Two questions, again.

Thread: Two questions, again.

Two questions, again.

Hi all.

I've been working with Linux for the past 6 years. However, all this time, I had been using distros that used funky GUIs to shield me from getting my hands dirty with administrative and configuration tasks. So, I've recently moved on to Slackware.

Now, time for the questions:

a. In the earlier distros that I used, something would stay in the background, detect whenever I started up my router, poll it for an IP address, and then assign one to my machine. What is that something? A daemon? (I had thought of implementing the same on my Slackware box using ifplugd, but for some weird reason, won't compile correctly on my machine. And I'm yet to find a Slackware package for the same... )

b. What does one mean by HAL? (a layman's definition...) What does it do? (I tried reading up the Wikipedia entry on it, but I'm afraid I could make neither head nor tail out of it.)

Thank you.
    Last edited by i845_; 06-02-2008 at 10:52 AM.

1) DHCP client

2) Hardware Abstraction Layer

I'm aware of DHCP clients. Slackware comes bundled with dhcpcd, BTW.

Sorry, my bad! Let me rephrase the question.

What I want to know is how to make the DHCP client aware as to when my router has been switched on... I mean, on my Slackware machine, even after I switch on the router I need to manually do a

Code:
    dhcpcd -d -t 10 eth0
    as root, in order to get things started.

P.S. I want to solve this on my own... just give me an *algorithm* of sorts as to how I can achieve the above. I shall try and implement it on my own.

----------------------------------------

I just read up on dhcpcd. Here's what the manpage has to say on the -t option: