Wide-range samba

Thread: Wide-range samba

Wide-range samba

I have a samba server set up behind my router, and I want it to be accessible to people outside the network (over the net). What ports do I need to forward to my Linux box? Just forwarding 139 doesn't do the trick. I have been told that only VPN, or putting the box "outside" the router will work. Is this true? It seems hard to believe.

BTW, I know that FTP is a better and more secure way to do this, but the people that need access are a bit tech-illiterate and would not use an FTP type setup, no matter what kind of coaching I give them. The files shared will be accessed and altered/appended frequently, so up/downloading via FTP would be intimidating and cumbersome for them. So, unless there is a way to make FTP behave like a Windows share (I'm open to suggestions; personally, I'd rather use FTP), I'll have to stick with samba.
    There is a reason for everything. Sometimes, that reason just sucks.

you have several different options actually.

you can forward all the port - this is probably the most secure method
    put the server in a dmz - makes the whole computer visible to the net, but keeps it behind the router
    use ftp - in windows there is a program i believe called ftp folders or something of the like. i know winxp has it, i dunno if win2k does or not, but win9x does not have it. anywho, this sets up an interface similar to a regular folder. i believe you can even map it to a drive letter, but i haven't done it in a long time so i don't remember exactly. just open IE and goto an ftp site and see what happens.

ftp would be the most secure overall, but if you really want samba find the ports that yours uses and forward those to make it secure

a dmz is a de-militarized zone and basically it gives the world full access to any services you have running on your computer, almost like it was outside the router
    -------------------------------------
    blobaugh
    lobaugh.net