Linux needs to unify to compete

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Linux needs to unify to compete

Right, I am a newbie to linux and at the moment intend to explore it as much as possible as an alternative to the depressingly oppresive alternative that Microsoft has to offer. I want to give Microsoft up but I have some fundamental issues with Linux that I feel should be addressed. To begine with, Linux is complex. Yes, I know that a lot of you guys enjot the feeling of setting up a linux box, going into the terminal to configure stuff, and come with a box that can 'do the stuff' that windows does, but what about when Grandma's pc, who u set up, see's the 'update your system CRITICAL' button and pushes, and it then conflicts with her kernel and causes the x server to crash, and only a command line is available. "Gran, look at the help files" isn't gonna help, because the help files assume you are a major in computer science. So for me, the newbie level protection element of linux is lacking. I wouldn't put linux on any of my families pc's for example, because it has no real protection when user created problems arise, and is generally more difficult to set-up. Longhorn, even though it will most likely be ****, will implement a 'user account' type of approach so that one has to be root to do anything, this is the foundation of linux security and it's main security feature, so if linux is to compete it needs to go beyond the secure element (which it has) and look to the future. 3D desktop environments, widget implemention, easy configuration of desktop, and most importantly, a unified structure for OS operation. "Oh, so you use linux? oh, right, u use KDE, how do you change the desktop because I use Gnome?" is pathetic, we need one desktop environment, which is fast, reliable and unified. People would be mightely annoyed if XP had 10 different desktop environments which ran different applications as would they be if OSX did the same. Linux has a serious problem with th