Playing with Ndiswrapper- still no wireless

Thread: Playing with Ndiswrapper- still no wireless

Playing with Ndiswrapper- still no wireless

Hey guys, long time no talk!

Ive been playing with it for a couple months here and there, but the girlfriend is starting to get on me about stringing this cat5e cable through her kitchen...

My laptop has a broadcom integrated WLan card. Mandriva recognizes the card but only my ethernet works. I installed ndiswrapper (trying to do this by memory- im on one of the campus computers now) and did a -i bcmwl5 (guessing)

I know this subject has been beaten dead, but it seems ive been out of linux enough to have no idea what to do.........

Ill get you guys some more technical info when I get out of school...

Anybody?

Ubuntu has similar problems (especially with WPA) which, I believe have been addressed in Feisty Fawn and defaulting to using Network Manager. To complicate matters further, some of the walkthroughs on Linux and Broadcom wireless aren't correct or things have changed since they were written (one of the big problems with an accelerated release timetable like Ubuntu is that documentation gets outdated much quicker). Primarily, these problems were with WPA (Edgy worked with my Broadcom Wireless NIC out of the box with WEP)

Haven't tried Mandriva yet so I'm not much help in that arena. Sorry.
    Where are we going and why am I in this handbasket?
    (No trees were killed in posting this message. However, a large number of electrons were seriously inconvenienced.)
    ----------------------------------
    Debian user since Potato
    Syngin: Web Portfolio

I have a broadcom wireless in my laptop and setting it up is a breeze under ubuntu. Post the out put of lsmod for me. Ubuntu loads a module by the name of bcm43xx i think it is, and it has to be removed before ndiswrapper will work properly.