[SOLVED] how to install my Motorola SM56 modem?

Thread: [SOLVED] how to install my Motorola SM56 modem?

[SOLVED] how to install my Motorola SM56 modem?

Hi!

I'm still new to Linux, actually this is the first time that I'm trying to use it (Mandrake 10.0). Having had much experience with Windows it doesn't seem that complicated once you get into the swing of it. But at least the basic setup should work until I become an "expert" and all these ready-made, easy-to-use managing applications, preincluded drivers and packages, however impressive they seem, can't solve every problem. So I'd like to ask for a little bit of help.

One of the major issues is that my Modem doesn't work, while this is one of the main reasons I've installed Linux (the viruses break down Windows much too often). Of course it should be recognized by the system, but unfortunately this is not that kind of Modem. Nontheless, I downloaded the proper driver from the Motorola site: "sm56-something-.rpm". The guide, also found on that page, says that it includes the compilation stage so after rpm -i sm56... it should work. It puts sm56.ko (driver) to some place, adds the following lines to /etc/modules.conf:

alias char-major-24 sm56
    options sm56 country=36 profile=0

and there is a man sm56 which says it should work now and has a detailed list of country codes and something about insmod (which might be the key to the problem but after running "insmod sm56" it returns that there is no such file or directory).
    Harddrake2 has the modem listed under Unknown/Other and the Module line says unknown too, and contrary to Windows I can't seem to be able to choose the driver for the card.