No Sound in Debain SID


Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: No Sound in Debain SID

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Colorado USA
    Posts
    3,070

    No Sound in Debain SID

    Hello Everone,

    I have been trying to solve this problem for the last 2 days
    I am getting no sound what so ever from my new Debian sid system, Cd's look like they are playing fine and everything but I get no sound. I get sound in both Fedora and Mandrake. I am currently running Debian SiD 2.6.6-1-386. but I have the same issues with bith MEPIS 2004 Beta 5 and knoppix 3.4 after doing HD installs

    I have checked to make sure that nothing is muted that pertains to system sounds or cd's

    2. I have made sure the emu10k1 module is loaded and according to both lsmod & LSPCI and modconf the driver for my card is loaded here is the output of lsmod, the parts that pertain to sound anyway

    snd_pcm_oss 47652 1
    snd_mixer_oss 16640 1 snd_pcm_oss
    ipv6 220384 10
    af_packet 20616 2
    usblp 11904 0
    eth1394 19464 0
    uhci_hcd 27920 0
    usbcore 95068 4 usblp,uhci_hcd
    ohci1394 31876 0
    ieee1394 100024 2 eth1394,ohci1394
    emu10k1_gp 3840 0
    gameport 4736 1 emu10k1_gp
    emu10k1 71684 0
    sound 75308 1 emu10k1
    ac97_codec 16908 1 emu10k1
    pci_hotplug 32176 0
    via_agp 7424 1
    agpgart 31272 1 via_agp
    pcspkr 3816 0
    tsdev 7168 0
    mousedev 9684 2
    psmouse 17544 0
    floppy 54996 0
    parport_pc 31552 0
    parport 37320 1 parport_pc
    evdev 9088 0
    snd_emu10k1 80004 1
    snd_rawmidi 22688 1 snd_emu10k1

    snd_pcm 84900 2 snd_pcm_oss,snd_emu10k1
    snd_timer 23044 1 snd_pcm
    snd_seq_device 7944 2 snd_emu10k1,snd_rawmidi
    snd_ac97_codec 54916 1 snd_emu10k1
    snd_page_alloc 10884 2 snd_emu10k1,snd_pcm
    snd_util_mem 4608 1 snd_emu10k1
    snd_hwdep 9120 1 snd_emu10k1
    snd 48356 10 snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_emu10k1,snd_rawmidi, snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_seq_device,snd_ac97_codec,sn d_util_mem,snd_hwdep
    soundcore 9824 4 emu10k1,sound,snd

    what should I set is my sound system OSS?

    3. I have made sure that the cdplayer was
    set to my first cdrom /dev/hdc

    here is my fstab

    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /dev/hdb1 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
    /dev/hdb5 none swap sw 0 0
    /dev/hdc /media/cdrom0 iso9660 ro,user,noauto 0 0
    /dev/hdd /media/cdrom1 iso9660 ro,user,noauto 0 0
    /dev/fd0

    I also checked the volume control in KDE and both CD and speaker are set to mid to high levels

    update - I also made sure my user is part of the auido group & I also have no sound using my root account either

    any help would be awsome

    Thanks

    bosox
    Last edited by bosox79; 06-27-2004 at 02:18 AM.
    Some of my favorite links

    search engine's
    G4L & JL forum search
    one of the best Debian based distro's for new hardware
    registered Linux user # 288225

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    4,310
    why do you have snd_emu10k1 and emu10k1 modprobed?

    looks like both alsa and oss are installed, so maybe a problem there... rmmod everything and try just modprobing emu10k1...
    irc.freenode.net #justlinux The Not So Official JL IRC Channel.
    Debian Apt-Get

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Colorado USA
    Posts
    3,070
    Thanks for the reply sharth ,

    I went ahead and removed all the emu10k1 modules, but during the processoes I got this error
    rmmod snd_emu10k1
    ERROR: Module snd_emu10k1 is in use

    so I assume this is the module that I will want to use? I probly have both modules probed becuse of kudzu I used that to try and locate the correct module for my system.
    what sound system would you remove alsa or OSS? or can I just disable one and use the other? I modprobed emu10k1 I'll post back after restarts

    Thanks for all the help so far
    Some of my favorite links

    search engine's
    G4L & JL forum search
    one of the best Debian based distro's for new hardware
    registered Linux user # 288225

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Colorado USA
    Posts
    3,070
    ok update I got my system sounds to work by using OSS, but I still get no sound from auido cd's in XMMS or KsCD or cdplayer
    Some of my favorite links

    search engine's
    G4L & JL forum search
    one of the best Debian based distro's for new hardware
    registered Linux user # 288225

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    39,320
    Originally posted by bosox79
    ok update I got my system sounds to work by using OSS, but I still get no sound from auido cd's in XMMS or KsCD or cdplayer
    Hey Tyler... Do you have the audio cable between your cdrom and soundcard?

    If that's not the case, execute xmms at the commandline to see if you get any errors. Also ensure you have the correct sound output device select for both XMMS and KsCD.

    We've had *cough* lots of posts here on XMMS and 'no sound' that may provide additional suggestions.

    Hopefully I've at least given you something to go on.
    SEARCH FIRST... ASK SECOND Read the JL 'Community Help Posting Guidelines' before posting in the forums.

