live cd with nvidia drivers?

Thread: live cd with nvidia drivers?

live cd with nvidia drivers?

I work at a computer shop. I have been making ubuntu live cds for a couple years to help test hardware outside of whatever viruses and other crap software people have installed in their os. Generally I use remastersys to create the image. However, it removes all 3d video drivers, for good reasons which I understand.

Does anyone know of a similar program or a way to include the proprietary drivers on a live cd?

If you happen to have any other suggestions for troubleshooting linux live cd's as well I would be happy to hear them. Likewise, I would be happy to share any knowledge I have accumulated. I like to think my live cd is a pretty solid compilation of hardware diagnostics and utilities.

I have not done it with a full distro before but I believe you can install a Linux, put in the drivers, make an iso out of it and create your own Live CD or DVD.

Have you thought about it that way? I mean using mkisofs command.
    Linux user started Jun 2004 - No. 361921
    Using a Linux live CD to clone XP
    To install Linux and keep Windows MBR untouched
    Adding extra Linux & Doing it in a lazy way
    A Grub menu booting 100+ systems & A "Howto" to install and boot 145 systems
    Just cloning tips Just booting tips A collection of booting tips

Judge asked Linux "You are being charged murdering Windoze by stabbing its heart with a weapon, what was it?" Replied Linux "A Live CD"

I install ubuntu on a system add and remove the components as needed. But when you create the live cd using remastersys it removes the nvidia drivers.

I have not tried mkisofs. I will check it out.

I've done it by remastering the Ubuntu live cd following the directions on the ubuntu website. Just wrote a little script called from rc.local that apt-get installs the driver package, runs depmod -a, and restarts the X server.