YANT - Yet Another Newbie Thread.

Thread: YANT - Yet Another Newbie Thread.

YANT - Yet Another Newbie Thread.

Hi All! I've been lurking around for a little while now absorbing what I could without being a burden to anyone, but i'm beginning to hit the proverbial brick wall.

Synopsis: Long time Computer user. I've used Dos/Windows for years, and am very comfortable at the command line. I've little scripting experience, what I do have is mostly in PHP and C. I'm very motivated to leave Microsoft. As such i've taken the recomendation and made up a duel boot XP/Suse 10.0 system. I've played around in the Linux environment available to me, and have two "Live" CDs that i've yet to play with (ubuntu and Knoppix). I'm definatly the "Learn by Use" personallity.

Questions:
    1). I need an informational "Bridge" between the dummy books and being able to use the man pages / help systems available here. The beginners' write-ups are getting too basic and generic. The man pages are still incomprehesable to me. Any Help?

2). Whats the protocol for determining which /bin path a binary takes?

3). I've got Suse on a 40g partition and another 20g partition formated to take another Linux version. If I copied a "Live" cd to the second partition and set grub to boot it, will I have much problems?

4). I've tried to add an option to GRUB to let me boot from a CD without having to alter the Bios to boot from CD first. On cable its Secondary master, so that should set it as /dev/hdc0 correct? (yes this box has two other drives in it) So in the boot of GRUB I should have "(hdc) /dev/hdc0" and on the boot list it should have the line saying: "chainloader (hdc,0)+1"? It never even tries to access the CD, though.

5). Kiss the Devs of GIMP for me. <3 Gimp.