Which Distro to start with?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which Distro to start with?

Which Distro to start with?

Hi All.

I am new to Linux and have been using Windows 95 and 98, but would like to slowly transfer to Linux.

I have 466mhz 64mb and 166mhz 24?mb systems and would initally install Linux on the 166 system.

Which Distro to start with? I would like one that is easy to install and will do the basics of web surfing and email.

Advice appreciated.

Best wishes...

Welcome to JLC and the world of Linux. I'm not going to suggest any specific distro as this has been covered on this board many times. I am going to suggest you do a forum search.

Use the terms 'older hardware' in your search and you will come up with many suggestion on distros. There are a few distros specifically for older hardware, but you will have to decide which one sounds best to you. From you post you don't have the greatest horsepower in your systems, but this is where linux can excell at times. Bringing new life into the old.

Once you settle on a distro come back here if you have install problems or need advice.
    Check out my ebay auction for my signature space on JLC.

Hey if people can sell advertising space on thier bodies, I figure I can make $.02 on my signature space.

People's Republic of North America (Former United States)
    I kind of have a different view on this subject. Back when I started, in 1996, there were no "easy" distros. It also depends on what you mean by "easy." Are you defining "easy" as the most "Windows like?" Try Mandriva or maybe even use a bootable CD version, like Knoppix. If you're up to the challenge and prepared to climb the mountain from the bottom up, I'd try a "hard" distro, like Slackware. In the end, you'll find that it isn't a matter of hard or easy, it's just a matter of how much you want to learn. Either way, good luck!
    I equivocate, therefore I might be.

My Linux/Unix Boxes: