Mandrake 10.0 C header files


Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Mandrake 10.0 C header files

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    4

    Mandrake 10.0 C header files

    I am installing VMware workstation, and it asks for the C header files associated with the kernel... I have no idea where they are, and I have searched. Anyone know where they are?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29

    Re: Mandrake 10.0 C header files

    Originally posted by flamechocobo
    I am installing VMware workstation, and it asks for the C header files associated with the kernel... I have no idea where they are, and I have searched. Anyone know where they are?
    I would assume they would be in the source.[kernel#].mdk in the software list in the install programs menu.

    I had to get headers when I was installing Evolution under KDE, and I had to install the source to the kernel to find them.

    Hope that works. I am a newbie as well, try the search option above, it is fantastic. Surely someone has asked your question before..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    39,320
    Besides the kernel source for your running kernel version that is required when installing VMWare, you likely also need 'glibc-devel'.

    rpm -qa | grep glibc
    SEARCH FIRST... ASK SECOND Read the JL 'Community Help Posting Guidelines' before posting in the forums.

    Precompiled Redhat NTFS Modules

    Linuxplanet Tutorials

    If Linux doesn't have the solution, you have the wrong problem. ... Please do not send me a PM asking for help...

    Please read the search suggestion thread in JL Ideas

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    4
    Well, I found the C headers... They were in a different directory. The problem was VMware refuses to work with Mandrake 10.0 as the host OS. It only works with Mandrake 9.2 or below...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    39,320
    Glad you got it working and thanks for allowing us to at least try to help.
    SEARCH FIRST... ASK SECOND Read the JL 'Community Help Posting Guidelines' before posting in the forums.

    Precompiled Redhat NTFS Modules

    Linuxplanet Tutorials

    If Linux doesn't have the solution, you have the wrong problem. ... Please do not send me a PM asking for help...

    Please read the search suggestion thread in JL Ideas

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    The North of England
    Posts
    130
    According to the vmware site only versions upto 9.0 are supported.
    Googling seems to show a lot of people have got it working with 10.
    You need the source headers and to run the script

    vmware-config.pl

    But I dont use vmware so this is just an opinion.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    4
    The thing is, people have GOTTEN it working... I just don't want to put that much effort into running Windows in Linux.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    39,320
    Originally posted by flamechocobo
    The thing is, people have GOTTEN it working... I just don't want to put that much effort into running Windows in Linux.
    Either way... thanks for letting us to at least try to help.
    SEARCH FIRST... ASK SECOND Read the JL 'Community Help Posting Guidelines' before posting in the forums.

    Precompiled Redhat NTFS Modules

    Linuxplanet Tutorials

    If Linux doesn't have the solution, you have the wrong problem. ... Please do not send me a PM asking for help...

    Please read the search suggestion thread in JL Ideas

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •