Career question. Not *certification* related.

Thread: Career question. Not *certification* related.

Career question. Not *certification* related.

I will keep it short and simple.

Few days I graduated with an assosiates in Software Engineering. In the meantime i moved to another city. I want to go for my Bachelors at Devry.

I love programming but I really cant see my self having someone over my head telling me what how and when I should program and not having the code i wrote, my own to do whatever I want with it.

That is why I am thinking of majoring in another field. The lady at devry told me that Telecommunications Manager would be the best for me. The major consists of some "manager traning" courses and for the most part courses that deal with networking.

Their Network Admin program has the same courses in networking as Tel Manager.

How wise would be for me to go in such a major. I like networking as well but will be setting up my self for a fall (since from what I hear there are MANY people out with that degree) if I get that major?
    Will it be better to stick with programming or even more go for Computer Science straight up?
    And btw how good is Devry?

Thank you.
    DMR
    no one is really going to hear you scream....

MUAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!

----------------------------------------

If we are talk the US then the job market is a little tight right now. If you wanted to be a pure manager and not fix stuff then you would need to work for a big company. I work for a company that's about 300 and my manager is also the head tech.

The software development market I don't think is all that much better with jobs going to India. You would make more as programmer at least in the beginning. One thing that I have seen people do is in real small company is they work 50% programer 50% IT which might be a nice mix for you.

One way to look at work is if you own stock in the company then you own part of the company so in a way the code is still yours.