I just folded my first protein - Page 53


Page 53 of 67 FirstFirst ... 34349505152535455565763 ... LastLast
Results 781 to 795 of 1004

Thread: I just folded my first protein

  1. #781
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    5,909
    I was out of the mix for awhile because glibc-2.12.1 would not allow older fah binaries to function. ( http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=16332 and many others...)
    It appears that Peter Kasson built a fah binary using a newer glibc that is working on my box for now. It's called fah6_alt and is available here:

    http://www.stanford.edu/~kasson/folding/linux/

    P.S. look out bennie!
    CPU0: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU X 980 @ 3.33GHz stepping 02
    Need help in realtime? Visit us at #linuxnewbie on irc.libera.chat

    Few of us will do as much for our fellow man as he has done.
    --Andrew Morton on RMS

  2. #782
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,615
    Quote Originally Posted by je_fro View Post
    P.S. look out bennie!
    CPU0: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU X 980 @ 3.33GHz stepping 02
    That's nice$$! I have a Core i7 920 running and I have a 930 that I hope to get back to Folding after the 16th. As soon as I got back from vacation I was sent TDY to another island for a couple of weeks. My dial up connection here has been fairly steady, so I'm hoping when I get home I can get back to normal.

    I still need to find the best way to distribute the load between my wired and wireless systems (both dang dial-up!)

    And, of course, we're chasing mhanson (techwise).

    .
    Last edited by bs_texas; 11-07-2010 at 06:13 PM.
    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

  3. #783
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    547
    And, of course, we're chasing mhanson (techwise).
    Woah! 8,000,000+ today.

    I just added 4 machines with Core i3 procs and removed 3 celeron 2.4Ghz.

    Cheers

    Mike
    $whatis microsoft
    microsoft: nothing appropriate

  4. #784
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    5,909
    Need help in realtime? Visit us at #linuxnewbie on irc.libera.chat

    Few of us will do as much for our fellow man as he has done.
    --Andrew Morton on RMS

  5. #785
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    547
    Quote Originally Posted by je_fro View Post
    Cool. Looks like we'll pass a few others too in the next few weeks if we keep it up.

    All the big talkers from the early days of this thread need a poke in the ribs. Maybe they went chasing ET
    $whatis microsoft
    microsoft: nothing appropriate

  6. #786
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,615

    What's your command line?

    There are billions of stars in our galaxy and there are billions of galaxies. But, we are the only living beings! So, I'm not sure what they are looking for.


    So, what's your command line? I'm typically using:

    ./fah6 -advmethods -smp

    On my ubuntu 10 machines, I had to do some tweaking and the command line looks like:

    LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/lib64-fah ./fah6 -advmethods -smp
    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

  7. #787
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    547
    Quote Originally Posted by bs_texas View Post
    There are billions of stars in our galaxy and there are billions of galaxies. But, we are the only living beings! So, I'm not sure what they are looking for.


    So, what's your command line? I'm typically using:

    ./fah6 -advmethods -smp

    On my ubuntu 10 machines, I had to do some tweaking and the command line looks like:

    LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/lib64-fah ./fah6 -advmethods -smp
    I use the same command for all my multicore machines. I used the name cacher fix though for my 10.04 machines. All the dual or single cores just run ./fha

    These Core i3's really gave me a bump over the celerons I was using at the office.

    Cheers
    $whatis microsoft
    microsoft: nothing appropriate

  8. #788
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,615
    cybertron - come back!

    je_fro, are you on the -smp bandwagon with your 980?
    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

  9. #789
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    5,909
    Quote Originally Posted by bs_texas View Post
    cybertron - come back!

    je_fro, are you on the -smp bandwagon with your 980?
    I'm trying to be... I can't use a really recent FAH version because their stuff is compiled against an old glibc, and my glibc is new. There's some flap about it over on their forums...
    I have a win7 partition and a couple of idle GPU's at times though
    Hopefully the Pande people will get the situation sorted before long because I spend 99% of my time booted to Linux.
    Need help in realtime? Visit us at #linuxnewbie on irc.libera.chat

    Few of us will do as much for our fellow man as he has done.
    --Andrew Morton on RMS

  10. #790
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,615
    Quote Originally Posted by je_fro View Post
    I'm trying to be... I can't use a really recent FAH version because their stuff is compiled against an old glibc, and my glibc is new.
    Have you come across the guide that uses darkswarm.org and a script called whosyerdaddy? That's what I had to use for my Ubuntu 10 machines and involves that LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/lib64-fah.
    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

  11. #791
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    3,607
    Whoops, forgot to restart it after the LAN party. I reboot so rarely that normally I don't have to. And I haven't been using my main box much because my good monitor died so I'm stuck on an old 17". All better now though.

  12. #792
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,615
    Welcome back... I guess if we all keep nudging each other a little, from time to time, je_fro just might help come up with a cure for cancer some day.
    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

  13. #793
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,615

    Ping... Ping... Plagg.... plunk... pluh...

    Hey! It's me again, b-i-t-c-h-in' about my connection speed.

    See if you can spot where I started and then stopped fah while it 'attempts to send results' :

    Code:
    C:\Users\bs>ping -t www.google.com
    
    Pinging www.l.google.com [74.125.224.16] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=262ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=258ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=253ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=252ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=247ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=254ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=249ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=248ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=251ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=498ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=3246ms TTL=49
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=3868ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=2299ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=3563ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=3754ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=943ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=3030ms TTL=49
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=3014ms TTL=49
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=1138ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=1978ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=3670ms TTL=49
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=2789ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=2295ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=2559ms TTL=49
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=256ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=255ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=250ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=249ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=252ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=255ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.224.16: bytes=32 time=254ms TTL=49
    
    Ping statistics for 74.125.224.16:
        Packets: Sent = 38, Received = 31, Lost = 7 (18% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
        Minimum = 247ms, Maximum = 3868ms, Average = 1377ms
    Control-C
    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

  14. #794
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,615
    Sometimes this gets so frustrating...

    I'm getting a LOT of this lately:
    Code:
    [13:28:00] Completed 680000 out of 2000000 steps  (34%)
    [13:33:05] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [13:33:05]   (Got status 408)
    [13:33:05] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [13:33:05]     (171.64.65.56:80)
    [13:33:05] + Retrying using alternative port
    [13:33:11] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [13:33:11] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [13:33:11]     (171.64.65.56:8080)
    [13:33:11] - Error: Could not transmit unit 00 (completed December 3) to work server.
    
    
    [13:33:11] + Attempting to send results [December 6 13:33:11 UTC]
    [13:33:23] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [13:33:23]   (Got status 503)
    [13:33:23] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [13:33:23]     (171.67.108.25:80)
    [13:33:23] + Retrying using alternative port
    [13:33:27] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [13:33:27]   (Got status 503)
    [13:33:27] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [13:33:27]     (171.67.108.25:8080)
    [13:33:27]   Could not transmit unit 00 to Collection server; keeping in queue.
    [13:41:08] Completed 700000 out of 2000000 steps  (35%)
    And I'm NOT getting much:

    "Results successfully sent"

    -------------
    Folding is Fun

    I thought I made a mistake once, but, of course, I was mistaken.

  15. #795
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    547
    One week till 9,000,000. Production should go up slightly over the holidays due to reduced workload on the machines.

    I hate to rub it in bs_texas but we just had our office wired with fiber and I should have FIOS here within a couple weeks. I've had it at home for a while but we have had a measly 1.5Mb DSL line here for 10 years. Ill be able to do legit offsite incremental backups now. Ill have 25/25 at work and 20/5 at home.

    Happy holidays folders.

    Mike
    $whatis microsoft
    microsoft: nothing appropriate

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •