Old notebook needs Linux, but what distro?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Old notebook needs Linux, but what distro?

Old notebook needs Linux, but what distro?

So I have this lame old Gateway Solo 5300 with a 900MHz P3 and 256MB RAM. I tried to get 512MB in it but it won't take it, so even Win2K is a dog on it, just barely works at all and too slow for practical use.

I have limited experience with Ubuntu, but I need a distro that will allow it to be a reasonably usable web surfer and for watching simple online videos like YouTube. I also want a free distro, so what should I get? I used this test to figure one out and it told me Open SuSE, but that comes on a DVD and this has no DVD player (CD only) and I don't even think it has USB 2.0 so my external might now work and I also fear it will be much too slow for any standard modern distro.

It is for a lady who learns PC stuff well but is totally new to Linux and just needs it until she gets money in October to get something nicer.
    Redhate 8

Any time you ask a distro recommend, you are going to get answers all over the place.

One I have used for a minimal machine in the past is Puppy, run as a live CD. My DIL learned it in a few minutes. It should fit the RAM, and if you add apps, you can remaster to a new CD with the CD burner if it has one.

If not, I think it lets you save new apps in a special file in the existing HD without modifications.

Since you have tried Ubuntu, depending upon what your opinion of it was, you might want to look at Crunchbang Linux: http://www.crunchbanglinux.org. It's Ubuntu but with Openbox instead of Gnome or KDE. I had it installed on my old Dell Inspiron 8100 (P4 1.7, 384mb ram) and it ran well.