firefox "find" feature b0rked?


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: firefox "find" feature b0rked?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Alton, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    1,126

    firefox "find" feature b0rked?

    In editions previous to the current preview-release, a ctrl-f would pop up a find box. you'd type in your query and be able to find text within a page and the browser would move to that section.

    the new firefox has some ugly bar at the bottom that allows to highlight (a good feature) the found text. but it won't scroll the page to the found text.

    my question is then: is there a setting I don't have set in preferences (i do have find as you type on) or then is the find feature not as useful as it once was?
    "You are not beaten until you admit it." --George S. Patton

    "Reading and learning, it's what linux users do"
    "Double clicking" doesn't work on Linux

    G4L | ZSH - The Z Shell

    Apple OS X, FreeBSD, and Smoothwall

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Earth [I think...]
    Posts
    414
    it seems to be working fine for me. The page shifts focus when I type.

    Did you remove your previous version before you installed the latest one? 'cause when I first installed it on top of my old install I got some very wierd problems (Scroll stopped working, It would freeze for a few secs for no reason and then start working again etc)

    Try removing the previous install and then do a fresh install and see if that helps.
    --------------------------------------------------
    My Website: http://www.suramya.com
    My Blog: http://www.suramya.com/blog
    Registered Linux User #: 309391
    --------------------------------------------------

    *************************************************
    Disclaimer:
    Any errors in spelling, tact, or fact are transmission errors.
    *************************************************

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Alton, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    1,126
    well, i emerge'd the new and it unmerge'd old. I left my .mozilla dir as it was b/c I have firefox store all my usernames/passwords for sites.

    i'm beginning to think this could be a gentoo's firefox issue or something.


    I've tried it with a clean .mozilla dir no change in behavior. one of my main gripes about ff is that updating to a newer version usually (for me in the past with stock firefox binary installs from moz.org) works better if i remove my .mozilla dir. which is really an un-thinkable thing for a user to do since the data is always more important than the software.

    i'm at a loss as to why find isn't working. i sent this to their bugzilla and am wating feedback on it. not having the find feature to work properly is a real bugger.
    Last edited by fatTrav; 09-27-2004 at 07:30 PM.
    "You are not beaten until you admit it." --George S. Patton

    "Reading and learning, it's what linux users do"
    "Double clicking" doesn't work on Linux

    G4L | ZSH - The Z Shell

    Apple OS X, FreeBSD, and Smoothwall

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Arkansas, CSA
    Posts
    886
    Hey, FatTrav, the find bar works fine for me as well. Just like what Suramya said. I just downloaded the installer from Mozilla and installed it to my /home/username folder and run it from there. Makes it easier for me to "tinker" with .

    Later,
    MMYoung
    In the 60's people took LSD to make the world weird. Now the world is weird and people take Prozac to make it normal.

    Slackware 11.0 - Dropline GNOME 2.16.1 - kernel 2.6.18
    openSUSE 10.2 with Xgl/compiz/beryl
    Windows XP - kernel klink
    Buy Slack
    Dropline GNOME

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Alton, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    1,126
    i did some more research and turn out it is a gentoo-firefox bug. so i'm using a non-optimized version right now.
    "You are not beaten until you admit it." --George S. Patton

    "Reading and learning, it's what linux users do"
    "Double clicking" doesn't work on Linux

    G4L | ZSH - The Z Shell

    Apple OS X, FreeBSD, and Smoothwall

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Somewhere, Texas
    Posts
    9,628
    I'm running the same, find doesn't shift the page at all...but highlighting works!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Alton, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    1,126
    ...it even works when you close the find bar! "found" matches are still highlighted!
    "You are not beaten until you admit it." --George S. Patton

    "Reading and learning, it's what linux users do"
    "Double clicking" doesn't work on Linux

    G4L | ZSH - The Z Shell

    Apple OS X, FreeBSD, and Smoothwall

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Colorado USA
    Posts
    3,070
    Originally posted by Icarus
    I'm running the same, find doesn't shift the page at all...but highlighting works!
    I have the same issue I am currently running Preview release 1.0
    Some of my favorite links

    search engine's
    G4L & JL forum search
    one of the best Debian based distro's for new hardware
    registered Linux user # 288225

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Somewhere, Texas
    Posts
    9,628
    There's a good thread on the Gentoo forums about these odd problems people are having, looks like the "find" fix is recompiling without --typeaheadfind.

    http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.p...ht=firefox+pr1

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Colorado USA
    Posts
    3,070
    i'll have to give that a shot when I upgrade FF
    Some of my favorite links

    search engine's
    G4L & JL forum search
    one of the best Debian based distro's for new hardware
    registered Linux user # 288225

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,241
    Well, it _works_ over here (Slackware), but there is a good three-second delay between my pressing of CTRL+F and the point where I can actually start typing. Unacceptable.

    I don't suppose there's any simple way to fix:

    *The broken find dialog (too slow)

    *The broken download dialog (too slow)

    *Move "Preferences" under Tools so firefox is consistent across all OSes

    *Screw the GNOME HIG and write a program I can use




    ~psi42

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Alton, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    1,126
    this brings to my mind a thread i started awhile ago that didn't get a sufficient answer and that is: when is something deemed worthy of being updated in portage? and why hasn't this been fixed in portage already!
    "You are not beaten until you admit it." --George S. Patton

    "Reading and learning, it's what linux users do"
    "Double clicking" doesn't work on Linux

    G4L | ZSH - The Z Shell

    Apple OS X, FreeBSD, and Smoothwall

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    699
    Is it the same when you hit / and then type the text fo find?
    Athlon 1.2GHz, 768MB RAM, Mandrake 10 Official, KDE 3.3.0, kernel 2.6.3-13mdk, nVidia GeForce FX5200, chaintech 7AJA2 mobo with onboard sound.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    870
    Originally posted by psi42
    *Move "Preferences" under Tools so firefox is consistent across all OSes
    I agree with this wholeheartedly... it's annoying and sometimes confusing (depending on how tired I am) to use firefox on WXP at work and then come home to linux and the menus be slightly different...
    Ubuntu

    Registered Linux User #313600

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Somewhere, Texas
    Posts
    9,628
    I just emerged 1.0_pre-r2 in Gentoo and the find works properly now

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •