SSL Question


Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: SSL Question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    203

    SSL Question

    Hi,

    I have bought an SSL Certificate. Up until now we have been using the standard version of Apache that comes with Mandrake 10.1, no problem.

    I have modified the virtualhost to now read...

    --------------------------

    NameVirtualHost *:80
    NameVirtualHost *:443

    <VirtualHost *:443>
    ServerName xxx.xxx.com
    DocumentRoot /home/xxx/public_html
    SSLEngine on
    SSLCertificateFile /etc/ssl/crt/xxx_xxx_xxx.crt
    SSLCertificateKeyFile /etc/ssl/crt/private.key
    SSLCACertificateFile /etc/httpd/conf/ca.txt
    ErrorLog /home/xxx/logs/error.log
    </VirtualHost>
    --------------------------

    However, it is not happy as when you try and access https://URL it uses a certifcate gernerated by itself (localhost.UPRu9).

    Is there something im missing? Do I have to install something else for SSL to work properly - such as mod_ssl?

    TIA
    RIck
    If it doesn't fit, force it; if it breaks, it needed replacing anyway.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    105
    Is
    Code:
    SSLCertificateFile /etc/ssl/crt/xxx_xxx_xxx.crt
    the correct location of your new certificate?
    Did you restart the server after installing the certificate?
    I suggest to stop it completelly (./apachectl stop) and then start it (./apachectl startssl)
    If this don't work then change
    Code:
    <VirtualHost *:443>
    to
    Code:
    <VirtualHost xxx.xxx.com:443>
    since a commercial certificate is issued for just one host

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    203
    Thanks,

    The certifcate is in the correct directory and...

    When i issue the command apachectl startssl i get:

    ----------
    Usage: /usr/sbin/apachectl {start|stop|restart|reload/graceful|closelogs|update|status|configtest|semcle anrestart|debug}
    ----------

    Needless to say, it does not start anything.... And changing it to xxx.xxx.com:443 also makes no difference...

    Any ideas?

    TIA
    Rick
    If it doesn't fit, force it; if it breaks, it needed replacing anyway.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    14,936
    What about:

    /usr/sbin/httpd -k start -DSSL

    ? The "apachectl startssl" or "apachectl sslstart" commands are just a shortcut for that; maybe your apachectl script doesn't recognize them.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    203
    Hi,

    Running your command returns:

    Code:
    -bash: /usr/sbin/httpd: No such file or directory
    I have noticed that in the LoadModule section of the httpd conf file there is nothing about SSL - is this correct?

    Im quite desperate to get this working today so literally anything you guys can say is all appreciated!

    TIA
    Oli
    If it doesn't fit, force it; if it breaks, it needed replacing anyway.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    105
    The LoadModule is for dynamic module support. I don't know how apache is compiled in Madrake.
    Anyway there must be a file httpd installed somewhere. Find it and run ./httpd -l to see what modules are compiled in apache.
    Since you said in your 1st post that apache answers when you give https://xxx.xxx.com then apache works with SSL.
    Check the apachectl script to see how it starts the SSL.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •