I just folded my first protein - Page 48


Page 48 of 67 FirstFirst ... 3844454647484950515258 ... LastLast
Results 706 to 720 of 1004

Thread: I just folded my first protein

  1. #706
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    547
    Quote Originally Posted by bs_texas View Post
    cache for you...
    Its funny... that was a subconscious typo. I meat to say and spell "cash". I guess I had cache on the brain for some reason.

    BTW congrats on 3rd place

    Cheers

    Mike
    $whatis microsoft
    microsoft: nothing appropriate

  2. #707
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,615
    Hey Trilarian... Where'd you go?


    So, I just realized that I will have been folding for 4 years at the end of this month and I'm closing in on 4,000 work units.

    As I've mentioned before, I just hope that all of this eventually leads to some big breakthrough in fighting diseases such as cancer and MS and Alzheimer's, etc...

    It would be a little disconcerting to find out that the real reason for the project was to provide processing power for some new Holo Deck gaming technology where the people at Stanford are the only people having fun with it!!
    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

  3. #708
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    5,908
    Not to worry, he has been putting our cycles to good use:
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/en...22Pande%20V%22[Author]&itool=EntrezSystem2.PEntrez.Pubmed.Pubmed_Results Panel.Pubmed_DiscoveryPanel.Pubmed_RVAbstractPlus
    Need help in realtime? Visit us at #linuxnewbie on irc.libera.chat

    Few of us will do as much for our fellow man as he has done.
    --Andrew Morton on RMS

  4. #709
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    New Orleans, LA USA
    Posts
    986
    Quote Originally Posted by bs_texas View Post
    Hey Trilarian... Where'd you go?
    I'm still lurking around, just don't have as much free time these days.

    I don't have my GPUs running anymore either, though I still have a few boxes contributing. Slow yes, but constant.
    "Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it's time to pause and reflect."

    -Mark Twain

  5. #710
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    505
    Does anyone know if there's a way to limit the % of cpu F@H will use under linux? I know in windows this is an option, because windows doesnt do 'niceness' the way *nix does.

    Basically I'd like to still contribute, but I dont want my cpu & gpu at 100% all the time. For one thing, I want this hardware to last, fans included, secondly, its a quad-core phenom and a radeonhd 4600, they can soak up quite a bit of power, and then there's the noise factor...Doesn't bother me, but it bothering my girlfriend at night bothers me

    Any thoughts appreciated
    Join the JustLinux irc chat | irc.freenode.net | #linuxn00b
    San Diego Web Development | Used Computers for Sale

    Slackware Linux | Gentoo Linux | Debian GNU/Linux
    Registerd Linux User #313504

  6. #711
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    547
    Quote Originally Posted by Darkbolt View Post
    Does anyone know if there's a way to limit the % of cpu F@H will use under linux? I know in windows this is an option, because windows doesnt do 'niceness' the way *nix does.
    See:

    apt-cache show cpulimit
    Package: cpulimit
    Priority: optional
    Section: universe/admin
    Installed-Size: 60
    Maintainer: Ubuntu MOTU Developers <ubuntu-motu@lists.ubuntu.com>
    Original-Maintainer: gregor herrmann <gregor+debian@comodo.priv.at>
    Architecture: i386
    Version: 1.1-10
    Depends: libc6 (>= 2.5-0ubuntu1)
    Filename: pool/universe/c/cpulimit/cpulimit_1.1-10_i386.deb
    Size: 9236
    MD5sum: ce39e3ff946e5b3d1a17dc2cfff2c92a
    SHA1: 4b79eae396a6500ed5a2d12991953332ac6a667f
    SHA256: e1583f66a430548aa7af3f43fda38ac23d202c09980ede79ce 7e94d5bc9602de
    Description: limits the cpu usage of a process
    cpulimit is a simple program that attempts to limit the cpu usage of a
    process (expressed in percentage, not in cpu time). This is useful to
    control batch jobs, when you don't want them to eat too much cpu. It does
    not act on the nice value or other priority stuff, but on the real cpu
    usage. Besides it is able to adapt itself to the overall system load,
    dynamically and quickly.
    .
    Homepage: http://cpulimit.sourceforge.net/
    Bugs: mailto:ubuntu-users@lists.ubuntu.com
    Origin: Ubuntu

    Cheers

    Mike
    $whatis microsoft
    microsoft: nothing appropriate

  7. #712
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,615
    You wanna know what sucks!!!???

    Well, besides living in a small Bachelor Quarters room with 12 computers running and the A/C on Max Blast and the temp only getting down to 76 degrees. Or, getting your whole computer parts order from newegg, except the case....




    This:

    [22:06:10] Writing local files
    [22:06:10] Completed 142500 out of 150000 steps (95%)
    [22:34:44] Writing local files
    [22:34:45] Completed 144000 out of 150000 steps (96%)
    [23:03:20] Writing local files
    [23:03:21] Completed 145500 out of 150000 steps (97%)
    [23:31:55] Writing local files
    [23:31:55] Completed 147000 out of 150000 steps (98%)
    [00:00:31] Writing local files
    [00:00:31] Completed 148500 out of 150000 steps (99%)
    [00:29:07] Writing local files
    [00:29:07] Unit 1's deadline (April 14 00:25) has passed.
    [00:29:07] Going to interrupt core and move on to next unit...
    [00:29:07] Completed 150000 out of 150000 steps (100%)
    [00:29:07] Unit 1's deadline (April 14 00:25) has passed.
    [00:29:07] Going to interrupt core and move on to next unit...
    [00:29:07] Writing final coordinates.


    And then -no- attempting to send work unit...



    As soon as my case gets here I'll be building a Core 2 Quad machine (which was within my budget) and give away my old, slow crappy Pentium 4 machines and Pentium 3 machine and AMD Athlon 3000+ machine. So much heat, and so little work units!

    That will leave me with the following machines, an Atom 230 (single core), Atom 330 (dual core), Pentium 4 (overclocked by about 15%, ok, I'll keep this one), a dual core E2140, a Core i7 920, a core 2 duo T8300, a core 2 Extreme X7900, and a soon to be core 2 quad Q9400.


    Now, here's the part where you go...

    I have a single phone line with a 56K US Robotics modem.


    (I'm outta control!)
    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

  8. #713
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    5,908
    haha... what's the limiting factor here?
    Need help in realtime? Visit us at #linuxnewbie on irc.libera.chat

    Few of us will do as much for our fellow man as he has done.
    --Andrew Morton on RMS

  9. #714
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,615
    Wanna know what else sucks....

    This:
    Code:
    [07:12:53] - Attempt #30  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
    Waiting before retry.
    [08:01:06] + Attempting to get work packet
    [08:01:06] - Connecting to assignment server
    [08:01:15] - Successful: assigned to (171.64.122.139).
    [08:01:15] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
    [08:01:15] Loaded queue successfully.
    [08:01:23] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [08:01:23]   (Got status 400)
    [08:01:23] + Could not connect to Work Server
    [08:01:23] - Attempt #31  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
    Waiting before retry.
    But.... this doesn't:

    Code:
    Top 20 Producers             Rank
    Team     User
    Name     Points
    24hr Avg     Points
    Total         
    1   bs_texas   6,965   1,276,201       
    2   mhanson   4,689   3,536,601       
    3   cybertron   3,904   1,525,882       
    4   WrinkledCheese   1,268   180,110       
    5   oriolefan8   832   172,037       
    6   JayMan8081   823   196,201       
    7   dkeav   667   925,447       
    8   blobaugh   516   434,963       
    9   teeitup   371   190,842       
    10   Bubba56   356   501,494
    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

  10. #715
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    547
    Top 20 Producers Rank
    Team User
    Name Points
    24hr Avg Points
    Total
    1 bs_texas 6,965 1,276,201
    2 mhanson 4,689 3,536,601
    Woah, Im gonna have to kick it up a notch. Nice crunching tex.
    $whatis microsoft
    microsoft: nothing appropriate

  11. #716
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,615
    Long time no post....

    OK, so, my room was getting really hot. I've shut down 7 computers.

    And I'm still number 2 !!!!!!

    Where'd je_fro go?!?!?

    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

  12. #717
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    5,908
    I'm having heat issues of my own
    My good PSU died and I bought a dud at Fry's that I need to replace because of poor cooling.

    This Sucks!
    Need help in realtime? Visit us at #linuxnewbie on irc.libera.chat

    Few of us will do as much for our fellow man as he has done.
    --Andrew Morton on RMS

  13. #718
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    547
    Luckily, most of my crunching gets done in the server closet at work and thats got AC in it. But things do heat up at home, especially during this intermediate period where we try not to run the AC for as long as possible leading up to summer. At home I really only have two boxes always crunching plus my laptop. I have a large fan that directs air out of the office into the halway and that helps but later on in the season I'll likely cut off the 2nd box and just leave up the server.

    I sure wish the prices would come down on the QC server procs. I'd really like to do an upgrade.

    Cheers,

    Mike
    $whatis microsoft
    microsoft: nothing appropriate

  14. #719
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,615
    Quote Originally Posted by je_fro View Post
    I'm having heat issues of my own
    My good PSU died and I bought a dud at Fry's that I need to replace because of poor cooling.

    This Sucks!

    And your plan is . . .


    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

  15. #720
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    547
    About one more week to 4 million points.
    $whatis microsoft
    microsoft: nothing appropriate

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •