Lost Wireless Card in Ubuntu


Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Lost Wireless Card in Ubuntu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    81

    Lost Wireless Card in Ubuntu

    I suppose this was caused by an update, I don't know. I just know that my wireless card is no longer seen by my Ubuntu 8.1. Maybe I should be in the newbie area. Isn't there a way I can wake it up with modprobe?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    684
    Hmm...well that's really strange. Let's check and see if Linux thinks your wireless card is on the PCI bus. Please post the output of the lspci command.
    "The author of that poem is either Homer or, if not Homer, somebody else of the same name."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    81
    jethro@ubulaptop:~$ lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 Host Bridge (rev 10)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
    00:04.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
    00:05.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
    00:06.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
    00:07.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
    00:12.0 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 Serial ATA Controller (rev 80)
    00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller (rev 80)
    00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller (rev 80)
    00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB2 Host Controller (rev 80)
    00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 SMBus Controller (rev 83)
    00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 IDE Controller (rev 80)
    00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB4x0 High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
    00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-ISA Bridge (rev 80)
    00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-PCI Bridge (rev 80)
    00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
    00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
    00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
    00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
    01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS482 [Radeon Xpress 200M]
    08:01.0 CardBus bridge: ENE Technology Inc CB-712/4 Cardbus Controller (rev 10)
    08:01.1 FLASH memory: ENE Technology Inc ENE PCI Memory Stick Card Reader Controller (rev 01)
    08:01.2 SD Host controller: ENE Technology Inc ENE PCI Secure Digital Card Reader Controller (rev 01)
    08:01.3 FLASH memory: ENE Technology Inc FLASH memory: ENE Technology Inc: (rev 01)
    08:01.4 FLASH memory: ENE Technology Inc SD/MMC Card Reader Controller (rev 01)
    08:02.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
    08:04.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR2413 802.11bg NIC (rev 01)
    09:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
    jethro@ubulaptop:~$

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    81
    That's it on the next to last line, the Atheros. The Realtek is the wired ethernet. The Broadcom is a PC card wireless that is actually working. I plugged it in when the internal one went on vacation and it came right up.
    Last edited by FrankBlourtango; 03-07-2009 at 08:09 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    1,488
    Maybe reinstall and/or recompile Madwifi?

    This is precisely why I don't use Ubnutu...stuff just quits working when you do an update.
    Slackware current (Dell Latitude D610)
    CentOS 5.2 (Servers)
    Registered Linux User # 375030

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    81
    Yeah that kind of sucked for it to just quit working. But I put the PCCard wireless in and it picked it right up. What the hell????

    So I'll probably keep it that way until I figure something out. I suppose I could try NDISwrapper.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •