which distro for the advanced Windows user? (was: ???Installing)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: which distro for the advanced Windows user? (was: ???Installing)

which distro for the advanced Windows user? (was: ???Installing)

Well I'm new here and yeah i'm lost already.
    I'm not an expert at windows but can do more than average. I'm starting to like Linux becuase I'm still in High School and Constant upgrades (Like Vista) get pricey. I've always used Ligit stuff and worked with out of the package windows , and am having a hard time with creating a boot cd. All the guides and stuff aren't working for me they ramble too much I'm looking for a strait forward step by step.(Step 1: create boot cd-By...)

My computer is dated back to 2002 but still plenty I hope.
    I have a new 100 gig Maxtor HD that will be just for Linux
    AMD Athlon XP 2400+
    992 MB ram on two sticks
    NVIDIA video card running 2 monitors(or 3 depending on how I set it)

I would like a good beginners Distro someone Pointed me towards Sabayon I like what I see but i'm still new. I hope this isn't to general of a question but once I get started I should be alright.

Thankyou!!!!

H1ddEN

howdy, and welcome.

first, you should really search before asking questions that have most likely been asked by millions before you

http://justlinux.com/forum/showthrea...783#post864783

this is also a good read

http://justlinux.com/forum/showthread.php?t=142980

Second, check distrowatch.com for reviews and google.com/linux is a great resource.

That being said, Ubuntu is a pretty solid first place to start. It is a livecd that lets you test out how it works, then you can install if you want.
    Last edited by happybunny; 02-22-2007 at 11:49 PM.

Thanks for the welcome I found that first link a while ago and have been surfin it the second i'm looking at now.

Howdy and welcome to the forums. Please make sure to write descriptive thread titles and post in the most fitting subforums.