No lp-cups? How do I print now?


Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: No lp-cups? How do I print now?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    199

    No lp-cups? How do I print now?

    I am using Debian with cups and kde 3.2. My printer works fine, I can print in any KDE program just fine (like kword or kwrite). But when I try to print in anything else (like mozilla or the gimp) it of course asks for the command and I dont know what to enter. But default I know its lpr, but lpr dosnt work because my printcap file is empty. I have searched around and found that I sould be able to use the lp-cups command to print, but in debian there is no such command I guess.

    Does anyone know how to print in Debian?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    /home/
    Posts
    1,204
    im not at my box right now but i think its lpr-cups


    soule
    Anarchism is founded on the observation that since few men are wise enough to rule themselves, even fewer are wise enough to rule others. - Edward Abbey

    IRC #linuxn00b

    Support your Distro.
    Slackware Store
    Archlinux Schwag

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    199
    lpr-cups is still not a command

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    14,947
    Just do what I do -- print it to a file (it'll be PostScript format), then use gs to send the file to the printer. Who needs a spooler?

    gs -dSAFER -dNOPAUSE -dBATCH -sOutputFile=/dev/lp0 -sDEVICE=ljet4 inputfile.ps

    Change /dev/lp0 to your printer's port's device node, and change ljet4 to whatever print driver you use (gs -help gives a list of possible devices, or see linuxprinting.org).

    But in all seriousness, if you can't get the spooler to work (I never could), this might be an option.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    199
    i will but only as a last resort... if anyone knows how to get lpr-cups working in debian please let me know!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    199
    found it. If anyone is interested when using gnome the command is gtklp (sarge). I am sure there is a separate one for KDE too but I use gnome so I dont know it. Anyways, I hope this helps some one because it really is useful.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    4,310
    install cupsys-bsd for the cli version of lpr.
    irc.freenode.net #justlinux The Not So Official JL IRC Channel.
    Debian Apt-Get

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •