gentoo? good for newbie?

Thread: gentoo? good for newbie?

Question gentoo? good for newbie?

hey all,
    I am kind of new to linux and I am researching distros. Currently, I have downloaded slackware 10.1, unbuntu 4.10, gentoo 2005.0 x86 universal and mandrake 10. have played with mandrake and I didn't like it.

Is gentoo good for a newbie to linux? is it hard to install etc?

thanks,
    schunn99

Gentoo takes some work to install, but if you follow their installation handbook it's pretty simple as the handbook is very good

Another thing about Gentoo is that it doesn't do much for you besides install the packages, it's really up to you to set things up...but again they have guides that are very useful for that

If you want to learn Linux and learn it quick, Gentoo is great. If you just want to install and use Linux, go with something else.

Gento does take some post install work to get things working, and there are some annoying issues with certain products like open office working the way they're supposed to. I never did get my printer working.

On the upside I loved portage/emerge. it was great to type 'emerge whatever' and have it install it without complaining.

so I wouldn't recommend it to a new linux discoverer....
    one by one, the penguins steal my sanity...

Registered Linux User#: 340703

If you are able to read and think at the same time, and follow the routes correctly, you can live with gentoo. and you won't want to switch if you can.

anyway, its a very nice distro. When I tried debian, which is far after I've used gentoo, I find that I had trouble switching. This is the power of distros on people.
    Come under the reign of the Idiot King...
    Come to me ... I love linux!

Registered Linux user: Idiot King #350544

Who knows? I found it gave me problems, but fortunately, you are not me.