



    What is this /htdocs?? Do i have to make one? Here is my directory settings in apache2.conf:


    DirectoryIndex index.html index.cgi index.pl index.php index.xhtml

    UserDir public_html

    <Directory /home/me/apached>
    AllowOverride FileInfo AuthConfig Limit
    Options Indexes SymLinksIfOwnerMatch IncludesNoExec
    </Directory>

    AccessFileName .htaccess

    <Files ~ "^\.ht">
    Order allow,deny
    Deny from all
    </Files>


    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    4,285
    That won't matter. In deabin, apache2 defaults to using virtual hosts.

    look in /etc/apache2/sites-enabled
    irc.freenode.net #justlinux The Not So Official JL IRC Channel.
    ¤ Debian ¤ Apt-Get ¤

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    90
    Is this how the /sites-enabled/default should look like?

    NameVirtualHost 211.6.185.172:81
    <VirtualHost 211.6.184.185:81>
    ServerName "211.6.185.172:81"
    ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost

    DocumentRoot /var/www/apache2-default/
    <Directory />
    Options FollowSymLinks
    AllowOverride None
    </Directory>
    <Directory /var/www/>
    Options Indexes FollowSymLinks MultiViews
    AllowOverride None
    Order allow,deny
    allow from all
    </Directory>

    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /usr/lib/cgi-bin/
    <Directory "/usr/lib/cgi-bin">
    AllowOverride None
    Options ExecCGI -MultiViews +SymLinksIfOwnerMatch
    Order allow,deny
    Allow from all
    </Directory>

    ErrorLog /var/log/apache2/error.log

    # Possible values include: debug, info, notice, warn, error, crit,
    # alert, emerg.
    LogLevel warn

    CustomLog /var/log/apache2/access.log combined
    ServerSignature On

    Alias /icons/ "/usr/share/apache2/icons/"
    <Directory "/usr/share/apache2/icons">
    Options Indexes MultiViews
    AllowOverride None
    Order allow,deny
    Allow from all
    </Directory>

    </VirtualHost>


    I still get the error in error.log:

    [Mon Dec 15 12:10:24 2003] [notice] Apache/2.0.48 (Debian GNU/Linux) configured -- resuming normal operations
    [Mon Dec 15 12:11:15 2003] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: /htdocs


    And the console says this too:

    # /etc/init.d/apache2 start
    Starting web server: Apache2apache2: Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    4,285
    assuming that you have listen 81 in /etc/apache2/ports.conf

    and that you want any access to 211.6.185.172:81 to access the webserver, it should be fine. I wouldn't worry too much about the error line in the error.log

    on the servername, just add something in/etc/apache2/apache2.conf with the line

    servername <your domain name or ip address if you don't have one>

    for me, its...

    servername sharth.ath.cx
    irc.freenode.net #justlinux The Not So Official JL IRC Channel.
    ¤ Debian ¤ Apt-Get ¤

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    90
    k, i put in the servername variable in the apache2.conf and removed servername from sites-enabled/default. Now the webserver starts without any error messages. However, when i do 'http://localhost:81' or 'http://IPaddress:81' on a browser, i get a 404 error message:

    Not Found
    The requested URL / was not found on this server.

    The error.log still says, '/htdocs not found'.

    I am wondering if the name of both the following variables should be the same or does it matter?:

    NameVirtualHost 211.6.185.172:81
    <VirtualHost 211.6.184.185:81>

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    4,285
    I'd put namevirtualhost as

    namevirtualhost *
    irc.freenode.net #justlinux The Not So Official JL IRC Channel.
    ¤ Debian ¤ Apt-Get ¤

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    90
    yeah, still get the /htdocs error and the 404. Anyway you could post your apache2.config and /sites-enabled/default files? I think i am going to have to compare them to mine to see what exactly is wrong.

    Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •