Building a New Box-- Please make suggestions!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Building a New Box-- Please make suggestions!

Building a New Box-- Please make suggestions!

I've been blessed with enough funds to build a great Linux box.
    I've been using Linux on some old hardware for the last ten years
    or so... (Started with RH 6.2).

I need suggestions on Motherboards/Processors, Video Cards and
    large screen LCD Monitor. Don't be afraid to suggest something
    pricey.

Please do not suggest hardware unless you know for a fact that it
    works with Linux.

Thanks!

Spheniscidae

sun ultra20, throw a dual core in it too

Quote Originally Posted by Spheniscidae

Please do not suggest hardware unless you know for a fact that it
    works with Linux.

Thanks!

Spheniscidae
    Why would anyone on a Linux board suggest non-Linux compatible hardware?

Just curious of a price range, If I know that I can help to find the right parts better.

I suggest going the AMD proc, route. Cheaper and more reliable from my expirence. ALso depedns on what you plan on doing with the machine. Specially with onboard devices, like video or sound, that take a part of the proc.mem to run them as opposed to pci cards which (if there good quality) are ment to take the load off the system for the most part.

Two sites I use for parts are http://geeks.com and http://newegg.com . Geeks has a year end clearence going on right now and most of the parts are about 75% off. newegg has a wide range of hi-end products for low prices and great service.