best distro for file server

Thread: best distro for file server

best distro for file server

I'm not a newbie, but I'm not a networking person either.
    I'm trying to create a file server for my Windows pc. I thought it would be a relatively simple task. Boy, was I wrong! I've tried 3 different distros and each one gave me a different set of problems I couldn't figure out/fix on my own, even after spending hours searching and reading on Google.

Is there a distro that is best/easiest for setting up a file server? Currently, I have easilix installed, but I've run into a problem there (see my previous post) and I can't get a response from their support to save my life.

Is there a good detailed doc/how-to somewhere explaining how to set one up? I've tried several, but eventually I would get to some problem that wasn't covered for which I wasn't able to find a solution anywhere.

Thanks!

Setting up a Samba server is rather challenging in almost ANY Linux distro. It takes a lot to work through the configuration file and set things as you want, especially from the beginning. My advice would be to take a look at Suse, since it does use Yast which makes the task of setting up a Samba server pretty simple. You can get that freely now also (easily) so that's a nice one to use. That's what I used for my first server set up.

I use Arch Linux myself on my server. I like this because I find when you're trying to set up something like a Samba server, your best bet is to have it as simple as possible meaning having no extra tools which set things up for you or try to control Samba, but you're probably not looking for something like that. As I said before, Suse Linux would be the best way to go in your case I feel. The tools work nice and are easy to understand for the most part. Lots of people could probably help you use Yast also if it did give you trouble. I've never even heard of the current distro you're running to be honest.