newbie wants programs needs help

Thread: newbie wants programs needs help

newbie wants programs needs help

I need a little help. I just installed red hat 9 and installation went smoothly. This is my first try with linux and I need help. I found some programs that I would like to take advantage of. However I do not know how to install them. I downloaded the TAR's and extracted the contents but now I'm stuck. The help guides for the programs tell me to type "make install" yadda yadda but where do I type this and is there an easier way?
    Thanks in advance for your helping this clueless newbie.
    AMD XP 2700+
    768 MB Ram
    80G HD
    ATI 9700 128 DDR AGP
    Dual Boot
    Ubuntu
    Win XP (gaming)

These are a few of my favorite things.

Well, the tar archive is source code. I suggest you to search for the packages, that ends with *.rpm. They are very easy to install. As for the source packages, you will need to compile them. To do this, cd to extracted directory and type into console as root:
    Code:
    ./configure
    make
    make install
    But compiling will take time. If you are in KDE, just hit F4 to open console.
    Last edited by q6z4k; 11-06-2005 at 07:09 PM.
    Registered Linux User #393685
    If Linux doesn't have the solution, you have the wrong problem..
    [Michael D. Watts]

hello,

I am a newbie too, and I am facing this problem too. Everytime I enter the " make" command it says that make is not guilty because the command doesnt have the right parameters.
    I get this everytime I try to install a program, I followed up the installations exactly!
    First, I do the configure command, which takes only a few seconds (?) and after that, I enter " make" but I get this error...

does someone know why this could be?
    thanks in advance!
    DMA

after you ./configure, you MUST BECOME ROOT, so that you can have previleges to install the program
    M3rlin