How to change month display?


Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How to change month display?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    66

    Question How to change month display?

    Hi

    Need help to change the month display from the current.

    Current display: Show date 1/8, 3/8, 22/8, 3/9, 7/9, 16/9, 5/10, 14/10 ...

    Need to change the format to be:

    New Display: Show date Aug 1, 3, 22
    Sept 3, 7, 16
    Oct 5, 14 ....

    Any helpful sample is greatly appreciated.

    Code:
                <span class="content"><b>Show dates:
    			<?
    		$query1 = "select DAYOFMONTH(ShowDate) as showday, MONTH(ShowDate) as showmon from Schedule where Timetable = '".$arr["Name"]."' and EndDate = '00000000' and ShowDate >= '".date("Ymd")."') order by ShowDate";
    		$result1 = mysql_query($query1,$dbConnect);
           	$comma=0;
    		while ($rs=mysql_fetch_array($result1)){
    
    						print " ".$rs["showday"]."/".$rs["showmon"];
    	                    $comma = $comma+1;
    						if($comma<mysql_num_rows($result1)) echo", ";
    										 else echo".";
    
    		}
    		mysql_free_result($result1);
    		?>

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    4,310
    print " ".$rs["showday"]."/".$rs["showmon"];

    becomes...
    Code:
    print " ";
    if ($lastmonth != $rs["showmon"]) {
    if ($rs["showmon"] ==  1){echo "Jan";}if ($rs["showmon"] ==  2){echo "Feb";}
    if ($rs["showmon"] ==  3){echo "Mar";}if ($rs["showmon"] ==  4){echo "Apr";}
    if ($rs["showmon"] ==  5){echo "May";}if ($rs["showmon"] ==  6){echo "Jun";}
    if ($rs["showmon"] ==  7){echo "Jul";}if ($rs["showmon"] ==  8){echo "Aug";}
    if ($rs["showmon"] ==  9){echo "Sep";}if ($rs["showmon"] == 10){echo "Oct";}
    if ($rs["showmon"] == 11){echo "Nov";}if ($rs["showmon"] == 12){echo "Dec";}
    } else { print ","; }
    print " ".$rs["showday"];
    $lastmonth = $rs["showmon"]
    oo. but then you want it to check that only shows if it changes... blah. added edits... and set $lastmonth = -1 somewhere earlier.
    Last edited by sharth; 08-20-2005 at 02:43 PM. Reason: adding [code] tags.
    irc.freenode.net #justlinux The Not So Official JL IRC Channel.
    Debian Apt-Get

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    66

    Smile

    Thanks Sharth.

    I will try it and see if it works.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    66
    Hi Sharth

    It works! Thanks! Btw, I am trying to make a carriage-return for every different month but unfortunately did not work. Any idea?

    Currently display is: Jan 1, 2, 3, 4 Feb 3,7,9,11,20 Mar 9,13,14,16

    Trying to make the display as:
    Jan 1, 2, 3, 4
    Feb 3, 7, 9, 11, 20
    Mar 9, 13, 14, 16

    Is it possible? Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    4,310
    if ($lastmonth != $rs["showmon"]) {

    add to the end of that line (or on the beginning of the next line, like make room in between the two).

    echo "\n<br>";
    irc.freenode.net #justlinux The Not So Official JL IRC Channel.
    Debian Apt-Get

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    66
    Hi Sharth

    Thanks! Works great!


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    14,947
    Can't you get the month names out of MySQL?

    Sure you can; look here:

    http://dev.mysql.com/doc/mysql/en/da...functions.html

    (at the DATE_FORMAT function), change your select to:

    select DAYOFMONTH(ShowDate) as showday, DATE_FORMAT(ShowDate, "%M") as showmon <...>

    , and then showmon will be the string name of the month. No need for a lookup table and PHP to use it, when the database will do it for you.

    Also, doesn't PHP have a date/time type that the MySQL library will map to? I know Python's database API returns MySQL datetime fields as a special "MySQLclient.datetime" instance; this can be converted to a standard Python date fairly easily, at which point the language libraries can extract the day-of-month and month-name. That'd be another option if you were using Python; I don't know if PHP's database interface works like that or not.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    66
    Hi bwkaz

    Thanks! Anyway, I followed Sharth's example and it is working fine. I am grateful to both of you for being so helpful.


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    4,310
    yeah, i knew that mysql had something nice and simple for the months, but I wasn't sure if (s)he was even using mysql. So whatever. It's really kinda gross code too..

    I wasn't able to find anything in normal php to do it fairly easily, so i just figured go with that. It's all good either way though.

    :edit: also, (s)he was using the shorter form, no clue if that's easy/hard to do.
    Last edited by sharth; 08-23-2005 at 02:32 PM.
    irc.freenode.net #justlinux The Not So Official JL IRC Channel.
    Debian Apt-Get

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    66
    Thanks Sharth. I am using PHP with MySQL and being a beginner, I am rather blur when come with resolving such problem. I am searching for good database example lessons where I can further improve myself. Nice to meet wonderful people here to help when in need. Thanks all ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •