I need to display sys info for Linux

Thread: I need to display sys info for Linux

I need to display sys info for Linux

I am new in this so be kind...
    I need to display sys info for Linux ... what is the command for it in Linux so i can get all the HW and OS version and Ip addresses to display on the screen or to a file ... i need it for inventory.... for example if u wanted to make an inventory of the system ... to find out what is the disk usages and IP and sys info os version and the serial numbers ... what would u use to do it… is there any thing else that u think it would be useful to get for inventory and be useg as a tool to gather a good and solid inventory of the systems that u have
    Last edited by 2man; 04-13-2007 at 07:23 PM.

PCI and PCI-express hardware: lspci (or /sbin/lspci)
    kernel version: uname -r (uname -a will give a lot more information, including CPU type, hostname, etc.)
    probable distro version: cat /etc/*_release
    networking info: ip addr show (or /sbin/ip addr show, or /sbin/ifconfig -a -- but ifconfig is old, and ip is its replacement)

(Though note that /etc/*_release doesn't have to exist. It's just becoming a somewhat-common practice for distros to create an /etc/<distro-name>_release file that contains the distro's version. But it depends on your distro.)

TKS bwkaz … u do not know how much this info helped me out…

TKS for ur help I will not forget it i needed to do an inventory of the servers but i am new... or say green in the Linux world....

"uname -a" works for all (BSD/Solaris/AIX whatever) as well. 1-to-remember.
    It's a known "problem" with OS/2. It runs continuously until the underlying hardware crumbles under you hands....

the irony of quality

In ubuntu there is now a "lshal" - the whole HAL is dumped. Or you can use lspci and lsusb together. Then look at ifconfig.