    Precompiled Redhat NTFS Modules

    Linuxplanet Tutorials

    If Linux doesn't have the solution, you have the wrong problem. ... Please do not send me a PM asking for help...

    Please read the search suggestion thread in JL Ideas

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    4,310
    Personally, I'd suggest alsa since oss is getting depreciated... (but with emu10k1, support in both is fine, so i dunno.)

    With xmms, thats a whole different ball game. It might be that audio cable that goes from the sound card to the cdrom drive, but other than that, I have no clue.
    irc.freenode.net #justlinux The Not So Official JL IRC Channel.
    Debian Apt-Get

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Colorado USA
    Posts
    3,070
    Originally posted by mdwatts
    Hey Tyler... Do you have the audio cable between your cdrom and soundcard?

    If that's not the case, execute xmms at the commandline to see if you get any errors. Also ensure you have the correct sound output device select for both XMMS and KsCD.

    We've had *cough* lots of posts here on XMMS and 'no sound' that may provide additional suggestions.

    Hopefully I've at least given you something to go on.
    mike,

    I am pretty sure I have an auido cable bc sound works with both Fedora & PClinux OS 04 based on Mandrake, that is one of the first things I checked would sound work in the distro's I mentioned without the cable?

    ok when I ran XMMS from a root console I got this error

    libmikmod.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory does that mean it is time to recompile my kernel or can I just install the missing file or directory?

    Thanks for all of the help guys

    edit I did a G4L search for the XMMS error and these are these results a recived http://www.google.com/linux?hl=en&lr...=Google+Search
    only problem is 2 pf the 3 are not in english and I am unable to get to the first link I think it's dead

    Another update,

    I ran sndconfig in a root terminal & I recived this error

    │ You don't seem to be running a kernel with modular sound │
    │ enabled. (soundcore.o was not found in the module search path). │
    │ To use sndconfig, you must be running a kernel with modular │
    │ sound, such as the kernel images shipped with Debian Linux or │
    │ a 2.2 or greater kernel.

    and sure enough l when I run locate soundcore.o
    from a root prompt it returns nothing
    Last edited by bosox79; 06-27-2004 at 04:13 PM.
    Some of my favorite links

    search engine's
    G4L & JL forum search
    one of the best Debian based distro's for new hardware
    registered Linux user # 288225

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    4,310
    don't worry about libmikmod.so.2, it's pointless. Apparently, it just gives support for mod, stm, s3m, mtm, xm and it audio files.

    Try playing the audio cds as root, since you need read access to the dev file for your cdrom.
    irc.freenode.net #justlinux The Not So Official JL IRC Channel.
    Debian Apt-Get

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Colorado USA
    Posts
    3,070
    sharth,

    Thanks for the info, I had no idea what the error meant! I think I am going to give the Knoppix 3.4 HD install another shot. I just need to read up on the installer options to see what I want use. I'll keep everyone posted
    Last edited by bosox79; 06-29-2004 at 08:40 PM.
    Some of my favorite links

    search engine's
    G4L & JL forum search
    one of the best Debian based distro's for new hardware
    registered Linux user # 288225

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Colorado USA
    Posts
    3,070
    Update I did a newbie HD install of knoppix 3.4 and all is well execpt 2 things

    1. I am still unable to play auido Cd's with KSxd or XMMS both apps do'nt even see my cdrom drive or that anything is in it, so it will not even attempt to play - the sound

    2. I am unable to get the KDE 3.2 startup .wav to play from my user account, but it does play when I boot into my root account,
    I am able to get sound from flash movies and play MP'3 though
    Last edited by bosox79; 06-29-2004 at 09:12 PM.
    Some of my favorite links

    search engine's
    G4L & JL forum search
    one of the best Debian based distro's for new hardware
    registered Linux user # 288225

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    39,320
    Ensure the user is a member of the 'audio' group and verify the devices in /etc/fstab are correct for your cdrom(s).

    That's about all I can think of right now.
    SEARCH FIRST... ASK SECOND Read the JL 'Community Help Posting Guidelines' before posting in the forums.

    Precompiled Redhat NTFS Modules

    Linuxplanet Tutorials

    If Linux doesn't have the solution, you have the wrong problem. ... Please do not send me a PM asking for help...

    Please read the search suggestion thread in JL Ideas

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Colorado USA
    Posts
    3,070
    According to the groups tyler command these are the groups I am a memeber of already tyler dialout fax voice cdrom floppy tape sudo audio dip video games users usb


    and this is my fstab

    # /etc/fstab: filesystem table.
    #
    # filesystem mountpoint type options dump pass
    /dev/hdb1 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1

    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /dev/fd0 /floppy vfat defaults,user,noauto,showexec,umask=022 0 0
    usbdevfs /proc/bus/usb usbdevfs defaults 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
    /dev/dvd /dvd iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
    /dev/cdaudio /cdaudio iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1 ntfs noauto,users,exec,ro,umask=000 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/hdb5 none swap defaults 0 0

    I guess I'll try switch KsCD to point to /dev/dvd

    Thanks for all of the help everyone
    Some of my favorite links

    search engine's
    G4L & JL forum search
    one of the best Debian based distro's for new hardware
    registered Linux user # 288225

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •