Problem on adding extension cord to mouse


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: Problem on adding extension cord to mouse

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,021

    Problem on adding extension cord to mouse

    Hi folks,

    RH 8.0

    I encountered problem is connecting USB wheel mouse to a 6 feet extension cord. I tried both optical mouse and mechanical mouse (normal mouse). The former is worse with the pointer hanging on screen after working a while. I tested 2 optical mouses with the same result. Mechanical mouse is better. Its pointer hanged on screen occasionally. Removing the extension cord the mouse worked normal. But I need the cord to extend the cord lengh of the mouse. I also tried another extension cord with the same result. The extension cord worked normal on another PC.

    Kindly advise how to find out its cause and fix the problem

    TIA

    B.R.
    satimis

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vladivostok, Russia
    Posts
    9,054
    Is the cord USB to USB?
    "I was pulled over for speeding today. The officer said, "Don't you know
    the speed limit is 55 miles an hour?" And I said, "Yes, but I wasn't going
    to be out that long."

    How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
    COME VISIT ME IN RUSSIA NOW!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,021
    Originally posted by JohnT
    Is the cord USB to USB?
    Hi JohnT,

    They are USB extension cord for extending the length of USB mouse. Both ends USB (male and female). I got them from computer store.

    Tks.

    B.R.
    satimis

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vladivostok, Russia
    Posts
    9,054
    USB is providing an electrical signal and when the cable is extended there is going to be power drop which will cause erratic or non-responsive behavior in the mouse. There are repeater cables to do this with,which it doesn't sound as what you have. You might try to uncomment the "Baud rate" line in your mouse section of /etc/X11/XF86Config. Start with 9600, if it seems to improve you might increase it to 1200.
    "I was pulled over for speeding today. The officer said, "Don't you know
    the speed limit is 55 miles an hour?" And I said, "Yes, but I wasn't going
    to be out that long."

    How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
    COME VISIT ME IN RUSSIA NOW!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,021
    Hi JohnT,

    Tks for your advice.

    I'm surprised on the setup of the "inputDevice" section of /etc/X11/XF86Config. There are 2 "inputDevice" sections;

    Code:
    Section "InputDevice"
            # Modified by mouseconfig
            Identifier  "Mouse0"
            Driver      "mouse"
            Option      "Device" "/dev/mouse"
            Option      "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
            Option      "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
            Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
            Option      "BaudRate"  "9600"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    # If the normal CorePointer mouse is not a USB mouse then
    # this input device can be used in AlwaysCore mode to let you
    # also use USB mice at the same time.
            Identifier  "DevInputMice"
            Driver      "mouse"
            Option      "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
            Option      "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
            Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
            Option      "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    EndSection
    if commenting out all content of 2nd "inputDevice", Xserver could not start.

    The line Option "BaudRate" "9600" wa not there. I added it later.

    I have tried copying the content of 2nd "inputDevice" to 1st "inputDevice" section, commenting out the 2nd "inputDevice" section and then playing around with the content in the 1st "inputDevice" section. Xserver still could not start. It needs 2 "inputDevice" sections there.

    B.R.
    satimis

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vladivostok, Russia
    Posts
    9,054
    Try adding baud rate to the second one also to see what happens. here's a sample from mine:You might investigate sample rate also.
    # Option "BaudRate" "9600"
    # Option "SampleRate" "150"
    "I was pulled over for speeding today. The officer said, "Don't you know
    the speed limit is 55 miles an hour?" And I said, "Yes, but I wasn't going
    to be out that long."

    How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
    COME VISIT ME IN RUSSIA NOW!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,021
    Originally posted by JohnT
    Try adding baud rate to the second one also to see what happens. here's a sample from mine:You might investigate sample rate also.
    # Option "BaudRate" "9600"
    # Option "SampleRate" "150"
    Hi JohnT,

    Tks for your further advice.

    After adding following line
    Option "BaudRate" "9600"

    to the 1st Section "InputDevice", the mouse has been working without problem. Until last hour its pointer hung on the screen again which happened after highlighting the content in the body of a web mail.

    Now I add the abovementioned line to the 2nd Section "InputDevice". I will come back to the Forum after having tested the mouse for another 24 hours.

    What will be the use of
    Option "SampleRate" "150"

    TIA

    B.R.
    satimis

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vladivostok, Russia
    Posts
    9,054
    Increase the baud rate to 1200 and see what happens. The highlighting might be tied with your gpm daemon. Lets see what happens with the baud increase.
    "I was pulled over for speeding today. The officer said, "Don't you know
    the speed limit is 55 miles an hour?" And I said, "Yes, but I wasn't going
    to be out that long."

    How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
    COME VISIT ME IN RUSSIA NOW!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    39,320
    If all else fails, get yourself a wireless mouse which should work fine at that distance.
    SEARCH FIRST... ASK SECOND Read the JL 'Community Help Posting Guidelines' before posting in the forums.

    Precompiled Redhat NTFS Modules

    Linuxplanet Tutorials

    If Linux doesn't have the solution, you have the wrong problem. ... Please do not send me a PM asking for help...

    Please read the search suggestion thread in JL Ideas

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,021
    Hi JohnT and Mdwatts,

    Tks for your advice.

    After changing to
    "BaudRate" "1200"

    the optical mouse seems working quite stable except in one incident when I was clicking its pointer around on browsing Internet. it hung once.

    I have no idea how it did happen.

    B.R.
    satimis

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vladivostok, Russia
    Posts
    9,054
    A little additional info....
    #baud rate
    is the bps rate your mouse uses (normally 1200).

    #sample rate
    the resolution (dpi) of your mouse (normally 100).

    Ensure that the kernel bus mouse driver is using
    the same IRQ as the bus mouse. If not, you must
    change the IRQ and rebuild the kernel. The IRQ
    for bus mouse devices is given in

    /usr/src/linux/include/linux/busmouse.h


    BTW....the baud rate is normally set for a serial mouse..he he
    You might try reducing your sample rate to about 60 and see what results you get. Remember to restart X everytime you make a change.
    "I was pulled over for speeding today. The officer said, "Don't you know
    the speed limit is 55 miles an hour?" And I said, "Yes, but I wasn't going
    to be out that long."

    How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
    COME VISIT ME IN RUSSIA NOW!!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    4,310
    You're probably gonna need a repeater or usb hub, since after like 3 feet, mice and keyboards start to give off quite a bit of error.
    irc.freenode.net #justlinux The Not So Official JL IRC Channel.
    Debian Apt-Get

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    14,947
    You can find "powered USB extender" cables (basically, they're powered hubs with only one port on them, so they act like a repeater) that should cut down on the noise also.

    They don't require another power plug, they get the power from the USB port itself. But unlike a simple extension cable, they use some of the power that they get to amplify the USB bus signals (just like a USB hub does).

    I don't know where you can find them, or how much they are, but we have a few in use at work (that's how I know they exist).

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,021
    Hi JohnT,

    You might try reducing your sample rate to about 60 and see what results you get. Remember to restart X everytime you make a change.
    BaudRate changed to "60" and Xserver restarted, to see what will happen later.

    Ensure that the kernel bus mouse driver is using
    the same IRQ as the bus mouse. If not, you must
    change the IRQ and rebuild the kernel. The IRQ
    for bus mouse devices is given in

    /usr/src/linux/include/linux/busmouse.h
    $ ls /usr/src/
    Code:
    alsa       linux-2.4.18-17.8.0  linux-2.4.18-3
    linux-2.4  linux-2.4.18-27.8.0  redhat
    $ locate busmouse.h
    /usr/include/linux/logibusmouse.h
    /usr/src/linux-2.4.18-27.8.0/drivers/char/busmouse.h
    /usr/src/linux-2.4.18-27.8.0/include/linux/logibusmouse.h
    /usr/i386-glibc21-linux/include/linux/busmouse.h

    I am using Filand optical mouse

    $ cat /usr/i386-glibc21-linux/include/linux/busmouse.h
    ....
    #define MOUSE_IRQ 5
    ...

    $ cat /proc/interrupts
    Code:
               CPU0
      0:    3795302          XT-PIC  timer
      1:       2234          XT-PIC  keyboard
      2:          0          XT-PIC  cascade
      8:          1          XT-PIC  rtc
     11:     244674          XT-PIC  usb-uhci, usb-uhci, usb-uhci, eth0
     14:      76614          XT-PIC  ide0
     15:         12          XT-PIC  ide1
    NMI:          0
    ERR:          0
    There are only 2 usb ports. From above it seems 'eth0' (NIC) sharing the same IRQ

    B.R.
    satimis

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,021
    Originally posted by bwkaz
    You can find "powered USB extender" cables (basically, they're powered hubs with only one port on them, so they act like a repeater) that should cut down on the noise also.

    They don't require another power plug, they get the power from the USB port itself. But unlike a simple extension cable, they use some of the power that they get to amplify the USB bus signals (just like a USB hub does).

    I don't know where you can find them, or how much they are, but we have a few in use at work (that's how I know they exist).
    Hi Moderator and sharth,

    Tks for your advice.

    B.R.
    satimis

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •