How to reboot all computers on same LAN?


Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: How to reboot all computers on same LAN?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    309

    How to reboot all computers on same LAN?

    Is there some way I don't know about? Is there some kind of script I can write? Basically, I want to be able to reboot every Linux system on a LAN at the same time to help in troubleshooting.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    3,203
    You could use ssh to connect as root (or some trusted user account) and issue the reboot request... or just for giggles, flip the mains breaker off and hten back on

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Harlow, UK
    Posts
    1,788
    Wake on LAN maybe??
    If you have to ask why you want to install Linux, then perhaps you shouldn't.
    -- Michael D. Watts (Gone but never forgotten)

    Linux is not Windows | Posting Guidelines

    Code Monkey (YouTube)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Zoetermeer, Holland
    Posts
    147
    Just send a "trigger file" to the machines and have cron scripts check every xx seconds if the trigger file is there. If so: delete the trigger file and reboot.
    It's a known "problem" with OS/2. It runs continuously until the underlying hardware crumbles under you hands....

    the irony of quality

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    21
    There must be a more elegant solution. Afterall, Windows admins can gun a reboot over a LAN.
    --Aaron
    Athlon X2 4800+
    Gentoo 2007.1

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    309
    Quote Originally Posted by AaronD
    There must be a more elegant solution. Afterall, Windows admins can gun a reboot over a LAN.
    Lyke srsly.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    309
    anyone? bump.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Houston, Tx
    Posts
    50
    Hey, check this out.. I don't know if you've seen or heard about it... looks kinda insteresting

    http://www.hollenback.net/index.php/...ManagementIpmi

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    3,289
    why dont you just setup ssh keys properly and a non-privledged account that has shutdown privledges, then you can just bash script it

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    4,221
    Quote Originally Posted by dkeav
    why dont you just setup ssh keys properly and a non-privledged account that has shutdown privledges, then you can just bash script it
    I think that's the best option so far...
    djserz.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won't save you from yourself..."

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    3,289
    proper pub keys on the client machines to an unprivledged account, keys wont need password then, bash script hostnames in array, for loop through the array ssh $hosts "/sbin/shutdown -h now"


    hints: man useradd, man ssh-keygen, man shutdown, man bash


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •