My Linux machine is listed as printer


Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: My Linux machine is listed as printer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Oxford, England
    Posts
    151

    My Linux machine is listed as printer

    Hi all
    When I try to add printer, I can see my computer listed as one of the printer,How can I disable it as IT guys have asked me to stop print sharing?
    SS
    Linux Newbie
    Expermienting with Mandrake 9.2 and SuSE 9
    AJP/Clevo laptop-866MHz PIII,384MB SDRAM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Augusta, GA
    Posts
    5,461
    Can you load paper in it?
    What type of network? Are you talking about using Samba? Also, do they have special ports for the printers to plug into?
    __________________________________________________ _______________________________________
    Bigboogie on boogienights.net:
    Ammo case
    Asus 8N32 SLI MB
    AMD Athlon x2 3800+
    2 GB Patriot Signature 400 DDR
    160 GB Hitachi 7200 IDE
    2 x-250 Seagate SATA2
    EVGA Nvidia 7900GT
    Dell 2007WFP
    Logitech 5.1 speakers
    Logitech MX1000 mouse
    Dell USB keyboard
    NEC 3500 DVD-RW
    Benq 1655 DVD-RW



    (God bless tax refunds)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Oxford, England
    Posts
    151
    Hiya
    I am on Novell netware and the printer is setup thru CUPS. When I go thru KDE add printer wizzard, and ask it to scan all printers wIPP. it lists my computer as printer?
    I guess the IT guys also get this on CUPS web interface?
    Hey you and Swiftnet helped me to do configure printer!!
    Right I was suggested to firewall off everything but I am not sure what does that mean.
    Thanks
    SS
    Linux Newbie
    Expermienting with Mandrake 9.2 and SuSE 9
    AJP/Clevo laptop-866MHz PIII,384MB SDRAM

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Augusta, GA
    Posts
    5,461
    What does Netware show the computer as? In CUPS, I would try deleting the printer/computer entry. The admin guys may have to do this. And do you have the new netware client for linux installed?
    __________________________________________________ _______________________________________
    Bigboogie on boogienights.net:
    Ammo case
    Asus 8N32 SLI MB
    AMD Athlon x2 3800+
    2 GB Patriot Signature 400 DDR
    160 GB Hitachi 7200 IDE
    2 x-250 Seagate SATA2
    EVGA Nvidia 7900GT
    Dell 2007WFP
    Logitech 5.1 speakers
    Logitech MX1000 mouse
    Dell USB keyboard
    NEC 3500 DVD-RW
    Benq 1655 DVD-RW



    (God bless tax refunds)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Oxford, England
    Posts
    151
    I am not sure what they see on the netware but on CUPS, my computer namely sau.imm.ox.ac.uk is listed as one of the printer.
    But on CUPS thru my machine it shows printer which I have configured, not my computer.
    Also, same thing is true when I scan printer thru KDE print wizard w/IPP.
    DO I need to run the IPP? Can I put it off without affecting printing?
    What is new client for netware? I have got ncpfs for novell but printing I am doing thru CUPS.
    SS
    Linux Newbie
    Expermienting with Mandrake 9.2 and SuSE 9
    AJP/Clevo laptop-866MHz PIII,384MB SDRAM

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Augusta, GA
    Posts
    5,461
    The new client has been updated by Novell, so it should work better, plus you get a nice GUI (like the windows version). I haven't actually used it but it may help you configure the printer and help you log in to the network easier. I'm thinking it might allow the network guys to see your computer correctly. It uses the same basic MARS-NWE, IPXUTILS and NCPFS.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________________________
    Bigboogie on boogienights.net:
    Ammo case
    Asus 8N32 SLI MB
    AMD Athlon x2 3800+
    2 GB Patriot Signature 400 DDR
    160 GB Hitachi 7200 IDE
    2 x-250 Seagate SATA2
    EVGA Nvidia 7900GT
    Dell 2007WFP
    Logitech 5.1 speakers
    Logitech MX1000 mouse
    Dell USB keyboard
    NEC 3500 DVD-RW
    Benq 1655 DVD-RW



    (God bless tax refunds)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Oxford, England
    Posts
    151
    SO where can I get it for my Linux distro, mandrake,What is it called?
    SS
    Linux Newbie
    Expermienting with Mandrake 9.2 and SuSE 9
    AJP/Clevo laptop-866MHz PIII,384MB SDRAM

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Augusta, GA
    Posts
    5,461
    Look at my previous posts (second one up).
    __________________________________________________ _______________________________________
    Bigboogie on boogienights.net:
    Ammo case
    Asus 8N32 SLI MB
    AMD Athlon x2 3800+
    2 GB Patriot Signature 400 DDR
    160 GB Hitachi 7200 IDE
    2 x-250 Seagate SATA2
    EVGA Nvidia 7900GT
    Dell 2007WFP
    Logitech 5.1 speakers
    Logitech MX1000 mouse
    Dell USB keyboard
    NEC 3500 DVD-RW
    Benq 1655 DVD-RW



    (God bless tax refunds)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •