Getting blackbox to stop powering down the monitor


Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 46

Thread: Getting blackbox to stop powering down the monitor

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    New Orleans, LA USA
    Posts
    986

    Getting blackbox to stop powering down the monitor

    Hello everyone. It's been a long time since I've browsed through these threads. I'll have to try to be more active. Anyway, at my work I am installing about 50 or so desktops to run some web-based tracking software I wrote, and I brought up the idea of using linux as the OS to save on cost of hardware/software to implement the new tracking system. Needless to say, my superiors jumped at the idea of saving thousands on window's licenses. I am almost nearing completion of the project, and have suprisingly run into a stumbling block. I was able to get everything working except that blackbox has a default setting somewhere that kicks in a blank screensaver, or cuts power to the monitor after 5 minutes. I do need to keep using blackbox, as the hardware is very old and would not run using a bloated gui. I figured I would install and run xscreensaver to hopefully override other settings.

    I call xscreensaver with
    ~/.xinitrc

    xscreensaver-command -exit
    xscreensaver &

    exec blackbox

    I then have .xscreensaver

    timeout: 12:00:00
    cycle: 12:00:00
    lock: False
    lockTimeout: 0:20:00
    passwdTimeout: 0:00:30
    visualID: default
    installColormap: True
    verbose: False
    timestamp: True
    splash: True
    splashDuration: 0:00:05
    quad: False
    demoCommand: xscreensaver-demo
    prefsCommand: xscreensaver-demo -prefs
    nice: 10
    memoryLimit: 0
    fade: True
    unfade: False
    fadeSeconds: 0:00:03
    fadeTicks: 20
    captureStderr: True
    ignoreUninstalledPrograms:False
    font: *-medium-r-*-140-*-m-*
    dpmsEnabled: True
    dpmsStandby: 24:00:00
    dpmsSuspend: 24:00:00
    dpmsOff: 24:00:00
    grabDesktopImages: False
    grabVideoFrames: False
    chooseRandomImages: False
    imageDirectory:


    So that should cause the screensaver to kick on only if no action was taken for 24 hours. But after 5 minutes the screen goes blank. Once this is properly setup, the end user will not have access to a keyboard or mouse, only a monitor and a barcode scanner. So I need to figure out a way to make the screensaver/powersaver never come on, or atleast a really long timer(24hr+)

    Thanks for any help you can provide.
    "Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it's time to pause and reflect."

    -Mark Twain

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    8,116
    first of all we can safely say that blackbox isn't causing this as it only displays windows and manages them -- nothing to do with blanking the screen. it is either your xscreensaver confg (which looks correct to me) or something in your X Config.

    check in your X config file (/etc/X11/xorg.conf or /etc/X11/XF86Config)

    there are _usually_ dpms settings in there that may be overriding your xscreensaver stuff.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    New Orleans, LA USA
    Posts
    986
    Thanks for the quick response!! Yea I probally worded that wrong. The reason I was stressing blackbox, is I didnt want someone to respond with "There is the great program K-xxxx" so that I would have to install libraries for kde, gnome, etc. I have limited hd space to work with. Under XF86Config-4:

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Generic Monitor"
    HorizSync 28-49
    VertRefresh 43-72
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

    I don't see any timers in there. In case I'm missing something I'll post the whole config file. FYI: Running Debian Sarge(Testing) Thanks.

    Section "Files"
    FontPath "unix/:7100" # local font server
    # if the local font server has problems, we can fall back on these
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/misc"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "GLcore"
    Load "bitmap"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "ddc"
    Load "dri"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "glx"
    Load "int10"
    Load "pex5"
    Load "record"
    Load "speedo"
    Load "type1"
    Load "vbe"
    Load "xie"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
    Driver "keyboard"
    Option "CoreKeyboard"
    Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc104"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Configured Mouse"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "CorePointer"
    Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Generic Mouse"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "SendCoreEvents" "true"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Generic Video Card"
    Driver "i810"
    VideoRam 8192
    Option "UseFBDev" "true"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Generic Monitor"
    HorizSync 28-49
    VertRefresh 43-72
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Device "Generic Video Card"
    Monitor "Generic Monitor"
    DefaultDepth 16
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 1
    Modes "1024x768"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 4
    Modes "1024x768"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "1024x768"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 15
    Modes "1024x768"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1024x768"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1024x768"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Default Layout"
    Screen "Default Screen"
    InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
    InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
    InputDevice "Generic Mouse"
    EndSection

    Section "DRI"
    Mode 0666
    EndSection
    "Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it's time to pause and reflect."

    -Mark Twain

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    979
    DPMS? you don't want that!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    799
    Remove or comment out the following line:

    Option "DPMS"

    It's in the Monitor section.
    Isaac Kuo, ICQ 29055726 or Yahoo mechdan

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    New Orleans, LA USA
    Posts
    986
    I deleted the DPMS out of XF86Config-4, so that section now reads:

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Generic Monitor"
    HorizSync 28-49
    VertRefresh 43-72
    EndSection

    I still go to black screen after about 5 minutes. Any other ideas? Thanks.
    "Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it's time to pause and reflect."

    -Mark Twain

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    979
    did you restart the X server? ctrl+alt+backspace should do.

    if that did not work, try unloading the apm/acpi modules in the kernel

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    New Orleans, LA USA
    Posts
    986
    Heh, yea I restarted X, but yea sometimes it is the obvious things that I pass up. I did not see any apci/apm modules in modconf. Do you know where they are located? I also did a apt-get remove apmd and apci, neither were installed. Thanks.


    EDIT: I tried to install apmd and acpid to see if any of these would let me change settings. Apmd seemed to be for a laptop with a battery, so I unistalled. When I installed acpid, I got a message that acpi support was not installed in my kernel. So if it is not installed in the kernel, not turned on as a module, no programs running using power management, and it is turned off in the the X config file.... where do I look next? Thanks.

    EDIT2: Ran dmesg, saw APIC if that sends a flag to anyone.

    Debian-Compaq-03:~# dmesg | grep APIC
    Local APIC disabled by BIOS -- reenabling.
    Found and enabled local APIC!
    Using local APIC timer interrupts.
    calibrating APIC timer ...
    Debian-Compaq-03:~#
    Last edited by trilarian; 04-12-2005 at 04:26 PM.
    "Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it's time to pause and reflect."

    -Mark Twain

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    New Orleans, LA USA
    Posts
    986
    Still stomped.... Anyone know where ACPI settings would be found? If I can't turn them off, maybe I can make extremely long timeouts.

    Thanks.
    "Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it's time to pause and reflect."

    -Mark Twain

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    184
    Is my being a newbie's fault or is just weird that noone asked to run
    % ps ax
    and
    % dpkg -s powermgmt-base #never heard of this package before today
    ?
    Also, enlighten me on something, why do you need that FontPath "unix/:7001" reference if the fonts are already locally-installed? And why is that keyboard entry there?

    Sorry if made things messier
    Good luck

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,180
    Try setting dpms manually with xset, you can try "xset dpms 0 0 0" to disable the standby/suspend/off modes or perhaps "xset -dpms", to disable dpms.

    Are you sure xscreensaver is not being started when you start blackbox? Try removing it from your system so it can't be run and blank the screen.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    New Orleans, LA USA
    Posts
    986
    Originally posted by azambuja
    Is my being a newbie's fault or is just weird that noone asked to run
    % ps ax
    and
    % dpkg -s powermgmt-base #never heard of this package before today
    ?
    Also, enlighten me on something, why do you need that FontPath "unix/:7001" reference if the fonts are already locally-installed? And why is that keyboard entry there?

    Sorry if made things messier
    Good luck
    Sorry its taken so long to respond, we got slammed and this is the first chance I've had to work on this project again. I didnt see anything running when i did a ps, hence why I have been asking around for names and locations. Anytime in the past I ever wanted a screensaver I just loaded xscreensaveer and changed the config file. If I was working with a terminal only, I'd use xset to turn it off or set a time. Anyway, here is the listing from ps, maybe you'll catch something I missed.

    Debian-Compaq-03:~# ps ax
    PID TTY STAT TIME COMMAND
    1 ? S 0:04 init [2]
    2 ? S 0:00 [keventd]
    3 ? SN 0:00 [ksoftirqd_CPU0]
    4 ? S 0:01 [kswapd]
    5 ? S 0:00 [bdflush]
    6 ? S 0:00 [kupdated]
    7 ? S 0:00 [i2oevtd]
    8 ? S 0:03 [kjournald]
    104 ? S 0:00 [khubd]
    142 ? S 0:00 [kjournald]
    223 ? Ss 0:00 /sbin/portmap
    302 ? Ss 0:01 /sbin/syslogd
    305 ? Ss 0:00 /sbin/klogd
    317 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/sbin/inetd
    330 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/sbin/sshd
    340 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/bin/X11/xfs -daemon
    439 ? S 0:00 /bin/bash /etc/rc2.d/S20xprint start
    442 ? S 0:00 /bin/bash /etc/rc2.d/S20xprint start
    443 ? S 0:00 /bin/bash /etc/rc2.d/S20xprint start
    446 ? S 0:00 /usr/X11R6/bin/Xprt -ac -pn -nolisten tcp -audit 4 -f
    451 ? Ss 0:00 /sbin/rpc.statd
    454 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/sbin/atd
    457 ? Ss 0:01 /usr/sbin/cron
    507 tty2 Ss+ 0:00 /sbin/getty 38400 tty2
    508 tty3 Ss+ 0:00 /sbin/getty 38400 tty3
    509 tty4 Ss+ 0:00 /sbin/getty 38400 tty4
    510 tty5 Ss+ 0:00 /sbin/getty 38400 tty5
    511 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/bin/X11/xdm
    513 tty6 Ss+ 0:00 /sbin/getty 38400 tty6
    1136 ? Ss 0:00 dhclient
    2549 tty1 Ss+ 0:00 /sbin/getty 38400 tty1
    2555 ? S< 1:53 /usr/X11R6/bin/X vt7 -dpi 100 -nolisten tcp -auth /va
    2556 ? S 0:00 -:0
    2565 ? S 3:15 /usr/lib/mozilla/mozilla-bin
    2600 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/bin/ssh-agent sh /home/chris/.xsession
    2635 ? S 0:00 /usr/lib/mozilla/mozilla-bin
    2636 ? S 0:01 /usr/lib/mozilla/mozilla-bin
    2637 ? S 0:00 /usr/lib/mozilla/mozilla-bin
    8496 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/sbin/lpd -s
    13725 ? Ss 0:00 sshd: root@pts/0
    13727 ? S 0:00 sshd: root@pts/0
    13729 pts/0 Ss 0:00 -bash
    13736 pts/0 R+ 0:00 ps ax
    Debian-Compaq-03:~#

    As far as the unix/:7001 in fonts, it really doesnt need to be there and can be commented out. It is simply there, because it is there by default on a fresh install, and since these are a high number of them I need to get up and running(and they only run 1 program), I havent been fine-tuning the config files... if it works, don't fix it is my attitude with these boxes.

    As for powermgmt-base, I dont currently have it installed, but Ill try installing it and playing with the settings... What I think is happening, is I am turning off power controls in bios, linux sees that it is off and turns it on(why I don't know, but its in dmesg):

    Debian-Compaq-03:~# dmesg | grep APIC
    Local APIC disabled by BIOS -- reenabling.
    Found and enabled local APIC!
    Using local APIC timer interrupts.
    calibrating APIC timer ...
    Debian-Compaq-03:~#

    So when it turns it on, it must give it a set of default values assuming another program will take over further down the line. Since I don't have any programs installed, nothing changes the settings. Only hole in this theory, is that if I install xscreensaver and configure it for a 24 hour timeout before using and power controls or screensavers, moniter still kicks off in 5mins.

    Thanks.
    "Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it's time to pause and reflect."

    -Mark Twain

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    New Orleans, LA USA
    Posts
    986
    Originally posted by retsaw
    Try setting dpms manually with xset, you can try "xset dpms 0 0 0" to disable the standby/suspend/off modes or perhaps "xset -dpms", to disable dpms.

    Are you sure xscreensaver is not being started when you start blackbox? Try removing it from your system so it can't be run and blank the screen.
    I have only used xset to set settings on a terminal, will this filter through to the X server? Xscreensaver is not on the system anymore. I only intially installed it hoping it would override whatever is causing the power settings. I'll mess around with xset some more and let you know. Thanks
    "Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it's time to pause and reflect."

    -Mark Twain

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    184
    And
    % ls /proc/apm* /proc/acpi*
    doesn't return anything?

    This is just weird.. if it's not a BIOS setting, then I don't know

    btw: I think APIC has nothing to do with it... look at /usr/src/linux/Documentation/Configure.help and search for IOAPIC.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    New Orleans, LA USA
    Posts
    986
    Originally posted by azambuja
    And
    % ls /proc/apm* /proc/acpi*
    doesn't return anything?

    This is just weird.. if it's not a BIOS setting, then I don't know

    btw: I think APIC has nothing to do with it... look at /usr/src/linux/Documentation/Configure.help and search for IOAPIC.

    Yea this one has me perplexed... of all the problems that could of arisen... barcode scanners, writing to a windows database, runing jave...flash..coldfusion.. not a single problem. But i cant get the screen to stop blanking!!!!!

    Anyway.. those directories don't exist:

    Debian-Compaq-03:~# ls /proc/apm*
    ls: /proc/apm*: No such file or directory
    Debian-Compaq-03:~# ls /proc/acpi*
    ls: /proc/acpi*: No such file or directory
    Debian-Compaq-03:~#


    I tried adding to .xinitrc (i know its reading this file as i have exec blackbox in there and it works)

    xset -dpms

    then when that didnt work

    xset dpms 0 0 0

    Still get a screen blanking in 5-10 mins. I double checked bios, energy saver mode is disabled, all apic and apm functions disabled across the board. I guess Ill have to hire a guy to run around the plant and move mice.... heh Thanks.
    "Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it's time to pause and reflect."

    -Mark Twain

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •