1st Linux Book - Newbie Question

Thread: 1st Linux Book - Newbie Question

Question 1st Linux Book - Newbie Question

Could/would you recommend a good FIRST Linux book (please not a reference book) for a disgusted Winbloz user? You know, large type, pictures, treat me like the newbie I am book?

Thanks!
    Neal Perkins

I'm not sure, I'm new with Linux myself however I do know that the Book named Linux Kiss The Blue Screen Of death Good Bye is an awful book to learn Linux.
    I wouldn't recommend that book for the reason that the book doesn't teach Linux in full detail it waste to much time with simple things that just about everyone already knows how to do such as how to set up a browser, email etc .

Not sure where your at but you can try heading down to your local library and see what they have there. OR, you can try out the linux for dummies book.

http://www.dummies.com/WileyCDA/Dumm...764579371.html
    "68 65 63 6B 6C 65"

People's Republic of North America (Former United States)
    Depending on your knowledge of DOS commands (I still think this is an essential Windows skill) I would recommend "Linux System Commands" by Patrick Volkerding. It is a wonderful book to ease you from the DOS command structure into the Unix command structure. Also, keep in mind that Patrick Volkerding is the creator of Slackware Linux and therefore, an authority in his field
    I equivocate, therefore I might be.

My Linux/Unix Boxes:
    Home: Slackware 10, CentOS 5.3, RHEL 5, Ubuntu Workstation 9.10, Work: RHEL 5, CentOS 5